We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Viva Brazil

Viva Brazil
Ranked #28 of 1,223 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Viva Brazil Churrascaria is an award winning, authentic, Brazilian style Steakhouse
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed every bite!
Me and my partner came for our anniversary. It was delicious!
The service was fab, the bar man and Bruno were very friendly and couldn't have helped more!
Thank you !

Helpful?
Thank Sian1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    574
    187
    61
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Carnivore diet !”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Took us a while to get seated - staff didn't seem too bothered to speak to us at first. Good food if you like tonnes of meat. I agree with other reviewers - pace yourself on the early cheap meats wait for the good stuff ! I pretty much enjoyed them all though. Very busy on a mid week night which was very impressive

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew-Leakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely looking restaurant. We opted to visit at lunchtime as the cost of the evening meal seemed a little overpriced. We were seated quickly and drinks orders taken. Staff were very attentive at first, but less so as the restaurant filled up. A decent selection of salad and side orders, but the meat is the main attraction. We were offered a range of beef, chicken, pork and lamb, with some meats appearing more frequently than others. We managed to try everything but did have to request some meats that we hadn't seen going around. I was happy with the price we paid (£17-18) which included a dessert (only on a sun/bank hol) but don't feel that the cost of an evening visit (£25) would be value for money. Overall an enjoyable experience which could be improved with better staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank fyscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice but slightly over rated”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Visited this restaurant for family birthday chose to go mid afternoon as £15.00 per head instead of £25.00 per head in the evening. We had a party of five people when we arrived the welcome was warm and friendly chose to have a drink before sitting at the table this is where i think this restaurant is a bit expensive came to £23.00. We were seated at the table which was disappointing as we were sat on a table for four people with a party of five this was not sufficient it was a tight squeeze to say the least I would not mind but there was plenty of tables available. The meat is served from a skewer and cut at the table so ever time we were served there was a lot of leaning to and through to make space. I found the food up to a good quality but the speed the waiter serve you is quite quick but the portions small so I feel the quicker you get served the fuller you feel so it gives a false level of value for money. The music in the background was quite rocky so it didn't give you the feel of brazil and likewise really load it was if you had to raise the volume of our conversation to be heard. Overall the quality of food was good and the service was good but the full experience was good would I go again probably but not first on the list.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewo089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely and tasty food, very helpfull staff”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second time in Viva Brazil and once again no surprises! In my opinion this is by far the best restaurant in Cardiff, no doubt!!
Great food, there is an infinity variaty of meats all grilled and bbq, the self service salads are stunning and make sure you dont miss out the black beans pot, its a brazilian speciallity and delicious! Great range of wines too.
They have a good number of staff and very helpfull.
The cocktails in the bar are too expensive but the food and wine are great value.
The location couldn't be better, right in the city centre and on the night out main road, near train and bus station.
I would go there over and over again, number 1 in Cardiff!!

Just one tip: dont go there if you are vegetarian because you you miss the essence of this restaurant

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonnMarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viva Brazil also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Viva Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing