We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another win!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another win!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We returned to stay for a second year, as part of an overnight rugby trip (Autumn International).
The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to the extensive shopping centre and within easy walking distance of the train station and of course the Millennium Stadium!
The rooms, spa and breakfast all offer excellent facilities and value.
The staff are knowledgable and professional, especially the staff on duty at breakfast - this has been the case for both stays.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the trees at the back of the hotel - the front of the hotel over looks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    696
    185
    69
    43
See reviews for
304
809
113
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I travel on business a lot. In an attempt to avoid the awkward feelings of being a woman on my own in a restaurant ,I have had to endure many room service meals , but tonight I have had one of the best meals I have ever had the pleasure to order. The team at Park Plaza Cardiff have made my night by delivering the most impressive belly pork dish I have ever eaten....thank you.

I stay here a lot as the team are so friendly and they have a great gym, but tonight I have discovered another great reason to return. See you all next week!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the theatre at panto time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
del
Level Contributor
156 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

A reasonable place to be in, basics met,

as it happens in most places in UK same breakfast being served every day

gym was good, appraoch from the station just 5 mins

city centre across the road,

in all considering the above, an Average place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a modern hotel in the town centre, very close to the city hall, museum, shops and near venues.

what i liked:
* Large, comfortable rooms
* good lounge area
* larger than average (for a hotel) pool
* good location
* very decent breakfast
* pretty reasonable minibar prices

What I didn't like:
* the hotel is in the same road as some of the noisiest bars and student venues. Rooms at the front are very noisy if its busy (and it was VERY busy and noisy on the Monday night I was there). Reception had run out of earplugs - and to be honest, that wasn't great, they should provide them in the rooms exposed to the bar noise - so take your own!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Park Plaza on the Sunday Spa package, dinner, bed & breakfast including a 55 min massage for £99 and can only say the same as on previous visit, it is a brilliant deal! Everything, hotel cleanliness, comfort, service, food, spa, is first class, location is perfect too, I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel was very nice the communal areas are all well presented and the rooms are large and modern with TV minibar safe etc. The free WiFi is also a nice touch and a cable is also provided for laptop users. The staff were all friendly and polite and the breakfast although not included with my room was good value and tasty for £10. I did not use the spa but heard great things. My room was at the front of the hotel and opposite several bars and clubs which made for a fair bit of noise in my room. I did mention this on the checkout when asked about my stay but this was dismissed by the duty manager. Its location is very good but do request a room at the back of teh hotel if you plan on sleeping well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathanhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel can only be recommended. Was fully booked, but was lucky to be upgraded to an Executive room, Cityhall facing (Club Carlson Gold). Made good use of the large pool and steam room. Very attractive minibar prices, and bar food was also fine. Breakfast involved a short wait for a table unfortuantely one morning. Staff very professional and friendly, an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing