We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel was perfect as we were in Cardiff for a friends birthday, we wanted spa facilities, treatments and a hotel close to shops, bars and restaurants! The rooms were big and well presented, and absolutely spotless! Breakfast was lovely with a good spread, the only criticism is that when we were in the spa we decided to have lunch, I decided on a New York club sandwich, which was lovely, but it set me back £15, which I did feel was too expensive! The staff were all helpful and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    689
    184
    69
    40
See reviews for
294
799
111
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, room was stunning, the bed was huge and staff were very helpful. We had a massage in the spa and that was also very good! Breakfast was good but the bacon wasn't very nice at all. Only negative was that we booked the double room for the massage but they had double booked it so we had to have separate rooms. Would defo go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Park Plaza hotel is a lovely boutique hotel a short walk from Cardiff City Centre & Castle. Beautiful open fire the length of the the lobby is welcoming.
Breakfast options plentiful & service great. Only drawback is the cost of parking. Car park is directly across the road & costs approx £19.50 per 24 hour period however the hotel will validate your ticket & receive 20% off which reduced to approx £14.
Was concerned upon arrival as hotel is directly across from Cardiff's busiest nightclub/bar however had no problems at all & made sure we requested a room away from the front of the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent location in the centre of the city with discounted NCP car parking on the opposite side of the road. Nice clean hotel with excellent rooms and facilities. Staff all friendly and helpful and in particular the bar staff were efficient and congenial. Well priced hotel with comfortable beds and spotlessly clean bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style but was fresh and hot unlike many you come across. Over all great value, great location and provides and excellent base for exploring the city,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris49215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

All staff are so polite and on the ball! Hotel is beautifully clean and well presented! Can't wait to return again! Food was fantastic, fab presentation and cooked perfectly. Couldn't of asked for anything more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Not cheap but this is a good hotel with friendly and helpful staff. I stay there two or three times a year on business. My only criticism is that recently I wanted to stay one more night at my own expense and asked if there was any chance of a small reduction since I had already stayed 4 nights. I was met with a firm no so decamped to a local budget hotel which was 1/3 of the price but perfectly adequate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GreenJagsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff.

Our accommodation rates fluctuate on a daily basis depending on availability. Unfortunately when the hotel is busy or rates are already low then we are unable to negotiate any reductions, I am sorry this was not better explained at the time.

On a more positive note I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and our staff.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Park Plaza Cardiff in the near future. If you would like to discuss any of your comments then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Holly Davison, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very good hotel,excellent food and great service, rooms are very well decorated and clean. Spa treatment was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel. We had a great time. Would recommend you stay at the back of the hotel due to pubs/clubs opposite front.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sammy-Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing