We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed Friday night and had a very enjoyable stay. Booked a family room or junior suite. Bed room and bathroom were very large, clean, modern and well stocked. Noise wasn't an issue as our room was at the rear of the hotel. Resturant was very nice for evening meal and breakfast. Swimming pool was good. Taking small children (3 and 5) is always a concern to hotels but the staff were great from start to finish.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandjcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    694
    185
    69
    43
See reviews for
304
808
113
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a good standard centrally located hotel that has all the amenities that you'd expect. The rooms are 4* standard, the staff friendly and the bar full of the usual late night types on Fridays and Saturdays. I did not use the gym facilities but heard that they were OK. There are some local clubs - including one opposite that make a racket at night so get a room on the opposite side of the hotel if you want to sleep well.
Would happily return.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were here for business so pleased with what sounded like a quiet and generous room. However, the first night's sleep was interupted by a neighbor or possibly staff member yelling in the room next door and then a wedding party the next night. It is has a function room and Cardiff is seemingly a party person's haven so the rooms above the reception room are useless even if they are away from the party strip at the front.

Room Tip: High floor at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskiacromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here at the Park Plaza.

Firstly, may I express my sincere apologies for the disturbed sleep that you experienced during your stay. Occasionally guests inform us if other guests are being noisy, we instantly investigate and deal with the issue. I can assure you it was certainly not one of our of staff as all our team understand the importance of delivering a great experience to our many guests.

From time to time we have events in our function room but we have a policy than noise is restricted from 11pm so it is regrettable that your sleep was interrupted on this occasion.

On a more positive note, thank you for your gracious comments regarding how spacious and generous our room sizes are.

Once again, I apologise that your stay was tainted and I do hope to wish you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jordan Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumstead, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend, the room was clean, spacious and quite modern, apart from the phone! My boyfriend was slightly disappointed with the pillows in the room, they were very soft and he was unable to sleep properly. At the time the signal on the TV was intermittent, which was quite frustrating! We visited the bar which has an appealing layout. The cocktails were enjoyable, although the service was just ok in that the bar staff could have been friendlier. The hotel is well situated, although the nightclubs opposite are noisy. It should be said however that the level of the sound in the room did not stop us from sleeping. We were a little annoyed at the unannounced cut off of the water supply in the morning.
Be aware that if you are coming by car that the parking is around £15 for 24 hours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

On first sight, rooms were well appointed and of generous proportions. Not so the lifts. Ours gave up the ghost when faced with an onslaught of jolly French rugby players.
Returning after an evening meal a new problem arose. Previously we had not been aware of the neighboring pubs and night clubs. Now we were forced to weave our way through a raggedy scrum of revellers, druggies, vomit and police to reach the hotel door.
Once inside the receptionist was very reassuring, pointing out that with the triple glazing the hotel had installed you could hardly tell the police sirens were there.

Room Tip: Reject any room at the front: you won't sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butlerhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff.

Due to our popular location in the city centre we are close to many attractions, a vast array of shops and of course pubs and clubs resulting in the street having a lively atmosphere, especially on event days. The security and comfort of our guests is paramount, we have added secondary glazing and then further sound proofing with acoustic panels and wall insulation to mitigate the impact of the street.

On a more positive note I am happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and found your room to be well appointed and of a generous proportion.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your visit and I hope to welcome you back to the Park Plaza Cardiff in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

A very nice place, interior in the lobby is top notch, as are the rooms!
Staff are friendly and happy to help you..
Only downside is although the location is great for being in the centre, it comes with being directly opposite a club and so the noise at 12am wasn't pleasing - maybe I just chose an unlucky night as it was a Saturday

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My teenage daughter and I spent 3 days at this hotel in April. it is well located to explore the city as many of the major sites are all within walking distance, as are the shopping centres. The room was very comfortable and spotless. The staff were helpful and friendly. The only criticism is that being located on a main street there are many pubs and restaurants and it can be quite noisy at night, even though we had a room at the back of the hotel. All in all a good choice of hotel in Cardiff.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing