We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlie Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
“Girlie Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

A much needed Spa Break for myself and 2 friends. Package included Champagne Cream Tea, use of Spa Facilities and one treatment in the Spa. From booking to check out all staff professional, courteous and very helpful. Room excellent, Cream Tea lovely and Breakfast exceptional. As it was a Bank Holiday the Spa was very busy so I would perhaps bear this in mind for future visits but would certainly book again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    694
    185
    69
    43
See reviews for
304
808
113
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

What can I say?

We only live miles away but the chance to book an evening away and enjoy the City must be grabbed when able.

Excellent welcome, friendly accomodating staff.

We enjoyed an exceptional meal in the restaurant.

The location is possibly the best in Cardiff a short walk to the ever expanding offer of shop's and bar's.

The Theatre is only next door, so if able take in a show and enjoy this lovely theatre which is under threat of closure.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

We will be back soon!


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheCelticCrusaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My sister in law and I stayed at the Park Plaza this weekend for a spa break and we had a lovely time. The reason I haven't given the hotel an excellent is because our room, a junior suite, wasn't ready on arrival at 2pm and we had to wait until 2.25pm to enter our room and this made us late for our spa treatments. The lady on reception did phone the spa to explain but when we arrived at the spa they rushed us and this wasn't the relaxing spa experience I had hoped for.
Our room was gorgeous, spacious with everything we needed and more. A welcome tray with wine, water and welsh cakes is included and I love the robes, slippers and good quality bedding and towels. We ate in the Laguna restaurant and the service and food was very impressive. I ordered sweet potato and caramelised onion soup to start which was delicious and we both enjoyed the spinach and ricotta tortellini for our main. We ordered a bottle of rose and enjoyed a relaxing meal in the beautiful restaurant, we were surprised that we were in the restaurant for three hours but we weren't rushed at all and the staff were lovely.
We both slept well, only to be woken once by noisy guests on the floor above.
Breakfast was delicious, once again, excellent food and service; our waitress was friendly and very funny, she made us both laugh and was very attentive. Great veggie sausage at breakfast.
The standard of service is a huge strength of this hotel and it remains one of my favourite places to stay in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the noisy pubs and clubs on the main street. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickyrhondda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Pleasant stay. Nice and well trained staff.
Comfortable rooms, if you have light sleep or take time to get to sleep pay the difference for a room that is not at the front of the hotel. However rooms are triple glazed.
VERY good food and restaurant.
Leisure facilities are nice and comfortable, have in mind that the pool is not an Olympic pool.
There is not parking in the Hotel grounds this is a NCP parking just opposite and payable. Very easy access and hotel offered a discounted ticket.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room facing the front if you don't sleep well particularly From Thursday-Saturda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Enormous value, centre of the city, OUTSTANDING staff ~ well worth a visit! VIsiting from LA, we met up with my 85 year old Dad who travelled from Pembrokeshire to join us: the hotel loaned us a wheelchair for him for the duration of the stay (6 days) at no charge ~ amazing. And such a huge help. Staff fall over themselves to make your stay the best it can be!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

A good full service hotel with good clean rooms and pleasant service but avoid the bar it's not relaxing it's a public hen party venue. Spoils the whole stay repeat do not use the hotel bar it's like a nightclub and this impacts on any enjoyment in the restaurant next door. If the hotel bar did not have public street access it would be wonderful

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our Laguna Kitchen and Bar is indeed a very popular venue both for our residents and locals. Weekends are busy with people enjoying themselves and having parties, during the summer months we have live music on a Friday evening and all year round we have our in-house DJ playing music until after midnight on both Friday and Saturday night. Please accept our apologies if you felt our bar was not in keeping with our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our service and other facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I took my mother in law for a spar night to the Park Plaza, it was amazing with amazing friendly staff, the facilities were brill thought the price was reasonable too.. I recommend this Hotel to everyone... I will defiantly be back :):)

Room Tip: Light sleepers ask for bedroom on the back. but hotel was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing