We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round - and generous cancellation policy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent all round - and generous cancellation policy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Three particular plus points for this centrally-located hotel situated between the Queen Street shopping area and Cardiff Castle. First, very helpful and friendly reception staff. Secondly, larger than average room size, although the bathroom is perhaps on the small size. Thirdly, a very civilised cancellation policy. Although I had booked for two nights, my business in Cardiff was over earlier than expected. I was able to cancel the second night at 2 pm on that day and was not billed for that night, or charged a "cancellation fee" as certain chains are wont to do. For those whose stay is of uncertain duration, this is a great bonus. Other hotels please note. And apart from the above, the hotel has a great spa, gym and pool.

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank owen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    689
    184
    69
    40
See reviews for
294
799
111
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Park Plaza for 4 nights in August. It’s a lovely hotel in a great location. All the attractions are on your doorsteps.

Staff were really nice and helpful. We did have to wait around 20 min for our room to be ready but we were offered a complimentary drink.

The room was nice and clean with king size bed; bathroom was mostly clean, although the mildew in the corners around the bath should be treated better, as they put me off having a nice bubble bath.
A few people mentioned in their reviews problems with TV and unfortunately we had it too. When we arrived our TV didn’t work at all so we needed to call reception. It took some time to get it working and facilities like that should be ready before guests arrive, not when they already in their room.
I was a bit worried about night time noises, as we read so many reviews about loud neighbourhood. We did have a room on the street side, opposite night clubs, however the outside noise was not a problem, while the slamming of doors on our floor was. Using the fire escape/staircase instead of a lift was unusually popular in this building and every time someone opened the doors they were shut not only loudly but were causing the whole room to vibrate. It was not only noisy but really irritating. That was the biggest shortcoming of the room and should be looked into by hotel facilities.



The hotel has a lovely spa and the staff are as polite and nice as the hotel staff, although not that well organized. We booked a Thai massage for one evening over the phone but were advised to double check upon arrival if that’s possible, as no one on the phone knew for sure if the specialist will be available. He wasn’t, so we decided to get different treatments and we changed few things. When we arrived for our appointments we found out that they booked incorrect times, so my boyfriend ended up having only half an hour instead of an hour and I didn’t have my eyebrows done as I wanted. The massages were lovely and I would definitely recommend them. Just be careful to double check with staff times and treatments! They get confused too easily.

Overall it was a nice experience.

M and C

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliavathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Just got back from a 2 night break in Cardiff and I have to say what a great Hotel,the location is spot on with the city center right on the door step with plenty to do day or night.The hotel was spotlessly clean with the bedroom being a nice size,we had a king size bed that was a little soft but that is a personal thing.We were on the 1st floor which could be a little noisy due to the bars across the rd but that was not a real issue.The pool in the spa was nice and was not to busy,the bar area had a nice atmospher and it didn't cost a fortune to have a drink which made a change.The breakfast was fantastic with all fresh fruit and hot food in the buffet section.There is a bus stop across the rd that took us to Cardiff bay which was a lot cheaper than the taxi, don't try to walk there like we were told too as it would take about an hour of hard hiking but do go there as there is loads going on and it's worth going in the day time as well as night to see the difference.We had 2 really nice meals whist in Cardiff we were recommended an Italian resturant around the corner called Valentino's which was fantatic and not too pricey.If your looking for good City break with loads to do Cardiff could be for you.Car parking was the only down side which cost £32 for 2 days.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpeach82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

I was recommended to stay at this hotel by a friend who lives in Cardiff. It is right in the city centre so easily walkable to all the shops and attractions. The upgrade executive room is on the quietier side overlooking the park not the main road with the night club. There is a NCP opposite with a discounted rate for guests (£12.60 for 24 hours). Our room had a super king bed, walk in shower and bath. There was also a welcome tray with wine and chocolates. Definately stay here again, but would pay for executive room on 4th floor again. The italian restaurant downstairs is also very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kara12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Me and my three friends recently stayed at this hotel for a girly weekend away. The hotel is modern, the decor a bit dark and oppressive but nevertheless, clean and comfortable. It is really well positioned to go shopping, clubbing and eating which is what we wanted. You practically fall out of the front door and all the amenities are on your door stop.

We booked a family room, as we didn't want to be away from eachother. When we arrived the room was only set up for three. Two singles and a bed settee. However, they soon placed a 'z-bed' in the room, which my friend just about could lie in with her feet hanging over the edge. Luckily for her, I was staying only one night so she had my bed. The good thing was the room was plenty big enough for all of us to have room to get ready, eat etc.

Room service was excellent. The meals were very reasonable and loads toeat plus very good quality. Can not fault that what so ever.

The ensuite was a good size, with lovely big shower.

We went swimming and used the steam room/jacuzzi and generally had a lovely time.

When we returned from clubbing, the bar still served drinks and although the hotel was painfully quite at 3:00am, the staff were very courteous and I would definitely recommend this hotel for that.

The breakfast was lovely, loads to choose from and they didn't mind that I took some muffins/fruit back to the room for later either!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyJerram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

All hotel staff were friendly & efficient & welcoming. Plans for my daughter and son-in-law's wedding were made easy by Grace O'Regan. Hotel rooms and food plus the wedding banquetting were all super. The weekend could not have been better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Just came back from a night away at the Park Plaza in Cardiff. Location is great, hotel is lovely, staff okay. Our room was dressed beautifully with bottle of wine, chocolates and 2 bottles of water.....all very handy. Husband and I felt very pampered. Great choice of hot drink making facilities including coffee, tea & hot chocolate were to hand. Also on the tray were biscuits. Bathroom was modern with lovely thick quality towels, bathrobes & slippers. Also in room was hair-dryer and iron with ironing board.
Breakfast in the morning was also great. Lots of choice whether its a continental your after or a full English breakfast. Plenty of choice of fruit juices, cereals, croissants, yoghurt, fresh fruit etc etc

Now for the downside - as experienced by us. We were situated on the 4th floor, room 426 which was located on the side (more to the front) of the building. The downside to this was that the view was limited but most importantly the noise coming from the night club (which was literally opposite this hotel) was so noisy that we did not sleep for most of the night. We didn't expect such noise for a Monday evening. People were queuing for the nightclub from around 9.30pm and the noise went on until around 4am the next morning when at 3am the club closed. If we had been made aware that there was a nightclub opposite the hotel that operated in the week we could have a least asked for a quieter room location or chose another hotel, but no mention of this was made. If sleep is important to you then make sure you ask for a quieter located room.
The only other disappointment was at breakfast, not a major thing but a shame non-the;less. Our table, that we were shown to and maybe one or two others had cheap small square 2 ply napkins on when the others had the proper large linen napkins, which is what i would expect for a 4 star hotel. Having a 3 course breakfast with just this tiny, cheap paper thing that covered nothing on your lap and lasted all of one hand wipe was ridiculous. The staff working in the restaurant should pay attention and make sure that all tables are dressed the same so that all customers are given the same respect and detail no matter which table they are seated at.

Other than those 2 points this hotel is lovely. We can't comment on the spa and swimming facilities as we didn't really have time for that but looking through the brochure in the room of them, they did look very inviting. We would definitely return to this hotel, but knowing what we know now we'll definitely book but ask for a quieter room....if that's possible. If not we'd rather try somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appleby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing