We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PARK PLAZA CARDIFF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
“PARK PLAZA CARDIFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff are professional and friendly and the quality of the facilities are top notch including a very high tech gym and lovely pool. The food is excellent and bar food is available until 10pm! I would recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Saskia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    689
    184
    69
    40
See reviews for
294
799
111
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the Park Plaza, Cardiff recently. On the whole it is a pleasant hotel but fairly average. It was expensive but it was a Saturday night. The breakfast was excellent. It has lovely views at the back of the hotel as long as you don't mind the chiming of the City Hall clock every 15 minutes!

Room Tip: The hotel has a problem with noise from the bars in the busy street, especially at weekends. Also y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, General Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I note your remarks with reference to the City Hall clock sounding please accept our apologises if this was disturbing for you..
On a positive note we would like to thank you for your kind words regarding breakfast and have passed your feedback onto the restaurant team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is obviously amongst the better options when visiting Cardiff but you can feel and more importantly smell the years it has seen. Fullfloor carpet should be banned on planet earth especially when it comes to hotels.

Pros:

-Perfect location for visiting everything worth seeing in Cardiff (10 mins from train station)
-Good room size
-Good bed and pillows
-Ironing and boiling water possible in the room
-Spa / Gym. This is easily the best gym we have seen during our travels, all included in room price!
-Staff very friendly and helpful

Cons:

-Disgustingly worn and smelly carpets (fairly common in UK)
-No slippers / robe unless ordered separately
-Airco's totally failing. (they were being replaced when we left)
-Afternoon Tea served in the restaurant was ok but contained so much sugar we both left with diabetes. The sandwiches offered with it were dry enough to kill you in thirst. We learned during serving that there was an option to this which would have been soo much better by the sounds of it called gentlemens tea..
-No proper oatmeal served during breakfast
-Extremely noisy cleaning staff banging all doors they could get their hands on.

Room Tip: try to get parkview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank housewife10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at our hotel. I very much appreciate you taking the time to highlight the pros and cons of our facilities and standards.
I was really disappointed and indeed shocked to read your feedback with reference to our carpets. All of our bedrooms have carpet flooring and none of our ground floor outlets has carpet. We take great pride in our hotel and really work hard as a team to ensure that our facilities and service are first class. Under no circumstances could we operate our hotel if the carpets were as described. You are correct we do not offer slippers and robes as standard. I note your comments with reference to our afternoon tea offering, we do indeed offer a choice of traditional afternoon tea and gentlemen’s afternoon tea. We get superb feedback on our offering but if it had not been to your taste we could have offered an alternative savoury option. Please accept my apologises for the short comings you experienced during your stay.
On a more positive note thank you for your kind comments regarding our Leisure facilities, staff and bedroom amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

from the time we entered till we checked out our experience with this hotel was amazing, it is a 4 star hotel and rightly so. I booked the weekend for my partners birthday treat and opted for the premier suite room 331, not far from the lift very roomy and a so comfortable bed. Breakfast was buffet style so you took as much or as little as you wanted, I cannot fault the staff in any manner they were all so attentive. Yes we will be back as the location of the hotel meant that my partner was only a few minutes from the shopping and I was only 20 steps from Weatherspoons Bliss.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great central location. Spacious, super clean and nicely decorated room - comfy bed, good air con so had a great nights sleep! Good breakfast with pancake making machine (my highlight!) and lovely service at reception and in the restaurant. Only let down was dinner - which was decidedly average and expensive for what it was, so would eat out next time.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a girls weekend in Cardiff based on a word of mouth recommendation. Excellent value for money, and we chose one night to pay for the breakfast, the other day visited a nearby cafe. So many choices of nearby restaurants and bars, and yet no noise once you are inside the rooms. Free biscuits very appreciated! We used the spa one afternoon, a sauna would have been nice but the jacuzzi was busy but nice.

Room Tip: Even the road facing rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a great weekend staying at this hotel the room was spotless very spacious and the bed was very comfy ,I would recommend using the spa as it was very relaxing , great location for restaurants , clubs shopping etc will use again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrscc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing