We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food with fantastic flavours & presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Fuji

Mount Fuji
Ranked #386 of 1,214 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food with fantastic flavours & presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

As a Japanese food novice, it was great to experience the real deal & no sushi! Instead a Bento lunch box, a dark wooden box enclosing a contrasting red plate with sections for different foods. Light hot crispy tempura mix, sweet, salty, crispy chicken, pickles, corn on the cob, dressed green beans, chicken coleslaw, sticky rice, salad with a tangy dressing, and a sweet/sour/salty dipping sauce. All tasted as delicious as it looked, service was excellent, prices variable according to choices, but not overly expensive. Brilliant find, something different, loved it, will return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vietnamvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    44
    17
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Give it a try.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

After a few hrs shopping I wanted a "proper " lunch not a pasty or spud u like etc but didn't fancying going into a restaurant on my own. I came across this restaurant hadn't eaten Japanese before seemed friendly enough for someone to eat on their own.
I wasn't disappointed, the food and staff were lovely, I would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food in the UK.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was looking to try something different. Right from their menu it gives a feeling that this is real. I had tempura chicken as starters. I opted for Katsu chicken and my wife had the Chicken and Prawn Bento box. The salad was really fresh and crunchy. I quickly finished my Katsu chicken and explored the bento box. Go for Bento box if you want to try different flavours. I also had Japanese jasmine tea. Very friendly staff. Service was superb and really timed well. Never waited for the next course. Really good and would definitely come back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayRadhakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food I've had in the U.K”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I've been to Mount Fuji multiple times and I've not had a single bad experience there. I've tried multiple dishes, my favourite being the Tempura and Curry Udon Noodles, which I absolutely adore. The staff are incredibly friendly and the service is usually pretty fast. The deserts are also really affordable and light, so you don't feel like you've over eaten after a big meal.
I would recommend Mount Fuji to everyone, it's definitely my favourite restaurant in Cardiff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Shame about the rice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal here today - I had a bento box (cod) which was good, my wife loved the tempura udon and the children their chicken katsu. The salmon sashimi was great but there was a problem with the sushi rice. It wasn't sticky enough so the sushi fell apart when we picked it up. Fair enough the waitress offered to take it back when I pointed it out to her but I was a bit annoyed that the eel sushi rolls were delivered to our table with one already partially collapsed - my feeling was that the waiter should have taken them back himself. It didn't ruin our experience to any real extent but it was a shame that things weren't perfect!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Fuji also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Mount Fuji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing