We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good service - great experience - great variety of teas”
Review of Chaiholics

Chaiholics
Ranked #63 of 1,235 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to CHAI, UK's first Authentic Indian Bistro & Cocktail Bar. We're open Mondays to Saturdays from 12.00PM to 3.30PM for lunch and from 6.00PM to 10.30PM for dinner. Casual Dining. Discover it for yourself.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Really good service - great experience - great variety of teas”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a voucher for an afternoon tea so decided to give it a go and we weren't disappointed the Manager was very helpful and friendly. Great variety of different teas and he explained the various ones in great detail. The afternoon tea was delicious with some delicious cakes; sandwiches (would have preferred not to have white bread) scones, clotted cream and jam were also very tasty together with the surprise of lovely onion bhajis, samosas etc. Well worth a try. Treat it as an adventure. Toilets were very clean but I don;t think there's a toilet there for disabled people as the toilets were upstairs - ask Management if you are visiting and are disabled in some way.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 813PatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    53
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tealicious!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a gift of afternoon tea for two and had a lovely experience at Chaiholics with my friend. Great choice of coffees for my friend (served in lovely glass insulated cup) and tea for me (multiple choices, again served in a glass insulated cup poured from a dinky teapot). Good choice of cakes, liked the mix of a few Asian goodies and the scones were delicious. Staff are friendly and made us feel really welcome. All in all had a smashing afternoon, would certainly go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvrilmastWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My new favourite place to go with friends”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A great tea house off Wellfield road, an antidote to overly pretentious coffee shops and quaint tea rooms Chaiholics has a great atmosphere and is I've now adopted it as a great place to go and do work or to meet up with friends. The staff are really friendly and happy to help if you're overwhelmed with the choice of chai and the cakes are delicious. It's definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ButterlyUtterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ok Tea - room for Improvement”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having drank tea from all over the Globe as well as making Indian Tea at home - for Cardiff this cafe is very good. The prices are very reasonable and the selection of Tea's are authentic. I would make one suggestion and kindly request more "cutting" - boiling the milk until its slightly less watered down. Street Tea in India is traditionally known as "Cutting Chai" for its balance of Milk and Water to allow some fragrance of the spices to blend with the Milk/Tea. I would definitely try it again as its a great concept. I totally understand its adaptation for the western palate - but chai is what it is and should not be adapted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lifeoffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Caring owner”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This lovely little cafe has had me bringing my friends in one by one :) What a lovely business owner! He really cares about his cafe. The staff are lovely too. Will be returning as soon as I can!

Helpful?
2 Thank Cardiffcoffeelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaiholics also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Chaiholics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing