We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Maesteg, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the very first minute of walking into Jolyon's, you instantly feel at home. The decor of the hotel is elegant and classic, and Jo (the lady who greeted us) is absolutely fantastic. Jo literally couldn't do enough for us.

The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Cardiff Bay. A stones throw away from the Wales Millennium centre, and perfect this time of year as Cardiff Bay is home to a beautiful urban beach. The room was lovely and clean and the bathroom was modern.

Breakfast was simply divine. Lots of choice, and the cooked breakfast is made fresh to order. The chef (I'm afraid i can't remember his name) is a star. Jo and the wonderful chef made us feel welcome, and topped off what was a great night away. We enjoyed so much so, we have already booked for January 2015.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Danielle B,

Thanks you for such a lovely review, Jo was thrilled to read your comments regarding her service provided.

We will look forward to seeing you in January.

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    98
    34
    31
    24
See reviews for
27
216
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Despite the fact that we arrived much earlier than the official booking in time we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom had both a walk in shower and a bath. The breakfast was lovely, with a wide choice available. All in all a relaxing trouble free stay in a lovely little hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMD912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear AnnMD912,

Thank you very much for your review, its great to read you enjoyed your visit, we do hope to see you return on your next trip to Cardiff.

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

If you have booked to stay at this hotel, don't expect a room when you get there! My wife and I booked a room at this hotel via a well known website (booking a room, late). We arrived after a two hour drive only to be told that there was no room available for us. The hotel staff informed us that there had been a mix up with the booking website (one I've used hundreds of times and NEVER (until now) had a problem with. The hotel staff offered no help whatsoever in finding us alternative accommodation, in fact we just got a door closed in our faces!

As I mentioned earlier, I hope you have more luck than we did with this hotel! My advice would be to give this place a wide birth!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JP07HAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear John h,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience on Saturday. Unfortunately at this time the hotel or my staff were not to blame. Late rooms were selling 18 rooms ( we only have 7) and our hotel had been full for a number of weeks.

Even when the 18 rooms sold they continued to sell a matter totally out of my control causing my team immense stress due to the fact the whole of Cardiff was fully booked.

I am sorry you felt our hotel was a shambles, my team worked extremely hard to support with alternative accommodation.

Reading your feedback with the team we had on duty they are extremely disheartened to read that you had the front door shut on you which is very difficult to believe as this is not in the character of my team.

It is extremely unfortunate that you were faced with the issue Saturday, but you must be advised that this was totally no fault of our company.

With kind regards

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Fabulous little hotel, our gorgeous room had a huge bath and even our own veranda!!! Staff are hard working, personal and friendly. Jonathan was a little star and made us a fantastic cooked breakfast!!
Fab location, clean and friendly, great value for money. Would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Room 6 has it's own veranda and they will serve breakfast in the room if requested, lovely on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Tracey P,

I am glad to read you found our hotel a little gem,

we will look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cardiff

kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What can I say that would do justice to our stay at Jolyons in Cardiff Bay and more to the point would give you just some idea of the warmth energy and efficiency of Jonathan the hotel manager. Our stay was not without its challenges but Jonathan rose to these and did such an efficient job that in spite of the glitches we would head back to Jolyons in a heartbeat. The hotel is small (seven bedrooms) and is not staffed in the evening. This feature lends a homely, private charm which offers a unique and genuine experience without all the faux fuss that comes with a big impersonal modern hotel. Sort of from home. Thank you Jonathan....Dave and Yvonne, Weybridge, Surrey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leixlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear leixlip,

Thank you for such a fantastic review. Jonathan is thrilled to read of your comments.

we hope to see you on your next trip to Cardiff.

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I love staying here the rooms are fabulous - my personal favorite is room 6. But what happened to bar cwtch, It was probably the best little bar I found in Cardiff with it's pizza ovens and cwtch cwthiness and await eagerly for it's return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear geoff b,

Thank you for your review, sorry about the disappointment regarding our famous Bar Cwtch being closed.

We are now working on an exciting new Food and Beverage concept which will see a slight change at our Bay hotel.

We do hope you return on your next trip to Cardiff

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed one night for work and I will definitely be back!
Welcomed by the lovely Joanna who couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
Room was spotlessly clean and bathroom had nice big fluffy towels.
If you can ask for Room #1. Four poster bed, bath tub, big shower. Only slight issue is that the room was on ground floor and I was bit edgy about leaving the window open to cool the room down, so perhaps the owners could invest in a fan.
But really this was a minor issue (and the day was a scorcher) in what was a great stay. Nearby bay is full of every kind of restaurant you could want and a breakfast of cereal, pastries, juice, strong coffee and fry up was included. Great stuff.

Room Tip: Room #1 had four poster bed, bath tub, big shower but on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeOwenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear JakeOwenH

Thank you for your comments, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your room.

We have also started to upgrade our rooms, and we have also have a room with a lovely terrace.

We do hope to see you on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Property: Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Address: 5 Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, .Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing