We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“regular customer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
Ranked #37 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 25 May 2007

I am a regular customer at the Beverley hotel and felt compelled to write a review after reading two of the three reviews already posted.
Due to the nature of my job i am constantly travelling from city to city and would not dream! of staying anywhere else in Cardiff. As one lady wrote, it is a pub with rooms, it does not claim to be anything more. However the rooms are spacious and clean complimentary snacks and drinks can be found in the room also. I find the atmosphere most enjoyable, the staff bend over backwards to do as much as they a can to help and resolve any situation that may arise. If you are unhappy with something all you have to do is say and it is dealt with immediately. In fact i would like to point out that The Beverley Hotel is extremely popular with both locals and visitors like myself. Its location is ideal for many of Cardiffs city centre attractions. A great welcoming team led by a fantastic manager!

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank MrJWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2006

My husband and I spent one night in the hotel. There was a smashed light bulb on the dressing table with part of the light fitting from the light over the bed, which had been left with bare wires coming out of it. the room was filthy, dust covering the surfaces and used tampons in the bin in the bathroom.the room had obviously not been cleaned since the previous guests had stayed there, which we were told was a week before. we can only hope the bedding had been changed! it was also a cold night and the heating was not working. when we informed a staff member she asked a chambermaid to go and check on the room, and after waiting in the bar for half an hour she informed us that nothing could be done about it or that no discount could be given on the price of the room, as they were too busy cleaning another room to look into it properly. obviously we found this totally unsatisfactory but as we had to leave to get home in a hurry we didnt have time to push this matter further. i certainly wouldnt pay money to stay there again,in a cold, dirty, unsafe room!

Stayed: November 2006
2  Thank pete-n-jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2006

I stayed at this hotel with a group in April, and did not find it particularly good. As the othger reviewer wrote, it is more of a pub with rooms. the first problem was that there were 4 of us in a room, and they would only give us one key. We had to pay a deposit - i think £25 to get a 2nd key. The staff were ok, not terribley helpful, and the breakfast takes ages to come, many of our group gave up waiting for it. They also tend not to re-stock breakfast items. The room was ok, a bit worn, and as we were over the bar it can be noisy. The bathroom was carpeted and a bit grubby. The location was very handy though.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MillicentD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
16
Reviewed 14 March 2006

The Beverley is essentially a pub with rooms and I would guess their target customers are the likes of stag and hen parties, and football and ruby fans into for games at the Millenium Stadium which is about 10 minutes walk away. The city centre is a similar walk. The hotel has a small secure car park, but there is decent on street parking nearby which seems pretty safe.

The rooms are spacious and have all the basics you need. Our room had two doubles and a single probably intended more for 3 or 5 adults sharing than a family.

The furnishings and decor look a bit low rent, the carpets bveing well worn for example. But it was all clean and our rooms were well made up with pleanty of clean towels. The over bath shower worked ok and the bathroom though basic and dated in design was clean and spacious. The perspex sheets protecting the walls on the staircases gives you a clue about the hotel's target guest

A full and hearty Welsh breakfast is served in the bar in the morning with as much white toast as you want. Served at the table it puts the buffet affairs in many more pretentious hotels to shame.

Overall then this is a hotel for adults out for a lively time who want an unfussy, relaxed but clean place to get their heads down with a hearty breakfast to recover from that hangover. I would not recommend it for a family break or romantic weekend and it is not necessarily any cheaper than some of the 3 star chain hotels in Cardiff. However it does have bags more character and is of far better quality than some of the other B&Bs on Cathedral Road

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se quiser dormir bem, não fique no quarto 7, talvez os outros sejam melhores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helxavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Alan_It1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
1.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff

Address: 75-77 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotels in Cardiff, our lodge offers budget accommodation close to the heart of the city. So whether you're here for business or pleasure, you'll be near enough to all the action, yet happily away from the hustle and bustle. The Millennium Stadium is just a 15-minute walk away, as is Cardiff Arms Park, and attractions such as Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Bay are also within easy reach. While you're sightseeing, how about stepping into the future - or the past - by visiting the Dr Who Experience? Of course, you won't need a Tardis to get to us because the M4 is on the doorstep, and excellent rail and plane connections are just a taxi-ride away. As for the lodge itself, our classic Victorian building was once a rich man's townhouse. Today it's anything but expensive to stay here. With a comfy bed and a cool pint or plate of hearty pub-food available in the pub downstairs, you'll find it offers a great-value base for exploring the Welsh capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Hotel Cardiff
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing