We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Cool, contemporary, friendly and chic!!
Stayed here as a birthday surprise for my best friend and wasn't disappointed. Staff were fab, room was spotless, breakfast amazing - paid £69.00 which I was totally pleased with. If you can get a deal - stay here!! It's better than the Hilton and st David's!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariamark1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,624 - 1,630 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Park Plaza in Cardiff and once again, we had an enjoyable stay.

Staff were friendly and the service we received whilst checking in and out, was efficient.

Our room was clean and the tea/coffee facilities in our room were most appreciated. We made use of the mini-bar and I thought the drinks were reasonably priced. The bed was comfortable which is always important to me for a good nights sleep. The room was quiet, even with the air conditioning on.

We used the gym during our stay and I was very impressed with the facilities. Plenty of weight machines, exercise bikes, steppers and cross-trainer machines available to use.

Breakfast at this hotel is the best I have ever experienced from a hotel in the UK so far. I have never been left disappointed with it. Plenty of choice and you can choose from hot options such as eggs, beans, bacon, sausages, hash browns etc to Continental options such as fruit, fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, pastries, rolls, cheese, meats and pancakes. I have never left hungry and the food options have always been of a high quality.

There is no parking at this hotel but you can park at the NCP car park across the road. Before you check out, present your car park ticket to reception and they will give you a discount on your parking.

The only disappointment we had, was that the WIFI did not work in our room.

I will definitely book this hotel again for my next stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smileyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend - second visit.

The hotel is modern, clean, good food and nice bar. The rooms ok the hotel are very large, clean and tidy.

The location of the hotel is ideal for the centre of town and if you don't fancy going out the pool and other facilities are great.

My only warning if the front of the hotel- I stayed here last time and for my first night this time. It really is impossible to sleep on any floor at the from if you are a light sleeper due to yer club noise of music beats and people shouting and screaming. This time I requested a new room that was internal-- that was good in terms of being quiet though yer size of the room was nearly halved. There was no offer of a lower price for the room so I guess it was the same.

I would recommend this hotel but just worth trying to get a larger room that's not at the front of the hotel, unless you are going out clubbing!



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormtrooperbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I was expecting my one night here to be fine but was very pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, comfortable bed, efficient and friendly staff and high class amenities such as the nice bar and free wi-fi. It's very well located too with an NCP opposite (the hotel will give you a discount). No complaints and would certainly stay again. Would also add the price was very reasonable but I understand this may be inflated if there is a big event in Cardiff so book early.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirElDoctore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed for a night on 10/6/13 after a party held at the hotel. The room was beautifully presented, and offered a choice of colours from the wall lights. The waiters were very helpful... HOWEVER... during our meal the gentleman looking after us and 'bossing' the staff around came across VERY rude, and at one point my friends and I even witnessed him push one of the waiters , yelling at the staff and even shout after one of them "what the f#@k"
This made things very awkward at first which is a shame as the food was amazing.
Things improved when he left half way through main course and seemed to of left one of the waiters in charge.. I didnt get his name but he had a bandage on his hand.
The rest of the waiters seemed to be more relaxed and happier under his supervision and made it feel more relaxed to myself and my friends also.
I later found the original supervisor in the lobby, drinking and seemed to be chatting up a female resident, I found this very unprofessional and an embarresment to a 4 star hotel.

Things got better through the night, my room was lovely, well decorated and comfortable. Only downside would be noisy due to club across the road.

After a long night, I went for breakfast, and was plesently suprised to find my self greeted at the door by the same waiter with the bandaged hand, who although looked very tired seemed happy to see my friends and me, he even remembered from the night beforewho had tea or coffee.
There was a great selection to choose from the buffet and although busy, staff were very polite and helpful. Upon checkout the reception girls were very nice and when I askef even gave me the name of the 'rude' gentleman from the previous night (George).
Unfortunately they didnt know which waiter I was on about with the bad hand. But I would like to say he was polite and professional and will be looking forward to seeing him again when I return.

I would advise anyone staying here to ask for a room at the back of the hotel ue to noise from clubs, but apart from that this is a great hotel alround, apart from what is mentioned above.

Thank you park plaza

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here for a work event. Hotel really helpful, nothing too much trouble. Unfortunately, didn't get a chance to make use of all the facilities, although a couple of my colleagues said the pool and sauna was very welcome. Had a really good meal in the restaurant - can recommend the fishcakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosamund_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed here for two nights from Sunday 09/06/2013 hotel was excellent staff was excellent and food was excellent, this was our first trip to cardiff and when we return i will be booking here again we stayed in room 214 nice large room excellent bathroom all round excelent experience, only down side was we had to come back home to reality.

Room Tip: pay the extra and go for the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £79 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing