We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The photos on the website really don't do these rooms justice - I was surprised by how gorgeous our room was! Huge bed which was so comfy, great bathroom with lovely bath and separate shower, and plenty of space in the room to settle in. It's a shame we had a wedding elsewhere as I would love to have spent more time in the hotel, but if we ever decide to go back to Cardiff, we'll definitely stay here again.

As others have said, parking is quite expensive, but I think it'd be the same wherever you stayed in Cardiff - at least the Park Plaza offer 20% off. Our parking bill came to about £30 for two nights. There's free wifi which is another positive, and as were the free treats and wine in the room as we'd booked an executive room.

There were a couple of negatives which means I can't quite give 5/5. The walls appear to be quite thin so we heard almost everything from the room next door. I'm glad we weren't at the fron of the hotel judging from what others have said on here. The bathroom is looking a bit tired and could do with having a touch up of paint or fixtures refreshed (the tap was a little rusty for example). We also didn't get a "did you have a good stay" or anything like that from reception staff as we left as they seemed to be a bit distracted - I expected exceptional service so it was a shame to not quite have this expectation met.

Other than that, we were more than happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, away from the noise of the pubs/clubs at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laesning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    686
    184
    69
    40
See reviews for
293
797
111
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We love this hotel and have stayed many times and it’s normally very quiet, but this time on one night (a Wednesday) we could hear a heavy baseline from the Club across the street. However the staff were very helpful and offered to check that the doors of the club were kept shut, but it only lessened it a bit. The following day we were asked if we wanted to change room which we thought was excellent customer service. We particularly like the fact that hotel guests can have full use of the Gym and the excellent Pool. The pool is the longest I've ever seen in any hotel and the Gym has excellent classes that are free to guests. However do book the classes as soon as you can because they have limited capacity and do fill fast.

Room Tip: On some nights the Street facing rooms can let in some noise. The is dependent on how busy the club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidKlaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed on the 3rd floor facing the street. Thankfully I stayed during the weekdays with no sporting events in town. Otherwise it would have been very noisy(could hear some noise from a few patrons at the bar across the street). My room was a double with tub/shower combination.

Pros:
Magnifying mirror
Nice towels
Good room service
Coffee, tea, biscuits
Amenities(shower cap, shampoo etc...)
Wifi
Decent lighting
Walking distance from shopping and Cardiff Castle

Cons:
No wash cloths
Heat didn't work very well

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkAdventuregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

It was recommended to me by the family I was visiting in Cardiff and I'm very glad that I followed their advice. Very classy hotel in a very central area. Fast check in and check out. Helpful and courteous staff. The room was the most comfortabke room ever. Spacious room and great bed !!!! Very clean and loved having the choice for the breakfast to be brought in the room at a specific time in the morning. I had a lovely dinner at the restaurant which I definitley recommend for a meal accompanied by a nice cocktail.Though wi fi at times was slow but it didn't matter to me as it wasn't important for my trip. Plus great thank you for the direct European plug (very helpful for those who might have forgotten to buy an adaptor).I would absolutely stay again in this hotel if I ever go back in Cardiff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefaye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stay at the Park Plaza in Cardiff regularly with business and it's worth mentioning the superb service that I consistently receive. The staff are friendly and courteous and invariably go out of their way to ensure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

From the Reception Desk staff through to the Laguna Kitchen and Bar staff, nothing is too much trouble. Tracy, the Hotel's Breakfast Manager, goes out of her way to make it feel lime home from home - This important when you spend so much time away from the family and is greatly appreciated.

This is a great place to stay and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A great value offer from Park Plaza Cardiff. My husband and I booked this package for a special weekend treat. We also ate at the Hotel Restaurant. We upgraded to Room 102 which was lovely and worth the upgrade. The restaurant was very good, with attentive staff and high quality cuisine. The massage was relaxing and also good value with the package. We took advantage of the Hotel gym which was probably one of the best we have found. Breakfast was also very nice, good quality full welsh breakfast.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and can see why it's the best in Cardiff.
The only negative comment I can come up with is that it ought to provide complimentary water in the room. Other than that, I really cannot fault it and would highly recommend the hotel, spa and restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 102 was large, contemporary, clean and well furnished. Situated at the rear of the hotel away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Took my wife for valentines night and booked a suite for an extra £40. Fantastic value the room was huge and the bed was the size of 2 doubles. After the first night we decided to stay an extra night as we had enjoyed our first night so much. When I asked at reception they told me that unfortunately the suite I was in was booked for that evening and if I wanted to stay all they could offer was a superior room. We decided despite having to change rooms that we would stay and the superior room was still very nice.

We had breakfast on both mornings. This was a buffet style breakfast with a superb selection.

The location is great with a weatherspoons across the road and the city centre a 2 minute walk away with a great selection of shops, bars and restaurants available.

The only down side to the hotel is the spa. It's very basic which is the reason I haven't given a 5 star rating.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardbourton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing