We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Kylie sang..Step back in time ..absolutely unique tea rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms

Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 87 Coffee & Tea in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hello and our warmest welcome to Selah! ​Selah is a family run, quirky, vintage cafe and tea rooms, nestled in the leafy village of Llanishen, just outside Cardiff. ​We're proud to live and work in a village with such a rich history, which stretches back to AD535 when the original settlement was established nearby in Llandennis Gardens by our namesake, a Llandaff monk named Isan. At Selah, we use local suppliers and fresh produce to create tasty dishes for our customers. Why not drop in and try a slice of our homemade cakes or indulge and book one of our renowned afternoon teas whilst listening to our resident songbird warble a tune or two! ❤ Selah
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As Kylie sang..Step back in time ..absolutely unique tea rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Went today for first time with friends had gone to see a wedding & called in after ..for tea & cake ..staff polite & friendly ..lovely atmosphere & owners daughter sang & customers all joined ..was Fabulous I cannot recommend enough ..

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conniemcleo, Owner at Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your Recent review of Selah Cafe.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

Tea and Cake is our speciality..... Next time why not have lunch, We have a great selection of Paninis/Sandwiches through to freshly Cooked fish and Chips (using real potatoes of course).

We look forward to welcoming you (and your friends) Back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    17
    0
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, homely tea shop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wow, I love this tea/coffee shop, with all the little extra touches that, I would have if, I owned a tea shop. Plenty of homemade cake (old recipes too). The teapot had a handmade tea cosy on it. Very quirky environment. The owner is very flamboyant and vivacious and very friendly, which is what we want when enjoying a cuppa, and I hear she may break into song. She spoke to all customers, even when busy. A great place for 'high tea' which I think you gave to order. I had Mable cake ( I think) but, it tasted fantastic, very moist. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conniemcleo, Owner at Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your Recent review of Selah Cafe.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

From the outset of the Business we wanted to offer Fresh/local Food in a great setting but focusing on customer service, making it a friendly place to relax and enjoy a coffee or two (and of course a piece of aunt Mabels Cake or two)

High Teas are pre bookable, and make for a great way to spend an anniversary, Birthday or even just a get together. We can even arrange for a cake to be made and can decorate your table specially for your celebration!


We look forward to welcoming you (and your friends) Back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Llanishen is lucky to have Selah cafe in their village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have been to Selah cafe a few times and have not been disappointed, in my opinion it is the best cafe in Cardiff, fantastic staff, fabulous food and a very beautiful Haley to sing us a song, what more do you want from a family run cafe

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conniemcleo, Owner at Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your Recent review of Selah Cafe.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

I have to agree with you too....Amazing Food, Great Staff and of course a cheeky song or two from our resident singer Hayley. Not only is she an amazing singer but also makes all of our homemade Soups.....With winter approaching why not try some with a fresh Roll and Butter...... Delicious!


We look forward to welcoming you (and your friends) Back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had lunch at Selah cafe recently when I was on a visit from London. I cannot express the pleasure it was to finally have a meal at such a wonderfully welcoming cafe. The owner and staff went out of their way to make you feel so welcome and the food was all home made and tasted delicious.I must add here that their Eton Mess is to die for, and if that wasn't enough I was treated to a song sung by the lovely Hayley. Where else could you possibly go to get such service!!. Would recommend this venue to anyone who happens to be in this area. Well done Selah!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conniemcleo, Owner at Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your Recent review of Selah Cafe.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

Hayleys Singing always goes down a treat and the feedback is so positive. As you know all food is served Fresh using the very best ingredients. Always keep a look out for our daily specials....

We look forward to welcoming you (and your friends) Back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Absolutely love this cafe, we look forward to going every week, with my daughters Holly and Amy, the staff are fantastic and so friendly, Hayley and her mum can,t do enough for you. The daily specials are delicious and the cakes are to die for. This has become our new favourite place to go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conniemcleo, Owner at Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your Recent review of Selah Cafe.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the experience. Reviews like your make all the hard work worthwhile.

If you have any suggestions for our menu we are always keen to hear them and you never know maybe they will appear on the menu soon.

We look forward to welcoming you (and your friends) Back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing