We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break from the kids”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great break from the kids”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious and light but with curtains that make the room very dark if necessary. We had an evening meal on the second night in the restaurant and it was beautiful, as was breakfast this morning. I would thoroughly recommend staying here, it is a very short walk to Queen St and a short walk to catch the train to Cardiff Bay. We'll be booking again for our next visit to Cardiff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrleebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    738
    196
    76
    48
See reviews for
331
864
116
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, used the restaurant downstairs on first night for dinner, a bit pricey but pleasant enough. Second Night there was a wedding party on our floor and after midnight there was a lot of door slamming and had to ask a couple of guys to keep it down as they started talking loudly outside our door, but no further incident so all good.
Room was clean, shower and bathroom facilities good, used Gym downstairs to go for a run - machines up to date and in excellent condition.
Got 20% discount from hotel on carpark across the road, so we had our car there for 2 days which came to roughly 30 GBP
Close enough to the city and was able to see most of the tourist sites in the couple of days there. Check out time of 12pm is a bonus

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Firstly, I must say that I was really impressed with the reception staff in this hotel.
I dropped my bags in, in the morning, prior to check-in. They then took the bags to my room for me, so when I checked in, I did not need to worry about my bags.
The room was very nice - a bit of an odd shape, but a nice room none-the-less.
Loved the sir conditioning - really needed it in the hot weather.
Scores well up to here. Though the bed linen wasn't the best. A minus point there.
Though it's only a 4-star review in view of the service received at breakfast. There were some tables outside, so ideally the waiter should ask guests whether they would like to sit inside our outside for breakfast (and there will be preferences both ways). I was just taken to an indoor table. Though I do appreciate there may have been no vacant tables outside, however this should have been discussed. Also, the waiter forgot to tell me to help myself to buffet food - I had to ask her for this. Finally she used my table as a stop-gap while clearing the adjacent table. Not good while the table is in use.
I go the feeling things were a bit chaotic at breakfast.
On leaving, the receptionists were great once again - offering help with bags, or a taxi for me. The receptionists here really are top notch (the best I have come across on recent times).

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor - you may get a good view then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinkySpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location - close to parks, castle, shopping and museums.
Excellent facilities - bar and restaurant expensive for products served, but plenty of other options nearby (an excellent burrito bar near to Queen Street is a highlight)
Rooms - spacious, luxury bathroom, great shower, lots of nice products, lots of wardrobe space and fridge.
Bed - comfy and large.
Swimming pool and sauna facilities- excellent, clean and quiet!
Reception staff - efficient, fast, friendly and welcoming. Great knowledge of local area.
Only issue is parking - they give you 20% off at the NCP across the road, but it still works out at about £15 per 24 hours - for city parking I suppose this is ok...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in March for business.

Nice to have some beers included in the rate!

Room was clean, hotel was busy and buzzing as there was a party going on in the club, and staff were attentive and helpful.

Would stay again when I return to South Wales.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaintGilesTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with huge room paid extra for exec room (well worth it) spa and pool brill, staff were spot on especially at the bar. The lady who changed our bedding deserves a special mention as she was lovely. Will always stay here when in Cardiff. Superb

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a really good hotel. The room was a good size, well air conditioned and very clean and modern with a bar and tea & coffee facilities, brilliant. The staff were very good, friendly and most helpful. We ate in the Laguna restaurant for our evening meal, the menu was great and food and presentation did not let it down. We found the staff in the restaurant both for the evening meal and breakfast the next day were really friendly and welcoming. It was a great experience in a great city, would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,112 reviews
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing