We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Loved my stay”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Very clean lovely hotel. Pool is very good and room service second to none.
Back in Cardiff next week and will be staying here due to availability.
The recession doesn't seem to be affecting this place.
Very enjoyable

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelphill1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,491 - 1,497 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Quality and stylish hotel. Well proportioned rooms with good quality beds bedding and towels, also very clean. The room we had was at front side of hotel and street noise was noticeable but not unexpected as it was a Friday night. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The only disappointment for us was the mass of smokers at the entrance which we had no way of avoiding when we returned from our evening out. The hotel needs to address this as it lowered the tone of the hotel and was very unpleasant being non smokers ourselves.

Room Tip: Rooms on the city hall side would be more restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nothappy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff.
I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the smokers at the front entrance and I would like to apologise for any unpleasantness this caused. We do have an allocated smoking area at the back of the hotel on our Bar terrace, which also has heaters to encourage smokers to use this area. On a more positive note I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and our staff and I hope to welcome you back to the Park Plaza Cardiff in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

we stayed here for a weekend prior to xmas and stayed in a suite which was huge!! It was perfect as we were a family of four so had plenty of space. we used the swimming pool and jacuzzi which was fab, breakfast was lovely. We had stayed here before and had problems with noise and drunk people coming in off the street late at night to party in the bar who weren't even staying here - this problem seems to have been sorted out by having security on the doors which has really helped. we would certainly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the opposite side of the street as it can be very noisy late at night due to night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coys54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Hotel rooms really good, bar and restaurant also very nice. Very well places for city centre and shopping. The big shopping mall in Cardiff, The St David Centre, is a 3 minute walk away.

Wifi works really well all over the hotel including the rooms

Really nice pool and steam room. Great breakfast as well, best one I have had in years.

Would deff recommend if you are planning astray in Cardiff city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great central location and modern feel. Our rooms were a reasonable size with high ceilings that made them feel airy, and had lovely large, comfortable beds. Staff were excellent - very friendly and professional, and breakfast for £10 was very good.

The only downside was noise from the street. Cardiff is a pretty vibrant city and the Wetherspoons across the road is open 7am - 2am - on the Saturday we stayed, the noise on the street peaked about 2:30am.

We'd stay again - but next time we'd ask for a room away from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The place is amazing, the facilities, location and staff superb. The pick of the hotel though is the restaurant food, no words to describe, other than fabulous. The bar in the evening is also a great place to be.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean accommodation. Central to Shops etc? Would highly recommend the " Afternoon Tea" package which included Spa treatment. Excellent value for money. Good breakfast to.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Builth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £82 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing