We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bath to swim in ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bath to swim in ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I Stayed here for an award ceremony and so was not paying which always puts a positive aspect on a hotel. However, having stayed in some nice places round the world., this one, on my doorstep was hard to beat.

The reception and welcome was very warm yet efficient and the room was spacious and very well appointed. I like to have all the 'amenities' as they say and this had tea coffee hair drier and iron and board. The toiletries as you would expect were good quality. The best aspect was the bath which was the deepest and longest I've seen in a hotel, and a nice change to a smelly shower.

I was only staying one night but the room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was also good with plenty of choice and food cooked for you on request.

Well done Park Plaza... Wales leading the way again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank maxillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    686
    184
    69
    40
See reviews for
293
797
111
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Six of us stayed here for three nights. we had rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors which were quiet considering there were various parties of people staying at the hotel. One room had some incidental noise from the three night clubs opposite on the friday, saturday nights but as we had asked for quiet rooms, two out of the three were so.All the staff in the hotel and restuarant were freindly and as the hotel is centrally situated, we could visit the many attractions on foot.

The rooms are spacious with extremely comfortable beds.

will stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for rooms that overlook the inner courtyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Enjoyed a nice 2 night stay at the PP this weekend. Noise outside wasn't that bad (we were on the 3rd floor) - I slept with earplugs but the wife didn't and both of us got a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good, staff were nice. All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerzet
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having read previous reviews about having a room at the front, we were a little worried when we had room 233 at the front.
What a great stay we had, there was nothing we could say in criticism, apart from the wife finding a spider on the ceiling and the scrambled egg not having a parsley garnish on the Sunday. If that is all we can say you know it must have been good. The room was perfect and the bathroom spotless and everything worked. Staff were polite and available without us feeling as though we were being crowded. If we had not spent so much time in the city centre which is such a short walk away we would be able to review the facilities.
OK the noise issue. Friday night we had difficulty getting to the hotel as the road outside is closed except for taxies serving the pubs and clubs opposite. once we explained we were staying there we were let through to use the car park. For our Friday meal first choice was to go across to the Weatherspoons straight across the road. We use these a lot and know the food is consistent around the country and good value. Sorry I do NOT pay £2 per person to use a pub, so we did not eat there. Hello Giovanni's, Weatherspoons loss, his gain, but that is the subject of a review on there site. Yes, out side was full of the young being happy, hen and stag parties all having a good time. Saturday night we stayed in eating in the hotel restaurant. Pricing was much the same as Giovanni's, quality was much the same, excellent and service we will argue who gave the best. At the end, after good food and good wine, there was nothing to keep us awake. We slept soundly in a very comfortable bed. Now we live on the edge of town and any car arriving nearby we will hear, including birds or badgers outside the window. So in the end I have to disagree about the noise issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerzetvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a higher end hotel conveniently located in the city centre a few steps from the Cardiff Castle and the pedestrian shopping district. There are several pubs and restaurants in the area and even a few right across the street. It is a £6 taxi ride from the Central station. The rooms are large and spacious, fairly modern and clean. The bathroom had a stand-alone shower, large bathtub and all the amenities you'd expect from a high end hotel. Wifi was excellent. Restaurant and bar, again, high end. Well worth the cost. In terms of staff, I had to return a tuxedo rental early Saturday morning before the store opened in order to catch a train back to London, the front desk was happy to take my tux from me and arrange to have it returned when the store opened later that day.

Room Tip: If you're staying on a weekend, ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankandJane_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

First of all I don't like the hotel policy of making a minimum 2 night stay when there are events in Cardiff. We were entertaining customers for the Rugby and the 300 gbp per night which is way over the top for this hotel gets doubled as they won't allow one night bookings.

location is excellent. check in was smooth. They upgraded me to a junior suite which in effect was to just to throw a settee in the corner of the room but the room was larger than a normal room but not junior suite quality.

I rang reception at 1705 and asked if they had anyone to iron a shirt to which the curt reply was sorry but housekeeping only work from 9 to 5 . Well its a shame guests don't just stay there 9 till 5 is in it was my thought.

Bathrooms are decent with stand alone shower, although cubicle a little grotty, good hot water and good large towels

Was woken at 3am by the party life spilling from bars and clubs on grey friars street. request a room not there if you want to sleep.

hotel bar is viby.

definitely not worth 300gbp a night (supply and demand increases the price) and certainly not a 4 star dulex.

much prefer ST DAVIDS HOTEL AND SPA IN THIS CITY, even though the location is not as good

Room Tip: don't Book a room facing grey friars street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEOtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff.

I would like to apologise for the noise disturbance you experienced during your visit. I am genuinely sorry you had the misfortune of encountering such a problem and I can assure you had we been aware of the problem we would have done our utmost to try to resolve the matter.

I would also like to apologise for the misinformation you were given by Reception regarding our housekeeping department. We do have a housekeeper on duty until 9pm at the earliest, I am sorry that you were advised to the contrary. We do also provide irons and ironing boards in all our rooms so that guests can iron their clothes at their convenience.

I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your complimentary upgraded room but I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotels location and our towels. I do hope to welcome you back to the Park Plaza Cardiff in the near future and if you would like to discuss any of your comments then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Holly Davison, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for a business trip. Good location in middle of cardiff. Big rooms which are comfortable. Friendly staff and nice bar and good food in restaurant. Meeting area was also good with very attentive staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drpeterr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing