We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cute little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel in October. We had a special deal with Groupon but we were not treated any differently. Had the room with the balcony which was fab. We had pizza delivered to our room - again really tasty pizza. Th room was spotlessly cleaned although there were a few stains on the carpet and chips off the enamel in the bath but it wasn't a problem. The service was really firendly and breakfast very tasty again.
The location is great for being in the heart of the bay. All in all a quaint place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    94
    34
    31
    24
See reviews for
25
207
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Brilliant location in Cardiff Bay, especially if you're planning on going out in that area. Everything is on the door step. Very stylish interior and the rooms are all individual., with great attention to detail. Particularly glad to see fresh coffee in the room - all hotels should do that! So much nicer than a big, bland chain. Staff are young, but really pleasant and helpful. Had a lovely stay and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLovingBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Highly recommended. The staff were lovely, it was like being welcomed by friends. We stayed in room 3 which was spotlessly clean, warm and cosy. The bed was very comfortable and the large bath was fantastic!
We had pizzas and wine in Bar Cwtch (the basement bar attached to the hotel). The pizzas were great and the atmosphere was lovely. Breakfast in the morning was also very good.
We had a very enjoyable and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stay at Jolyons everytime we go to the Opera and we have never had a bad experience yet. All the staff are so lovely and welcoming, they really couldnt do enough for you. We have stayed in every room now, and although we have our favourites, all of the rooms have been spotlessly clean. The general atmosphere is very laid back and very welcoming. I would recommend the hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNewman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

i went to this poor excuse of a hotel for a break from the big chains only to be let down. The B+B i arrived at was disgusting. i was shown in by a false blonde girl who looked stressed and too busy. on check in she passed me the key and pointed to a bedroom on the ground floor. as i walked into the bedroom, the old four posted bed look great, only to be covered in dust. i couldn't believe my eyes when i found empty packets of items in the closet! as i attempted a shower, water seemed to be all over the floor before i even turned it on! to make things worse, there were 2 spiders on the wall and flies everywere! Breakfast was a sight! it was served in what they call 'bar cwtch' a tiny over priced cellar with a few tables, the floor was sticky and wet from the night before, and the toilets! there was sick on the floor and smashed glass everywere! the receptionist from the day before gave me a half smile and sat me down with coffee, only to continue talking to the other staff about how her night was last night! no customer service at all! i would never go there again! for business or leisure!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose-Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I booked this hotel in March for the wifes birthday everthing went well until we arrived at the hotel! The lady on the desk informed me that they had been trying to contact me ( no refrence of missed calls or e mails ) and that they have over booked and offered us room no 7 looked like a office with a bed in it there, it had a nice bathroom but the view over a building site and the bars on the window made it look more like a spell in a HMP hotel .The price was reduced but after booking in March to be late down on arrival was very poor.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cressy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Having eventually found someone to let us in to the hotel we were shown to our room which faced the beer garden - literally 5 foot away from our window. The person who took us to our room offered to put the blind down so that we could get changed only to find the blind was peppered with dead flies! This he thought was quite amusing. Ditto in the bathroom. The pillows on the bed were the cheapest quality, as was the general appearance of the room. Breakfast next day was an amazing experience. First we were ignored for about ten minutes until we gave up and asked if we could order. A very young harrassed girl told us they were very busy and she would get to us when she could - there were about eight people in the bar (breakfast room) at this stage. Eventually we received our drinks and were offered toast - could we order a cooked breakfast we asked? No you have to have toast first was the reply. The breakfast when it eventually arrived was terrible - being cooked by the receptionist who had to keep disappearing to deal with clients. When we asked for the bill she said she was very busy and she would get to us when she could. Guess what ? the credit card machine wasn't working - would we like to do a bit of shopping and come back later? An extremely overpriced hotel which we certainly will not be using again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2010
Thank you for your response. All comments are greatly appreciated and improvements on any constructive criticism will be addressed.



Unfortunately, Cardiff Bay is known for the problem with flies during this time of year, although we do the best we can to prevent them, some will occasionally get through an open window, however we are making every effort possible to reduce number of them.



Within the appearance of the bedroom, if you would like to offer a suggestion to improve on any of the items in any of our bedrooms we would greatly appreciate this as we strive for perfection in all of our bedrooms, including Jacuzzi, décor, four poster bed ect.



In regards to the breakfast experience, we normally offer toast or continental to start while there is a wait with the cooked breakfast being prepared. If at any time you feel there is a problem with the breakfast, please feel free to make a comment to the staff and we will do our utmost to amend this for you. The comments have been taken on and improved following a number of training sessions.



Thank you for your comments, if you would like to contact us directly, we would love to discuss the comments with you further and see what we can do to make your stay any better next time.



info@jolyons.co.uk



Many Thanks and Kind Regards



Jolyons Hotel and Bar Cwtch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Property: Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Address: 5 Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, .Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing