We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy and overpriced”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here on Saturday 3rd May and paid £209 for a standard double room. The hotel itself is very nice and the rooms, whilst bog standard, are nice and clean with v comfortable beds. However I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - it's in the middle of the city centre and the noise did not stop until 5am when the bin lorries started! Not in the hands of the hotel I know but just a nightmare. The breakfast the next morning was also awful - packed with no tables and the worst food I've ever had at a chain hotel for breakfast! Undercooked barely edible food served at the kitchen hatch, cold eggs Benedict (extra) with congealed sauce just not worth the money. The staff were lovely but just slow.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Furly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff.

I am disappointed to read that you were disturbed by the sound from the street outside the hotel and may I apologise for the issues you experienced. As the surrounding area of the hotel is a popular city centre location you will find that there are a number of late night revellers in the area so we have added secondary glazing and then further sound proofing with acoustic panels and wall insulation to mitigate the impact of the street.

I can assure you we do take all issues of noise seriously with management engaging in regular dialogue with the council regarding the policing and noise pollution caused in the city.

On this occasion it seems that these measures were not enough and I can assure you had we been aware of the problem we would have done our utmost to try to resolve the matter for you.

I would also like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced at breakfast. I can assure you that this is not our usual high standard and I will be addressing your comments immediately with our team to ensure that this does not happen again.

Once again thank you for your review and if you would like to discuss any of your comments then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Holly Davison, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,311)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,349 - 1,355 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Recently returned to this hotel after having a pleasant experience last time we visited. Nothing has changed, the hotel is still spotlessly clean, staff are well mannered and very helpful.

The room was well maintained which is so frequently a problem in modern hotels due to the high turnover of clients and was a good size for a basic.

After a meal out we ended up back at the bar in the hotel which served some serious cocktails!! The staff had a clear knowledge of the cocktails and seemed to have an interest in making sure what they were producing was to a high standard. I can specifically recommend the Earl Grey bramble and both the espresso and banoffee martinis. Also ran into a certain welsh international rugby player (Adam Jones) although I obviously couldn't guarantee his appearance during anyone else's visit!!

Why the 4 you ask? Well we arrived at 15:30 (check in starts at 15:00) but we were left waiting at the front desk while a room was located which had been cleaned. All in all the 15 minute wait for a room was by no means enough to greatly tarnish what was otherwise a fabulous stay.

I shall certainly be returning in the future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brawn_to_beluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you're looking for a hotel in the centre of Cardiff, stay here! We received the nicest welcome we've ever received at a hotel. Check in was swift and we were lucky that we had been upgraded to a bigger room. The room was very spacious, clean and had all the amenities you would need. We were lucky that we were situated in a quieter part of the hotel. We all had a great sleep including our 8 month old daughter. The breakfast was lovely and the waitors were gems. My partner was recovering from surgery and was unexpectedly unable to come down to breakfast, so the waitors went out of their way to bring some food up for him which we are so grateful for. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank alientrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in March. Major bonus points for letting us check into our room about 10 AM after overnight flight from U.S. Couldn't have been more helpful. Room itself was good sized, comfortable bed and linen, decent sized bathroom with one sink, small but deep tub and separate shower. Had ceiling spot reading lights for bed. Two issues: most important is poor soundproofing, both regarding adjacent rooms as well as noise from hall. Could hear pretty easily conversation next door. Other smaller issue is that the lighting in the bathroom is not very good for applying make-up (reported by wife-excellent source). Hotel has spa with pool, hot tub, sauna and showers. Location excellent for Cardiff Castle and downtown area. About 2 miles or so from bay area, easily accessible via cab, bus or boat (latter nice ride in Bute Park next to castle).

Tips:
(1)Fantastic middle eastern food as per ratings at Shaam Nights, easy walk from hotel

(2)Had great time renting bikes, taking them on train to Caerfilly, visiting the castle and then biking back, stopping on way at Castle Koch. Ride is along bike path all way back, takes maybe 1.5 hours, not difficult. See review of Caerfilly Castle if interested.

(3)Cardiff Castle well worth visiting. Has audiotour as well as guided tour of clock tower and few other rooms.

(4)Bike tour with Pol at Cardiff Cycle of Cardiff also well worth time. Rented bikes from there for our trip up to Caerfilly.

(5)Pettigrew tea room at Bute park next to castle well worth visit for great scones/tea breakfast. With clotted cream, of course.

Room Tip: Ask for quietest location, maybe empty adjoining rooms if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW/SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014. I had a deal via the TRIVAGO site. Cheaper to stay here than the Travel Lodge or Ibis.

They have deals every so often and it's well worth a night in Cardiff.

Visit the Brew House (live bands Friday & Saturday) two bottles of Fosters Gold £2.80 until 9pm. The Kiwi bar (also live band) does bottles of Bud or Corona at £2 a bottle all night.

The Park Plaza offers breakfast at £10 per person, but there's a Lloyd s (wetherspoons) directly opposite and full breakfast there at half the price.

The room is air conditioned, and very comfortable. The Spa is free, and includes steam room, Jacuzzi and pool. (no Sauna) Towels provided free of charge.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the road
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Really central, gorgeous hotel modern clean bright, we were in room 101 lovely big room! Would of been nice to have some complimentary bottles of water for what we paid. The spa facility's were good and all included. Breakfast was good. Ordered food to the room it was fast still warm and yummy! The beds were hard but you can't plead everyone, was very noisey on a night but expected with there beeing clubs bars across the street! If you want a quiet night go further afield! All in all really enjoyed our stay and will return :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fayee2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I spent two nights here with my mum last year. Having read previous reviews I was a little concerned to see several reviews referring to the noise outside if you happened to be booked into certain rooms. I requested a quiet room and was told that I had been allocated a room in a quiet part of the hotel. When we checked in we discovered our room was overlooking the pubs and clubs outside and as a result we did not have a very good nights sleep. We did complain but staff were unable to allocate us a different room until the following day - the new room was situated on the inside of the hotel and was much better - no noise at all and we slept really well. The staff were really helpful in this situation. The bar in the hotel was lively with a lovely atmosphere with live music. The hotel is within walking distance to the main shopping area and restaurants. We had a lovely weekend and would recommend this hotel BUT request a quiet room!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room ! Reception described the quiet rooms as rooms overlooking the inside of the ho...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireH838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £81 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing