We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$109
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
302
119
35
31
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
119
35
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmillennium centrecardiff baywhirlpool bathhand held showerlovely little hotelroald dahl plassproper showerfull welsh breakfastfour poster bedsmall hotelbars and restaurantsmermaid quaybeautiful roomlittle touchescooked breakfastfabulous locationthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here on the weekend, for a girly couple of days in Cardiff. The location was brilliant, you couldn't ask for better, and even though, yes it was little noisy at night, it didn't keep us awake!
Our welcome was rather stand offish and we were made to feel quite uncomfortable that we had arrived early. Even though none of us expected to be shown to our rooms, we didn't think it was too much to ask for our bags to be kept safe. Although this seemed a little bit of a hassle.
Our rooms were all clean and all different with little quirky bits in each room. They do however need some TLC. Paint was coming off, old coffee cup stains and yellow marks on the bath to name a few things that could be addressed.
Having said that the beds were comfortable and everyone seemed to have a good nights sleep.
Breakfast the next morning was a real let down. We barely had any welcome. The breakfast wasn't very nice. Scrambled egg was dry, luke warm beans and sausage that was very chewy. Don't think anyone in our party ate it all. Vegetarian breakfast consisted or beans mushrooms and egg, and that was it. There was no choice of how you had your eggs etc.
This hotel has real potential with its location but it needs a spruce up and the staff need to be more welcoming.
All in all disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great hotel
We arrived to the sound of fire alarm blaring but it was soon sorted and we were shown to our room which was roomy with a great bathroom
Neat little bar area very comfortable
Cardiff bay very calm location
Good trip

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank malcolmjonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked to stay at the hotel and found out that we were staying in the hotel in cathedral rd which when we booked we wanted to stay at bute st , I phoned to see if we could change to the other hotel and was told yes no problem it's s Sunday night and we have plenty of room , I checked that we would be charged the same amount which was £66 per room including breakfast on checking out in the morning I was charged £100 for one room and £90 for the other , I was told I had to pay this but if I phoned later that day I would be reimbursed the over spend I did this and sent the confirmation which I originally had but was told I still had to pay the extra , I feel completely conned out of £58 and would not trust , recommend or stay in this hotel ever again !
Derek morgan

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1234del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great location, lovely building, gorgeous beds and bedding but our visit was ruined by noise. Our Friday night stay was spoilt by a surround sound of noise which considering the hotel's location isn't surprising. Noise emanated from the pub almost next door, the pub behind and mostly from the basement bar in the hotel itself; they even had a loudspeaker in the terrace behind and nearly immediately outside our bedroom window which piped up music from the basement for a further rude awakening. Then there were the Friday night revellers outside talking, singing, shouting.... Most annoying we're the staff who at 1.30 stood outside our door talking loudly before they left for the night. We really question why the building should actually be a hotel as it's in such a busy area for night life and there's no noise insulation. Lots of old reviews pre-date the recent developments that have made this area so popular and noisy. Unless you're prepared to put up with lots of noise, have very substantial ear plugs or drink yourself to oblivion, this isn't the place for those who want a reasonable night's rest. Such a shame for a wonderful old building.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room at ALL costs. Soooo noisy! One of our party was on the first floor which wasn't much better.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich-du-Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A quirky little hotel directly opposite the theatre at Cardiff Bay, rooms are well presented with comfortable beds. There is no lift and often nobody on reception but always someone in the cellar or downstairs bar / breakfast room. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order and excellent, served in the cellar bar which in itself offers excellent pizza in the evening and snacks. There is no parking on site but large pay and display close by.

Room Tip: Only a small hotel the rooms were very good cosy and comfortable. Room 5 has a good view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keithbath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews