We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, hotel in need of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, hotel in need of TLC”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here on the weekend, for a girly couple of days in Cardiff. The location was brilliant, you couldn't ask for better, and even though, yes it was little noisy at night, it didn't keep us awake!
Our welcome was rather stand offish and we were made to feel quite uncomfortable that we had arrived early. Even though none of us expected to be shown to our rooms, we didn't think it was too much to ask for our bags to be kept safe. Although this seemed a little bit of a hassle.
Our rooms were all clean and all different with little quirky bits in each room. They do however need some TLC. Paint was coming off, old coffee cup stains and yellow marks on the bath to name a few things that could be addressed.
Having said that the beds were comfortable and everyone seemed to have a good nights sleep.
Breakfast the next morning was a real let down. We barely had any welcome. The breakfast wasn't very nice. Scrambled egg was dry, luke warm beans and sausage that was very chewy. Don't think anyone in our party ate it all. Vegetarian breakfast consisted or beans mushrooms and egg, and that was it. There was no choice of how you had your eggs etc.
This hotel has real potential with its location but it needs a spruce up and the staff need to be more welcoming.
All in all disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    98
    34
    31
    24
See reviews for
27
216
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Great hotel
We arrived to the sound of fire alarm blaring but it was soon sorted and we were shown to our room which was roomy with a great bathroom
Neat little bar area very comfortable
Cardiff bay very calm location
Good trip

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank malcolmjonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea south wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked to stay at the hotel and found out that we were staying in the hotel in cathedral rd which when we booked we wanted to stay at bute st , I phoned to see if we could change to the other hotel and was told yes no problem it's s Sunday night and we have plenty of room , I checked that we would be charged the same amount which was £66 per room including breakfast on checking out in the morning I was charged £100 for one room and £90 for the other , I was told I had to pay this but if I phoned later that day I would be reimbursed the over spend I did this and sent the confirmation which I originally had but was told I still had to pay the extra , I feel completely conned out of £58 and would not trust , recommend or stay in this hotel ever again !
Derek morgan

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1234del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great location, lovely building, gorgeous beds and bedding but our visit was ruined by noise. Our Friday night stay was spoilt by a surround sound of noise which considering the hotel's location isn't surprising. Noise emanated from the pub almost next door, the pub behind and mostly from the basement bar in the hotel itself; they even had a loudspeaker in the terrace behind and nearly immediately outside our bedroom window which piped up music from the basement for a further rude awakening. Then there were the Friday night revellers outside talking, singing, shouting.... Most annoying we're the staff who at 1.30 stood outside our door talking loudly before they left for the night. We really question why the building should actually be a hotel as it's in such a busy area for night life and there's no noise insulation. Lots of old reviews pre-date the recent developments that have made this area so popular and noisy. Unless you're prepared to put up with lots of noise, have very substantial ear plugs or drink yourself to oblivion, this isn't the place for those who want a reasonable night's rest. Such a shame for a wonderful old building.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room at ALL costs. Soooo noisy! One of our party was on the first floor which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich-du-Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A quirky little hotel directly opposite the theatre at Cardiff Bay, rooms are well presented with comfortable beds. There is no lift and often nobody on reception but always someone in the cellar or downstairs bar / breakfast room. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order and excellent, served in the cellar bar which in itself offers excellent pizza in the evening and snacks. There is no parking on site but large pay and display close by.

Room Tip: Only a small hotel the rooms were very good cosy and comfortable. Room 5 has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithbath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Firstly I'm a Dr Who fan. I'm getting that out if the way now! Our hotel was directly opposite roald Dahl plass and the millenium centre often used in filming. I made it clear that I was travelling with an 11 year old and as this was our first (and only, since we now live in Canada) trip to cardiff we'd appreciate a room overlooking the famous view, we got a kingsize bed overlooking the back of the hotel, above the bar!
I've never stayed in a boutique hotel before preferring the convenience of things like lifts to your room etc. but I really must urgently caution anyone with small kids not to accept room 4. Not only is there noise from the rowdy bar across the street, the sash windows open fully with one finger and no safety catches. 12' below the concrete floor would provide a fairly permanent stop if you were to fall. I bought this to the attention of the staff and if I'd had my 3 yo with me would not have stayed in that room.
The luxury bathrooms have clearly been expensively appointed but again it's a swing and a miss, the heavy shower head over the bath, (no actual shower cubicle) had been dropped so many times the bath was horribly chipped. Ruining the whole effect. The dead lucky bamboo could have been removed too!
My main grip tho is the lack if cleanliness. The cups were dirty, the wall piece headboard was dusty as hell and the sheet had stains of an unpleasant nature on them.
Basically this hotel had elements of a 4* hotel but missed things you would expect from a 3*
No parking rounded off the reasons why I'd never stay there again it I fact recommend it.
Redeeming features, James on reception knew the area well, explained the hotel features and saved me cash on the car park round the corner. And we loved the entry to the bar being a tardis.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed just one night for a special occasion and we really enjoyed it! Booking early we got our choice of room, at the bargain price of £76.

We arrived a little early but they took our bags, labelled them and had them ready in our room when we arrived back a little later on.

We had room 2, which was lovely - big comfy bed, huge bathroom and whirlpool bath. We were missing a hairdryer but they promptly brought one up for us. Otherwise, couldn't really fault the room. Yes, the windows open out onto the street, so you have to be a little careful about wandering around with no clothes on, but that didn't bother us too much.

Breakfast was fantastic, as expected based on reviews. One of us had the full meaty breakfast, packed with local produce, plus lots of coffee. The other stuck to fruit and yoghurt, followed by pancakes with strawberries and golden syrup. All excellent.

Location is great, right on the waterfront. Can be a bit noisy but it didn't bother us. The bar downstairs was really good - even though it was busy the bartender James was really attentive and even made cocktails on request if we provided a rough recipe.

I guess the only thing we'd say is that we would have liked 1) a fan in the room - it was hot even in October and even with the windows open/heating off and 2) bubble bath so we could make the most of the whirlpool bath!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely - the whirlpool bath with a cheeky nightcap was a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Property: Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Address: 5 Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, .Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing