We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday Chill Out Package”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friday Chill Out Package”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A great value offer from Park Plaza Cardiff. My husband and I booked this package for a special weekend treat. We also ate at the Hotel Restaurant. We upgraded to Room 102 which was lovely and worth the upgrade. The restaurant was very good, with attentive staff and high quality cuisine. The massage was relaxing and also good value with the package. We took advantage of the Hotel gym which was probably one of the best we have found. Breakfast was also very nice, good quality full welsh breakfast.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and can see why it's the best in Cardiff.
The only negative comment I can come up with is that it ought to provide complimentary water in the room. Other than that, I really cannot fault it and would highly recommend the hotel, spa and restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 102 was large, contemporary, clean and well furnished. Situated at the rear of the hotel away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    707
    189
    71
    46
See reviews for
307
832
112
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Took my wife for valentines night and booked a suite for an extra £40. Fantastic value the room was huge and the bed was the size of 2 doubles. After the first night we decided to stay an extra night as we had enjoyed our first night so much. When I asked at reception they told me that unfortunately the suite I was in was booked for that evening and if I wanted to stay all they could offer was a superior room. We decided despite having to change rooms that we would stay and the superior room was still very nice.

We had breakfast on both mornings. This was a buffet style breakfast with a superb selection.

The location is great with a weatherspoons across the road and the city centre a 2 minute walk away with a great selection of shops, bars and restaurants available.

The only down side to the hotel is the spa. It's very basic which is the reason I haven't given a 5 star rating.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardbourton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for sightseeing but what a sight/noise outside on friday and saturday nights!!! Rooms were spacious and lovely. Breakfast was quite good. Ask fir a room at the back if you don't want to be kept awake by screaming and fighting out on the street! The thing that disappointed me though was that for an expensive hotel you have to pay for parking.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carinaanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the park plaza on the 6th February for a two night stay to celebrate my 30th birthday. On arrival at the hotel the staff were very welcoming and had upgraded our room due to our celebration which was lovely.

My husband had arranged champagne and strawberries in the room which was lovely, but unfortunately the strawberries were dreadful, not sure how long they had been sitting out before we arrived but they were warm and at £10 we would have expected better!! They were also left in the room over the next two morning going mouldy, our room was cleaned on the 7th while we were out but glasses and strawberries were left!

On a positive note the hotel is in a great location in town the room was nice and clean. No problem with noise for us, we were in room 203.

Hotel bar seemed nice and had a nice cocktail there tho a tad expensive.

Attended the spa for a treatment on the 7th, we'd booked a couples massage, the therapist came to get us but it seemed unorganised as they had booked us in separately in different rooms, so took a few minutes to sort that.

Did like the fact that after spending over £350 in two days to stay at the hotel, there is no parking had to park in the NCP across the road which is fine but only got 20% off parking which is not much in my opinion.

Overall it's a nice hotel, in a great location, nice breakfast, just a shame about the lack of personal touch, I guess that's what you get in a big busy hotel. We would probably not stay again as expensive for what it is.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara84london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Attended a wedding reception at hotel in December. Room looked very special and a lot of care had been taken to make sure guests were taken care of. Food was excellent with good choices and good size portions. Puddings were excellent. The children were well looked after with their own menu. Staff were attentive and efficient and were particularly good with the children. Well done Park Plaza.

Room Tip: Good venue for wedding reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just back from a three night break.... Must say the hotel has a lot of pros such as good location, friendly staff and the restaurant is lovely. However the noise level in our room was not something you would expect from a 4 star ..... On the Friday night a wedding took place and as expected music went on late and so I did not get the best sleep... However it was the hammering and banging from work men on Sunday morning that really annoyed me.... It really wasn't appropriate to have work going on that early on a Sunday morning when there were guests occupying the room next door. I also had a facial in the Laguna spa ..... Lovely staff however disappointing facial..... Friend had the same treatment but with a different member of staff and she enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff.

I would like to apologise for the noise disturbance you experienced during your visit. Unfortunately essential maintenance work was being carried out on that Sunday; however the external contractors should not have begun their work until later in the morning so as not to disturb our guests. I completely agree that it was not appropriate for you to be disturbed by the work, please could you contact me so that we can come to a satisfactory resolution for yourself?

On a more positive note I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel, our staff and restaurant and I do hope to hear from you soon.

Holly Davison, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just spent a night at the "Park Plaza Cardiff" Hotel and what an enjoyable experience.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby, corridors and rooms were well decorated, well maintained and very clean.

For our visit the location of this hotel was perfect. The Car Park was directly opposite, a number of bars and clubs right outside the hotel and literally a 2 minute walk to Cardiff's main shopping areas.

The Spa was excellent with a lovely pool, spa and Steam Room, Great for a relaxing afternoon (although I was surprised that there was no Sauna).

The only thing I was unhappy about was the parking. In short this hotel does not have a car park but instead visitors get 20% off the NCP car park across the road. Even with our discount parking cost us £22 for the weekend (Just over 24hrs)!!!

Room Tip: Beware of the expensive NCP car park opposite this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrilljunkieuk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing