We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but hotel was a bit lacking in quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August with my husband. Have stayed in Boutique Hotels before and I think that Jolyons needs to improve a few things first.

Breakfast- one the second day, every plate that our breakfast was served on was chipped, asked for Earl Gray tea on first day, there was none available, nor on the second day. Pastries were beautiful and fresh on first day, they were stale and rock hard, suspect they were the left over from the previous day. The cooked breakfast was good, excellent sausages but would have preferred poached or scrambled egg but that wasn't possible.

Room was good, we had room two. Missing floor tile in ensuite, guy who checked us in said that would be repaired later that day, it wasn't. Most of the other floor tiles were chipped or cracked too.

Plastic plant(!) in ensuite was coated in a layer of dust. Shelf in ensuite with tea tray ( painted in emulsion) was tea stained, why not get a proper shelf that can be wiped clean.

Would not stay here again which is a shame as the location was perfect

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosomeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review I am sad to see you never had your best experience with the hotel.

In regards to a few points you have outlined the Breakfast should always be fresh and a variety available to you.
Room 2
The tile has now been replaced and sealed, on reflection we didn't want to seal it while you was there down to the fumes that could disturb your stay in the room.
The Plant I have spoken with the people responsible for this and have apologised.

If you do want to stay with us the next time you are in and around Cardiff please ask for myself Ben and I will happily sort you something out.

Diolch

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

The staff were really great and helpful and breakfast was freshly prepared with a good selection of hot dishes. The room was very small with no where to put things. There was only one bedside table so I had to put my jewellery on the window ledge before going to bed. The room was very hot but we did have the option of a fan from reception. The bathroom although very modern was very dark and you could not see very well. However, the shower was very good and powerful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RustyTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed all the extras of the hotel including breakfast,
Please the next time you come and stay with us we will where possible upgrade you to a more spacious room free of price.

Diolch,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed for bank holiday weekend for a sailing and food festival so Cardiff bay area was packed. Had room number 6 at the top and the back of the building - the only one with a roof terrace as far as I know. Bed was comfy and bathroom nice, no shower curtain but didn't really matter as the bath is very big. Roof terrace is just a flat roof to sit out on (and have a cigarette if you are so inclined) but can be noisy as it overlooks the beer garden below and next door. We didn't mind as it was good people watching on a busy weekend. It was quite noisy but the hotel is 2 mins from the waterside with tons of bars and restaurants so that is to be expected - and is just what we wanted to be right in the middle of things. Breakfast was really good and tasty and the staff were all very polite. The girls behind the bar on Saturday were lovely, I think one was leaving the next day to have a baby and the other I think was called Kaitlin - both really great staff. Overall would definitely be back and would have the same room again.

Room Tip: room 6 is at the top with a little roof terrace - really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debsone_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Amazing thanks so much we really do appriciate your kind comments

hope to see you again soon.

dioch

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The service in this hotel was amazing, and the location at the bay the best.
I stayed in room 5 i think, facing the Millennium Centre. The room was really big and it has really nice windows. The toilet was wonderful.
The bar/restaurant at the basement was really well decorated.
I really recommend to everybody to go to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Millennium Centre have amazing views. If you book online you have the option t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Amazing thanks so much we really do appriciate your kind comments

have a lovely end to the summer and we look forward to you staying again

dioch

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just got back from an over night stay with my boyfriend and we loved this hotel. We stayed in room 1 which had a fab wet room. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was lovely. The hotels bar Cwtch has a great beer garden, perfect for a cold drink on a hot day. We are already planning our next stay. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gembot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Amazing thanks so much we really do appriciate your kind comments

have a lovely summer and we look forward to you staying again

dioch

Jolyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were lucky to arrive on during a two-day food festival right outside the door on the Roald Dahl Plass. I was worried that the activity in the area would mean a poor night's sleep, but despite the festival, the music, the crowds, etc., once we closed the windows it was surprisingly quiet. The shower seemed to be purely ornamental. I never did figure out how to work it. There was a wonderful bathtub, though. Breakfast was delicious, the staff was very friendly, and we liked the bar in the basement. Parking was tricky. I had emailed the hotel beforehand and was given advice, but lost the printout of the email. When I arrived and called the hotel to ask where to park, nobody could help. I had to pull over to find the email, which I finally did, and here's the important info: use the Havannah Street Car Park. It was 7 pounds for 24 hours. Beware, there is a car park a bit closer, the Mermaid Quay Car Park, but 24 hours cost 20 pounds and they only had machines that took coins! Who carries around 20 pounds in coins?

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room and was put on the top floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurleynancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

wow thanks so much for your lovely comments its really nice to have great people staying with us

thanks again

Diolch

Jolyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

A two night break with my husband to coincide with Cardiff Bay food and drink festival. A lovely little hotel, comfortable rooms with an impressive wet room. Good breakfast cooked to order. Only negative was the ice machine in the bar broke so no cold drinks a bit unfortunate on the hottest weekend of the year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

well thanks for your lovley comments We look forward to see ing you in the near future

thanks again

jolyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £74 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, .Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing