We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at weekends if you enjoy sleep!”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Avoid at weekends if you enjoy sleep!”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I'd agree with most of the other comments about this hotel. Great location for city centre, generous room size (for superior doubles), comfortable bed, well-appointed bathrooms, great pool, high quality restaurant and very good breakfasts.

However the downside of a very central location is noise. Of course you'd quite reasonably expect that in a city but the front of the hotel is DIRECTLY opposite a row of very busy nightclubs and bars. We stayed for 3 nights (Friday/Sat/Sun) and as I always take earplugs for hotels I at least managed to get some sleep on Friday and Sat, albeit occasionally disturbed - even through the hotel's triple glazing - by the shouts, screech of tyres, siren etc. However on Sunday night the disco music was so loud that the ear plugs made absolutely no difference and it didn't finish until 1.35am, so you can imagine how we felt on Monday morning. To be honest it sounded like a really noisy party in the rooms on both sides of ours.

We raised it at reception in the morning and it was obvious from their reaction that they'd had a lot of similar complaints. They were sympathetic but couldn't offer anything more than polite apologies. We filled in the comments form with the details but haven't had anything from the hotel.

For any rooms at the front of this hotel potential visitors should be made well aware of the noise issues that will certainly arise from a weekend stay so they can make informed decisions about their visit. We returned to the hotel fairly early each night but I can well imagine that getting back later at night could raise some issues of people feeling uncomfortable and intimidated by the noise/drunks etc just outside. I would certainly stay there again during the week but never at a weekend. You have been warned!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ratherbeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    716
    190
    73
    47
See reviews for
311
842
113
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

On first impressions the Park Plaza is a lovely hotel we were very impressed with out room and the standard, its only when you look a little closer that is when you see there is just not the attention to detail that you would expect from what is listed as Cardiffs Number 1 Hotel on here which is why we booked.
The Paint work in the room was looking tired and so were some of the other features, I have to state that the loos in reception really do smell badly and I found that very off putting when having a drink in the bar which in itself was lovely. Staff were great. I could and would say more but there are just not enough words on this review. I did leave Feedback for the Management but they could not be bothered to follow this up.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pip510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, General Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Dear Pip510,
I am genuinely sorry that you did not get a response from my hotel team following your recent stay.
We pride ourselves on our interaction with our guests and I very much regret that your feedback somehow bypassed the strict procedures that we have in place.
May I please apologise unreservedly for the condition of the toilet during your visit to my Bar. Please rest assured that this is being monitored more vigilantly in the future. I notice that you would be kind enough to provide me with further information, I would be very grateful to receive this.
General Manager Park Plaza Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Great bedroom, excellent dining. The restaurant is clearly a magnet for some wannabes so you might have the joy of some highly comical and pretentious conversation to eavesdrop on. Relax and enjoy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I stayed for three nights on a recent visit, and I have to say it was a very good experience. The hotel is right in the city centre, very close to the shopping, the National Stadium, University etc. It is bright, modern, exceptionally clean and, with the exception of a rather soft mattress, extremely comfortable. My room was opposite a row of bars, which can be very bad news in a British city, but I heard nothing all night - though I was not there over the weekend. Breakfast was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. My only real complaint was that it was almost impossible to use the stairs; I hate to have to use the lift when I am only on the first floor. A very small caveat.

I strongly recommend the Park Plaza if you visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holtspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2010

we stayed three nights, great location, the room is comfortable, especially the shower, love the shower!!!!! perfect stay in cardiff~

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

always think a smile goes a long way............and twice two members of staff were less than smiley, but dont let that put you off as everyone else was great as was the hotel. clean fresh and modern, i liked it and perfect for the area i needed to be in

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaf321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Great Hotel in a perfect location for all that Cardiff has to offer.
Hotel is well maintained, spotless and very inviting. Rooms are a very decent size (we only had he superior room but it really was plenty big enough) the bathroom was modern with a great shower. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and the food plus service was spot on..reasonable too.
Breakfast hot and cold food and plentiful. If you require anything specific or just your eggs cooked a certain way just ask and its done.
Great Spa, Pool and Gym and perfect for a work out or wind down.
Nice funky bar at the front left inside hotel very popular with great atmosphere and great place to unwind after a hard days shopping or work.
Although you have to park your car in the NCP directly opposite dont let that put you off as the cost is way cheaper than most hotel car parks in major cities. There are numerous bars opposite the hotel and also within 5 min walking distance but you dont get any of the noise..our room was in front of hotel and we could see a huge queue to get in to Tiger Tiger opposite but couldn't hear a thing.
The New Theatre is two minute walk, Millennium Centre a 15-20 min Walk or 10 min taxi ride, Millennium Stadium 5-10 min walk, St Davids Centre 10 min walk. Cardiff Castle 5 min walk, Cardiff Bay (nice restaurants) 15 min walk. Main Shopping street 2 min walk and New St Davids Shopping Centre 8 min Walk. Cardiff has an abundance of top quality restaurants in the city centre and all a few minutes walk from hotel.
Cardiff is a great city to visit and this Hotel compliments it perfectly...we paid £89 for our stay and it was worth every penny

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchmc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing