We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss!!!!”

La Shish Restaurant
Ranked #183 of 1,235 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are friendly modern Middle Eastern restaurant we pride our selfs using only top quality products and its shows in the final results of the dish. The owner is highly experience chef he only use the fresh and best products in the market. Nothing make us more happy than the smile we see on our customers faces when we present our dishes. We love for you to try us and tell others what you think xxx Lashish Team
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hit and miss!!!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Went for a night out with friend, who suggested we give it a try after reading a few good reviews. We started with the fresh orange juice (amazing) and and a hummus shawarma which had quite a strong after taste.
Ordered the chicken steak, great portion size but well over cooked and difficult to enjoy!!!
The aubergine sauce we ordered was bland and tomatoey.
The layout of the place is warm and friendly but another downside is that the waiters don't seem to communicate very well in English.

Helpful?
Thank Jessicamwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelaby N, Owner at La Shish Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jessica
Thank you for all your comment, we are trying to bring to Cardiff the traditional middle eastern dishes as they are served in the middle east without losing the integrity of the dish some of these dishes might be unfamiliar to your taste, we have taken your comments on board and we added an extra kick to our Aubergine sauce and the Hummus Shawerma suite all tastes, I hope you can comeback and let us know what you think of the new dishes.
Many thanks for your contributions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    41
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very bad”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

ordered a medium well steak and what i had a burned small cut of steak not larger than an htc one . and the food is very greasy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sayed m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelaby N, Owner at La Shish Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear value customer
Thank you for taken the time to write your review, we are always sourcing the best quality steaks in the market, your opinion is very important to us its only can make us better hence the new steak supplier ''Douglas Willis'' is one of the best in the market and the quality seems to be constant I hope you will come back and try to give us another chance, thank you again for your custom.

N Kelaby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Lamb I have ever had”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This place continues to improve each time I come here. The service is excellent and staff friendly and quick to help.

I had the lamb Kosi with Aubergine sauce. The lamb was cooked to perfection served with rice and a complimentary nan bread.

You have to come check this restaurant out if you have not already done so. Highly recommended. 5 stars all the way!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adil-Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent value, excellent food”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The restaurant has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and was nice and warm, we were seated very quickly and the service was excellent. The waiter did question how many starters we had chosen but we were quite hungry and couldn't decide. When it arrived there was plenty of it and all of it was delicious. I ordered 5 lamb cops and my partner had the kofi lamb. Both lamb dishes fell of the bone. The food was full of flavour and we would definitely go back for the food as well as the service. We couldn't believe the price for the amount of food we had, it's very well priced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“amazing delicious food”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I 've been in la shish a lot of times, always is afresh and delicious food, me and my wife start our lunch with alovely collection of mix mezza supported with afreshly nan bread baked to your own table at t time, for t main we had t plater of mixed grill which was amazing and generous, we top up our meal by having afresh orange juice, the service is excellent, you feel the freshness of a clean place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Shish Restaurant also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to La Shish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing