We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy, different and well priced”
Review of KL Canolog - CLOSED

KL Canolog
Cuisines: Malaysian
Description: KL Canolog is a cafe that was located at Wellfield Road in Roath, Cardiff, and has now evolved into a Pop Up Cafe, making our appearances at numerous food events, fetes and fairs in Cardiff. We now regularly take part in events such as the Womanby Street Street Food Pop Up where we run our Malaysian food stall at the Urban Tap House every fortnight. To keep up to date to where and when you can try our food next please follow us on twitter. Thanks.
Restaurant details
Description: KL Canolog is a cafe that was located at Wellfield Road in Roath, Cardiff, and has now evolved into a Pop Up Cafe, making our appearances at numerous food events, fetes and fairs in Cardiff. We now regularly take part in events such as the Womanby Street Street Food Pop Up where we run our Malaysian food stall at the Urban Tap House every fortnight. To keep up to date to where and when you can try our food next please follow us on twitter. Thanks.
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Visited Sunday afternoon and was delighted to see such a strong menu. The beef rendang is delicious. Though the anchovies threw me a little. The chicken byriani didn't disappointed either.

Thank BecLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beady-eyed, Owner at KL Canolog, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi! Thanks very much for trying our food & for a wonderful review. and thank also for taking the photos of the dishes. Happy to know you liked the beef rendang and chicken biryani. hope to see you again soon, and if you order nasi lemak, just let us know you prefer it without the anchovies, we'll exclude it from the plate, no problems. Cheers!
Kind regards,
Bakh, Zainah & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for KL Canolog
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Being a Malay Singaporean of Indonesian descent, I am very much missing my local dishes esp mum's cooking. Did a google search on Malay food and we found KL Canologue so my husband and I decided to give KL Canologue a try. We ordered the mee goreng and the Nasi Lemak with Chicken Rendang. Oh my the sambal, it reminded me so much of home! Not forgetting the Teh Tarik! Although Singapore's foods and Malaysia's foods are somewhat similar, they still have their own identity and this is the closest I get to home food. Amazing service, warm and friendly. Will be back for the laksa!! Terima kasih KL Canologue! P/S: Would be nice if you could sell some Malaysia products ie keropok ikan, cucur adabi, etc

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hairaniphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beady-eyed, Owner at KL Canolog, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hello & Apa Khabar!
Yes, Malaysia boleh! (Malaysia can!). Reading that our sambal reminded you of home really made our day! especially after saying that you missed your mum's food. we are really honoured that you have put us in such high regard. It is our aim indeed to serve our customers Malaysian food that taste like our mothers' cooking ie. home cooked Malaysian food! And thank you also for acknowledging that although Malaysia's neighbouring countries have similar dishes, there are slight variations that makes them each still distinctively different. Diolch, thank you & terima kasih puan & jumpa lagi! (see you again).
Kind regards,
Bakh and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

After living nearby for over a year my girlfriend and I decided to book a table at KL Canolog. On our travels we always said that Malaysian food was our favourite, so we were excited to reminisce and enjoy the taste of Malaysian food once again. We ordered our favourites, two Teh Tarik's, shared a roti canai and chicken satay starter, as did we with the prawn laksa and nasi lemak with chicken rendang. The rotis are as close to malaysia as we've had in the UK and the Teh Tarik was a much needed warm delight. The food was wonderful, the owner and chef were very lovely too. A great experience that I recommend. Makes us want to go back to KL!!!

Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beady-eyed, Owner at KL Canolog, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi! Thank you for your kind and supportive comments. So glad that you had decided to reserve a table and come for a visit to try out the Malaysian food that we serve that evening, and to say that it made you want to go back to KL is really wonderful to know and as good a compliment as we'll ever get! Thanks so much and hope to see you both again soon.
Kind regards,
From all of us at KL Canolog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I dont know why I've never been before but I am now a convert. Great for a quick coffee, tasty snack or a fabulous meal. Great value for money.

Thank MarthaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beady-eyed, Owner at KL Canolog, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hello,
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the food and the coffee. It's also fantastic to know that you found KL Canolog great value for money. Thank you very much for your fab review! See you at your next visit, cheers!
Kind Regards,
The team at KL Canolog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a gem of a restaurant - small IS beautiful. The food is fresh and delicious and VERY good. Service can be a little slow but that's because they are preparing and cooking your meal. The food is so good and you can buy the essential ingredients in their little shop to make your own meals - but why bother?? The KL Canolog is a great place to go. As well as fantastic food, the people who work there are lovely and attentive without being obtrusive. Haven't yet tried their desserts but they sound and look delicious too. Please visit - you're missing a treat and it's not expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beady-eyed, Owner at KL Canolog, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi there,
Thanks so much for visiting us and for your support. We really appreciate your wonderful review! Reading such good reviews really encourages us to maintain our standards and improve further where we can. A great pleasure serving you & hope to see you again soon! Thanks again.
Warm regards,
Bakh, Zainah & the Canolog team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KL Canolog also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing