We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect City Centre Hotel”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Great bedroom, excellent dining. The restaurant is clearly a magnet for some wannabes so you might have the joy of some highly comical and pretentious conversation to eavesdrop on. Relax and enjoy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,081 - 2,087 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2010

I stayed for three nights on a recent visit, and I have to say it was a very good experience. The hotel is right in the city centre, very close to the shopping, the National Stadium, University etc. It is bright, modern, exceptionally clean and, with the exception of a rather soft mattress, extremely comfortable. My room was opposite a row of bars, which can be very bad news in a British city, but I heard nothing all night - though I was not there over the weekend. Breakfast was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. My only real complaint was that it was almost impossible to use the stairs; I hate to have to use the lift when I am only on the first floor. A very small caveat.

I strongly recommend the Park Plaza if you visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holtspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

we stayed three nights, great location, the room is comfortable, especially the shower, love the shower!!!!! perfect stay in cardiff~

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wei724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

always think a smile goes a long way............and twice two members of staff were less than smiley, but dont let that put you off as everyone else was great as was the hotel. clean fresh and modern, i liked it and perfect for the area i needed to be in

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaf321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Great Hotel in a perfect location for all that Cardiff has to offer.
Hotel is well maintained, spotless and very inviting. Rooms are a very decent size (we only had he superior room but it really was plenty big enough) the bathroom was modern with a great shower. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and the food plus service was spot on..reasonable too.
Breakfast hot and cold food and plentiful. If you require anything specific or just your eggs cooked a certain way just ask and its done.
Great Spa, Pool and Gym and perfect for a work out or wind down.
Nice funky bar at the front left inside hotel very popular with great atmosphere and great place to unwind after a hard days shopping or work.
Although you have to park your car in the NCP directly opposite dont let that put you off as the cost is way cheaper than most hotel car parks in major cities. There are numerous bars opposite the hotel and also within 5 min walking distance but you dont get any of the noise..our room was in front of hotel and we could see a huge queue to get in to Tiger Tiger opposite but couldn't hear a thing.
The New Theatre is two minute walk, Millennium Centre a 15-20 min Walk or 10 min taxi ride, Millennium Stadium 5-10 min walk, St Davids Centre 10 min walk. Cardiff Castle 5 min walk, Cardiff Bay (nice restaurants) 15 min walk. Main Shopping street 2 min walk and New St Davids Shopping Centre 8 min Walk. Cardiff has an abundance of top quality restaurants in the city centre and all a few minutes walk from hotel.
Cardiff is a great city to visit and this Hotel compliments it perfectly...we paid £89 for our stay and it was worth every penny

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchmc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I stayed four nights in the Park Plaza. This is a good hotel, next to the New Theatre and one block from the Queen Street mall. The house keeping staff were first rate. I asked for a couple of things and they were obliging. Watch out for the fridge - it's small, not very cold and is an automatic charging type.

The bathroom was clean, a good size and adequate. Comfortable bed, and a nice room. The wireless internet is free and easy to set up and use. There was a noisy shower nearby, I think it may have been above, but it didn't wake me.

My room wasn't ready at 3:30 pm when I went to check in, but I think they clean rooms on the top floor late on the weekend. I dropped my bags, went for a wander and all was right when I got back, my bags delivered to my room.

Helpful staff on the front desk. I didn't eat in the restaurant - but Valentino's near by has a good GBP 9 pre-theatre 2 course meal.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed here for one night, and were generally pleased, but I'd probably not stay here again, and would try the Meridien or another of the Mermaid Quay hotels instead.

There's no parking at the hotel, so you have to park in the NCP opposite. This is fine and you get a discount on parking. But we parked at about 3pm in the afternoon and then left the car park at about 8pm to go out to dinner, and were charged £11.80 thgen. Then the next morning we were charged a further £11.80 when we checked out and left, so be very aware that you could have £12-24 parking charges added on to the cost of your room overnight, which isn't such a good deal.

The food we had at the bar at lunchtime was really poor, and I sent my omelette back as it was tasteless and rubbery. The waitress was rather startled and didn't know how to handle the situation but the manager did offer me a replacement or a refund to be fair. We didn't complain about the cheese and chorizo toasties, but they were pretty bad too. Perhaps we just caught the chef on a bad day?

Having said that, the room was lovely, very clean and nicely put together, and the hotel generally is very pleasant to be in.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beth-and-willl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £78 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing