We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, clean, comfortable and has...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cardiff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cfdjrsy
Jersey Channel Islands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean, comfortable and has everything you need”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for a week and wished it could have been longer. Sharon and Hugh were very friendly and the cottage is in a perfect location with easy access to the M4 and the train station next door.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeatrixVi...
Bremen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here for the first time, we will definitely come again! Sharon and Hugh went the extra mile for us. And they have absolutely lovely children. Our children loved the garden, the appartment was nice and cosy. Really big bedroom for the parents, we could have fit four more cots in there. The Location is very convenient for day trips to Cardiff (just go by train, leaves literally round the Corner) and to the Valleys. It was not difficult to find a parking space round the Corner, especially in the evenings, when the commuters were gone. A super market is within easy Walking distance.
We felt very much at home there and will return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for the lovely review - it was a pleasure to have you stay. Best wishes Sharon and Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggma711
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful hosts”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Apartment is located several miles from Cardiff, but the rail station is right next door and trains run frequently. One must park on the street since no off-street parking is provided. Hunting for a parking spot can be a challenge when people are using the parking for going on the train. There is no clothes dryer. There are clothes lines outside which can be challenging with the rainy weather.

The hosts were very friendly and live in front of the apartment. They provided information to us for getting around.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureen1x...
Portaferry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“You couldn't do better than stay here!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I actually meant to write this review ages ago but things happen and only getting done.

My husband Andy and I stayed here end of October to 4th November when we came over for our granddaughter's 2nd birthday and it was perfect. Sharon and Hugh couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They were prepared to go that extra mile for us and they have a beautiful family too - their children were very polite and friendly.

The house was what I call the 3 C's - very cozy, comfortable & clean which are all equally important to us. It was situated in a lovely village with public transport on the doorstep and had everything you need in it.

Sharon and Hugh don't change a thing - it's perfect!!!!!

And we have the birth of our 2nd granddaughter and a wedding coming up in March and April so we will definitely be in touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house, family and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not a cottage
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Dear Guest
We are very sorry that your trip wasnt as positive as you hoped. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We would have been only too happy to respond to any concerns you had about the facilities at the time and certainly would have remedied the dripping noise if we'd known and WIFI problem if we had known you couldn't connect. I checked trains the week you stayed just in case there was a problem with the line that day and there didn't appear to be any issue. The trains go into Cardiff every 10-15 mins during the week and every 45-60 mins on a Sunday. We cannot see into the cottage at all during the day - it's only possible at night if the light is on curtains not drawn which is pretty normal. I can assure you that privacy is of upmost importance to our guests and ourselves and our development is designed to block out any disturbing noise between the two properties so apologies if this didn't work for you. I can assure you we couldn't and didn't hear you or your family. I hope your experience didn't put too much of a dampner on your visit to Wales.
Kind regards
Hugh & Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shamr0ck8...
Ireland
1 review
“Rugby World Cup”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for the final group stage and quarter final matches. We cannot recommend this place enough, it was ideal for what we needed. The place is clean and both Sharon and Hugh are very nice and helpful hosts. It is very close to Cardiff and the train station is just around the corner. It is also close to the local cinema and bowling ally.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Hi Aine
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - just a pity about the eventual result! Hopefully I'll see you in the not too distant future. Best wishes.

Hugh and Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing