We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, good staff, good food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Villarreal, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place, good staff, good food!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I don´t need anything else, this hotel is located in a very good area, there are several pubs and restaurants nearby, so you have plenty choice. The room, quite small but clean and modern, the pub was comfortable and again clean and tidy, great food, so at the end I will come back next time I visit Cardiff.

Room Tip: The cheapest rate is going through the Inn keepers website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NachoBroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    75
    34
    19
    15
See reviews for
38
73
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Deganwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As a regular to Cardiff I frequently have a drink and food at the Beverly and it has been great but for some odd reason they are dumbing down the restaurant, menu changed,cheap sachets etc Monday I had a badly cooked fish and chips thought it was a hic up so gave them a second chance last night but no better, so from now on it will just be a drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nicely situated in a very pleasant area and easily accessible with a 20 minute walk from the city centre through the very pretty Sophia Gardens.There are buses too that stop very close to the hotel if you don't fancy the walk. A very friendly welcome awaited us and check in was quick and efficient, the reception area is very small and really warm, it was almost claustrophobic. Our room with 3 single beds was at the very top of the hotel up 3 flights of stairs with no lift but was very pleasant and a really good size, clean too. The bathroom was large but the shower was shockingly bad and produced a mere trickle also the toilet could only be flushed once in about half an hour as there was no refill! The room was far too warm even with the windows open and they still have the winter duvets on the beds!! The bed itself was relatively comfortable though with extra pillows if needed. Breakfast was ok with a continental selection of cereals, fruit, bread and yoghurts but cooked is available as an add on but in all honesty it was really disappointing. The only good thing was that it was hot and cooked to order but there was no choice as to what you had and it was eat it or leave it. There is a pub/restaurant downstairs but we didn't eat there although we did have drinks and all the staff were very friendly.The hotel manager was really amenable and helpful. Quite noisy at night as it is situated on a main road so be prepared for lots of traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

stayed at the Beverley with a group of 9 guys for the rugby, the rooms were large, clean and had a big ensuite. they all had single beds in them, 3 beds in each of the rooms we booked. the only down side was the duvets, they were too heavy, they are still using the Winter Tog.

Breakfast is one of the best I have had, £2.19 for a small, £4.50 for a large, it will set you up for the best part of the day. service was good one morning, not so good the second.

we ate on 1 evening, reasonable priced pub food, good service on a very busy Saturday night.

I did have reservations about staying in a pub, but there was no noise or other issues.

the hotel is about 1/2 mile from the town centre, has its own car park.

will stay here again if we return to Cardiff for a match.

well done to all the staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed in the Beverley for a weekend break visiting family. Hotel location was very good for access to Cardiff City Centre - just a short walk. Reception staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly. Thereafter had little contact. Room was adequate with ample drawer storage and an open plan wardrobe. Shower cubicle was minimal and there was no holder for the shower head requiring that shower had to be taken hand held - reported this to Reception but no fix. Breakfast was adequate and could be upgraded to a cooked breakfast at very low cost - breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.
Biggest disappointment of the weekend was trying to have a meal in the bar restaurant on Saturday evening - in excess of 50 minutes wait for our meal in a half full bar. How long does it take to prepare scampi and chips!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keelie259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Visited tonight for a drink,oh dear oh dear they couldn't organise a p--s -p in a brewery.three staff wandering around like headless chicken while we waited to be served well we walked out and won't return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Beverley Hotel (Innkeepers group) on Cathedral Road, Cardiff for 2 nights in April 2014. The Hotel has very friendly and efficient staff who will do anything to help. the breakfast provided free is sufficient but I would not class it as Continental as it comprised of a choice of Cereals, Yogurts, Toast and jams although you can pay a bit extra and have an English Breakfast. The Meals and Drinks are very reasonably priced. The room was superb and very clean with a comfortable beds. All in all it is a hotel that we would be only too happy to use again and with all that it is only 10 mins. walk from City centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 73 in Cardiff
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#32 of 73 in Cardiff
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wynford Hotel
Wynford Hotel
#41 of 73 in Cardiff
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
Address: 75-77 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotels in Cardiff, our lodge offers budget accommodation close to the heart of the city. So whether you're here for business or pleasure, you'll be near enough to all the action, yet happily away from the hustle and bustle. The Millennium Stadium is just a 15-minute walk away, as is Cardiff Arms Park, and attractions such as Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Bay are also within easy reach. While you're sightseeing, how about stepping into the future - or the past - by visiting the Dr Who Experience? Of course, you won't need a Tardis to get to us because the M4 is on the doorstep, and excellent rail and plane connections are just a taxi-ride away. As for the lodge itself, our classic Victorian building was once a rich man's townhouse. Today it's anything but expensive to stay here. With a comfy bed and a cool pint or plate of hearty pub-food available in the pub downstairs, you'll find it offers a great-value base for exploring the Welsh capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Hotel Cardiff
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing