We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping, Nightlife, Castle - this hotel is close to them all”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here with our 2 teenage sons and its absolutely brilliant. It is right in the center of Cardiff with all of the shops/ facilities/castle right on the doorstep - not to mention the nightlife! It is right opposite some very busy bars, it didnt bother us at all. The gym and spa facilities are excellent, plenty of machines to use in the gym and the pool is a good long pool for swimming. Only one thing to mention - we had a drink in the bar before we went out and my husband gave him £20 - he gave him change for £10 and insisted it was a mistake.......... We didnt think so - he knew straight away that he gave us the wrong change as soon as we told him. Anyway, it didnt spoil our fantastic stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you dont like noise on a Saturday night ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donfambhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your positive comments about our spa and facilities. We have noted your reference to the error of being overcharged in the bar and we can only assure that we understand that this was a genuine mistake from a long standing member of our bar team. We do hope that you will return soon to enjoy another stay with us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,461 - 1,467 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel!! Really nice rooms, fantastic hygiene and the bathroom shower was damn good. Breakfast of champions, loads of choice and a great choice of Fruit and continental options. Not a bad price too. Saw Vinnie Jones in the lobby and breakfast hall, that was interesting listening talk about stuff in general

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I very recently had the pleasure of staying at the Cardiff Park Plaza with my son (aged 11) and we had a wonderful experience. Not only was the location, atmosphere and decor top-rate, but the staff were absolutely exemplary in every way. From the moment of arrival we were made to feel very welcome, and this was the case throughout our stay. There was a genuine and relaxed ambiance at the Cardiff Plaza, a very modern level of sophistication, but nothing cold or pretentious. Our room was immaculate, stylish, spacious and extremely comfortable. Contrary to some reviews regarding noise, we enjoyed two nights of blissful relaxing sleep, honestly you could have heard the proverbial pin drop! The restaurant and grill were a pleasure to eat in, and the quality of food and service was excellent. The pool (like the staff and facilities) was splendid. We will definitely be returning to the Plaza, and would like to both recommend and thank the staff (receptionists, bar/restaurant, Spa/Pool, Breakfast) who were fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Upgraded to superior room, was lush. The bed was HUGE! Had a shower and a bath in the bathroom. Complimentary wine, tea and coffee! Bath robes and slippers in room. Had nice sofa. There are a couple of bars opposite but the room I was in, I heard none of it and had a lovely night sleep. The jacuzzi was beautiful, pool a little small and same depth all the way but very relaxing. The staff were rather rude, didn't smile or make eye contact. However did not let this ruin my stay. I do recommend this hotel if you want to be central and a relaxing stay. Just don't bother the staff. Haha

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The photos do not do the rooms justice. Have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and have never had problems with any of the rooms. Breakfast at the hotel has a huge variety and is very good quality. Staff are very friendly and seem to do the uptmost they can to make your morning not so stressfull. I dont normally eat in the restaurant I just order room service and pop down for breakfast. However I decided to pop down for lunch on what seemed a busy friday. How waiting staff change when put under pressure! To my surprise I heard singing from the kitchen (not good singing) but it was refreshing and i loved it. I eat out a lot and normally with a busy lunch the only thing you hear from an open kitchen is the noise of pans and one angry chef! It seemed the kitchen was just taking it all in their stride. Sadly my food seemed a bit dry from being under the lights for so long and my pudding wasn't the best. (Panacotta) otherwise would get 5/5

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank kmjdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed here on several occasion, and always more that satisfied with the service. The food is tasty, and the best place to cater for my needs/allergies without a doubt - gluten&dairy free. ALL of the staff are so helpful, nothing is too much of an effort. The room is clean, plenty of towels, bedding, tea etc and bed comfortable. Its ideal, in town but quiet in the evening. Would recommend it to family, romantic or business.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhian and Sian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a few of times before, usually on business but sometimes adding a day on to experience what Cardiff has to offer. On this occasion I had a superior double on the fourth (top)floor to get as far away from the street noise as possible. There is double glazing, but it's not as effective as it could be. Staff are always pleasant, helpful and efficient. I had dinner in the hotel on this occasion and the selection, quality and service were very good. Breakfast is always very good. My wife prefers continental and for me a cooked breakfast is a must and both are well provided for. The location is excellent, providing easy access to the shopping precincts, theatre and events. The New Theatre is just along the street. It's also easy just to walk across to the Government buildings. The only downside is parking in the NCP multi-storey car park across the road is expensive at £18+ for a day, but the hotel offers a 20% discount that takes it down to about £15. All in all though, a very nice hotel to stay in and a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £79 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing