We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in a excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A great little hotel which is placed in an enviable position right in the heart of Cardiff Bay. Good links to the City centre either by bus or water taxi both within a couple of minutes of the hotels front door. The best option for parking is in the Pier Head multi storey car park behind the Millennium Centre which is opposite Jolyons and just a 5 minute walk away. Parking was reasonably priced and cost just £12 from Friday late afternoon to Sunday morning. There are some parking spaces immediately outside the hotel but is metered short stay , but I believe it was free after 6.00 pm .
The rooms were excellent , and all can be viewed on the hotels own website before booking . Breakfast was served downstairs in the bar and was freshly cooked.
Right on the doorstep there are a number of bars and restaurants all overlooking the Bay. Just a further short walk away is the Dr Who museum Experience.
Overall a great hotel and location. Next stay already booked ! .

Room Tip: View the hotels own website to view each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

many thanks for your lovely comments it means alot to me and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Located down by Cardiff Bay with lots of restaurants/bars. Access to the city either by walking (a good 20 mins), the number 6 bus nearby, cost £1.70 or a local ferry &3.00.

The hotel is comfortable and the staff are friendly. We stayed in room 3, which was pleasant enough, two points to make, firstly the windows are not double glazed so you hear all the street noise and secondly, the window treatments are inadequate to block out the street lights, hence getting a good nights sleep is not guaranteed..

The breakfast provided was fine with cereal, juice, toast and cooked available plus tea/coffee.Free bottled water and internet wi-fi is also provided.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan Lauri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the near future, in regards to the window blinds I will look into this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed an excellent 2 day stay at the quirky & different Jolyons Boutique Hotel.
Nothing was too much trouble - staff were hospitable, friendly & engaging.
Manager Ben was the epitome of helpfulness & catered for our every need.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Jolyons has good rooms, lively bar, and fine breakfast. But the best thing about it is the location on Cardiff Bay, in walking distance of a terrific range of bars and restaurants overlooking the bay.

Room Tip: Go for back or front, not side, for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you so much for your comments Im glad you had a great time We are doing a few changes week by week all the the better and we have an amazing smiley team in the hotel

look forward to you staying again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the summer when visiting friends and the hotel had just opened. Room was cute but folding door with gaps wasn't great when you are away with a new partner. We had the discounted starting rate of £70 which was quite competitive for Cardiff but I see it has since increased.

Negatives? Parking was far far away and the reception staff tricky to find when you needed them as it is a pub as well

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The best location for the Mllenium Centre and restaurants in the bay area. Our bedroom was great (4 poster included) and a large bathroom well appointed. Breakfast downstairs in the morning a real traditional feast and well cooked. I would certanly stay again but remember it is a boutique hotel and therefore don't expect the amenities associated with the usual chains.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

many thanks we hope to see you soon thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

LoveLy room beautiful designer bath very comfortable and good welcome.Breakfast better than dinner but all of a good standard. A welcome change for a business traveller .doesn't look much from the outside but a lovely stay I will use again when in the area

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pangolin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £74 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, .Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing