We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place for a Good Coffee and Lunch”
Review of Coffee Continental - CLOSED

Coffee Continental
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I'm a regular visitor to the Cafe Continental in Blackwood so I was dying to visit the new cafe in Cardiff. As I thought, it was fabulous!! Excellent cup of coffee, fantastic selection of home made cakes as well as a prompt service with an excellent lunch. A really warm welcome as well as a relaxing surrounding even though they were rushed off their feet. Cant wait to go back for the reggie night!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther A, Owner at Coffee Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you Fiona, it makes all the hard work and money we've invested, seem all the more worthwhile when we receive such feedback. Hope to see you at the Reggae Night, should be a good one, with lots of people already showing great interest and a promise to join us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

My friend and I decided to try Coffee Continental for lunch on a trip into Cardiff for shopping.
I ordered the mocha and watched the waiter make it. I've never seen a mocha made with chocolate squirty sauce in the bottom of it. Isn't that for putting on the top of ice cream?! It was no where near a real mocha.
I ordered the jacket potato with chicken curry. It was not what i expected. I looked for the chicken and found one tiny piece. The rest of the curry consisted of cubed swede and carrot and watery sauce. I complained to who I believe was the owner (the same gentleman who made my drink). He took my plate and said something along the lines of 'Oh I must have ordered the wrong curry. See it comes in a CAN so I must have ordered the wrong ones'. I was shocked and appalled that someone would serve customers something advertised as a curry but actually serving them canned curry and actually admit it!!!! It was like the cheap 'curry' you get in a can from supermarkets in the value section.
So anyway he went away and brought me a bowl with chicken. By chicken I mean cubed processed rubbish. The picture shows what I mean! It was horrible and I didn't eat very much of it.
My friend's food wasn't as bad, she had chilli con carne on jacket potato. I presume that was straight from a can as well.
I shan't be visiting this cafe again and I hope that no one has to experience the same thing as me. Please go elsewhere! There are so many cafes that are a million times better and worth spending money on!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank loobylou8424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther A, Owner at Coffee Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our coffee house. The mocha that you ordered was in fact a Choca Mocha, which is advertised as one with garnish. Perhaps when you noticed that my husband decorated the glass with chocolate syrup, you had a chance to admit that perhaps you had ordered the wrong mocha? With regards to the food, my husband admitted that he had given you the wrong filling and offered to give you an alternative. The chicken that was brought to you is not processed at all, it is 100% pure chicken fillet cut into cubes for easier distribution in our Panini and wraps. We can provide photographic evidence of the traceability and authenticity of this chicken if so desired. I can only say that this was an unfortunate episode - in the 3 years we have been in Blackwood and the few months we have been open in Cardiff we have never had cause to disappoint anyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I love Coffee Continental for its authentic atmosphere, lovely decor and exceptional quality and value. A charming little gem! Thank you for being individual and unique! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vero186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther A, Owner at Coffee Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much - your glowing review means a lot to us (George - my husband - and myself). It has been a lot of hard work, but we hope others, like yourself, appreciate that effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I visited with my friend Emma who had raved about this coffee shop, I tried the bee sting cake and it was absolutely lovely. The service was excellent and I enjoyed my visit xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kjwalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther A, Owner at Coffee Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thanks very much. Soon our Bee Sting Cake will become as famous in Cardiff as it is already in Blackwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just opposite the Castle, this place is the best place for a simple lunch or if you want to spoil yourself some very indulgent cakes... It's cosy, with a welcoming atmosphere, friendly staff, great coffee and good food - all combining to kick chain coffee shops into touch; so if you're in Cardiff for the shops, rugby or whatever don't give this place a miss. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther A, Owner at Coffee Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thanks Ron - great recommendation and very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Continental also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing