We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Churchills hotel”
Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Churchills hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is the second time i have stayed here. First time was in a Mews cottage that has two rooms split on two levels overall very comfortable. This week stayed in a Mews studio not so impressed as its all on one level. will be returning agin next week as it is reasnably priced and has a good breakfast included in the room price.

Room Tip: room 26 (mews cottage) was good and you could park right outside. room 35 was Ok but on the 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
39
67
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst working in the area, and visiting relatives.
The main plus point of the hotel I would say was definitley the good sized free parking (especially usefull when you drive a huge van). In addition the hotel is a 15 minute walk to the city centre via the plesant local park.
Upon arrival at 11.30 we were kindly given a room straight away as some were already ready,over in the annexe. The fact that you had to walk accross the car park didnt bother me as the rooms over there are a real good size, although i suspect some guests may not like this.
Overall the room was very basic, tired in some areas and a little dusty however, all expected facilities provided.
We went into the bar at lunchtime for a quick light bite before heading out. When in there the menu looked great value and had plenty of choices which was good so we came back later for a bar meal before bed.
The bar itself is nice and a plesant warm space just off the equally warm reception. The food is ok in there but the atmosphere is really lacking and the service is not great. There were two members of staff serving at lunchtime and often dissapeared leaving customers at the bar.
Breakfast was again fine a very hot full english and some continetntal options but ticked all the boxes a good choice, hot foot hot, juice cold and good coffee.
When we arrived we were checked in by a fairly tall young looking chap with glasses who also served in the bar a few times, served our breakfast and checked us out. This chap deserves praise as he is obviously putting in the hours and commitment but is also doing it in a courteous and profesional manner equal to that in 4/5* operations he is a real asset.
Sadly he was the only one encountered young girls in the bar were young, unspervised, dissapeared a lot and eat behind the bar.
On the morning of checkout someone wondered into the kitchen with a can of what looked like cider and occasioanlly i could hear excessive noise from the kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidwelly
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

A recent trip to Cardiff (Christmas and family centred), propmpted a stay at Churchill's hotel. Just over a mile from the centre, so a fair but pleasant walk for fit people to experience. The hotel has an off road car park, which is useful as it is so near to the very busy Cathedral road. The hotel is quaint and quite old with lots of character including a narrow stairs up to the first floor, complete with a painting of Churchill! The room was comfortable and breakfast was very good, when it eventually arrived. The bar and restaurant are open to the public, giving a cosy atmosphere to return to on a Saturday evening. A beautiful fire place and fire greeted us on arrival, in a well decorated, festive lobby. I'm sure we'll stay again soon!

Room Tip: Room 22 was initially allocated and was directly above the kitchen flue, which gave off a very greas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianehynamsunsh1ne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here with husband and friends on a Saturday night. The rooms in the annexe were large and quite comfortable although smelt of smoke and in need of a little bit of an update, and there was no lighting between the main hotel and annexe.
We had booked a table for the evening, however this was forgotten, luckily there was a table available. There was very little left on the menu to choose from. Meals were mixed up, my husbands meal with mushrooms had 1 only. The sauce for another meal was on the wrong plate. The charge for meal was incorrect. Luckily friendly Sky was on hand to try to sort everything out.
It was luck that she was on hand for breakfast as well, where we had to wait quite a while for the breakfast to be replenished. Saying all that, the food that we did have was ok.
The staff were all friendly and tried their best to accommodate but the hotel needs a little more care and attention.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytripper41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The room I had was very small but clean and comfortable. Public areas could do with a spruce up. Breakfast very poor, service slow and not very efficient. Not bad location at about 20 min walk into city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Due to an international rugby match we were unable to find a vacancy closer to the centre of Cardiff. We had to make do with Churchills, which is a good mile away along an extremely busy road. It took us almost half an hour of stop / start traffic to get there from the centre late on Friday afternoon.
First impression was that the hotel needed money spent on it.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful, no complaints at all.
Our room (23)was in the main building. It was small, the double bed was narrow, the mattress was hard and had no cover !! It felt more like an old fashioned guest house than a supposedly modern hotel. We did not have a good night's sleep
We ate in the Hotel in the evening as we could not face walking along that busy road back into the centre of Cardiff .It was not the distance that phased us .The food was poor. Plenty of it,but tastless. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel62155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello, we are very sorry we did not come up to scratch during your stay. We do endeavour to please every guest that stays at Churchills and obviously we failed to do so this time. If you do want to stay with us again please contact us on 02920 401300 and we will make sure you have the perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have just returned from a visit to see my daughter who is at the university of Cardiff.We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night at the Churchills Hotel. My mother,( who is an energetic 72 year old) and I shared a very spacious twin room on the first floor. The room faced a very busy and noisy road. The windows were huge and drafty. Although the hotel was a little tired, the beds were very comfortable and the room soon warmed up once the well insulated curtains were closed.
The bathroom had a large shower, but the grouting was black in parts ( I'm sure a spot of bleach wouldn't go amiss!). The toilet was incredibly noisy, as it had an extremely noisy macerator. As a result, a discrete trip to the loo in the middle of the night must have woken up the whole of the first floor!!
The hospitality tray was very well stocked and much appreciated. The hotel is located about a mile and a half from Cardiff city centre. The plus side to extortionate parking fees in the city centre is that you can leave your car in the free hotel car park and walk into the city along the lovely Cathedral road.We also found a route through the beautiful park. We got a taxi into the city on Saturday evening and it cost just short of £7.
There was a wedding party each night we were there and the music was a little loud but stopped before midnight. The breakfasts were good value and had a range of items on offer.
We booked directly with the hotel and managed to get a slightly reduced rate on the Friday night.We both felt the pricing was on the high side for the standard on offer. However, shopping around, all the Cardiff hotels seem to hike their prices up at the weekend.
Would we stay again.....possibly: but as I will be visiting Cardiff quite a bit over the next three years, I think I will be checking out other hotels first.

Room Tip: Avoid staying at the front of the hotel next to the busy road, unless road noise doesn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 74 in Cardiff
122 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
4.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
580 reviews
4.2 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Property: Churchills Hotel
Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing