We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner have stayed here time and time again we dont often stay anywhere else the staff are always friendly and the room are always clean. We have noticed some of the room have had a revamp, the food in the bar and the breakfast is always first class. Thankyou churchill's for making our visits to cardiff happy ones see you again soon

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy27186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
39
67
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Dirty glasses - asked for fresh ones and they were not clean either. Waited ages for coffee and had to go up and remind them we were still waiting and then still had quite a wait. Toilets smelled! Not impressed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank leopardloverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at Churchills for 3 nights at the beginning of June, in one of the mews cottages at the back of the car park. As a result, we weren't bothered at all by the road noise, which I would imagine could be rather loud in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel.
The position was ideal as far as we were concerned. It took about 35 minutes to walk into the city, going through Llandaff fields, which is a very large parkland area, criss crossed with paths. We were very lucky, the sun shone and the walk through the park just enhanced the day.
The breakfasts were good, although tinned mushrooms are never as good as fresh. You could order anything you wanted from a full English to egg on toast. I had cheese omelette a couple of times, which was very nice. Also, you could help yourself to cereal, fruit and pastries.
We ate in the bar one evening and were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of the food. I had the stilton & mushroom risotto, which was delicious.
If you are fussy about the condition of the fittings, this might not be the hotel for you. The carpet in the dining room was very shabby and threadbare, but it didn't detract at all from my enjoyment of breakfast! The one real problem was the bed - it was not at all comfortable and creaked and groaned every time we moved, so neither of us slept well while we were there.
If you want to visit Cardiff city and are fit and enjoy walking, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilliJoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We arrived 10/6/13 to warm and helpful welcome from John in Reception. We decided to have lunch in restaurant which was enjoyable - although it would have been helpful if the bar staff had highlighted the 2 meals for £10.99 deal prior to taking our order!

The hotel is somewhat dated compared to a Premier Inn or Travel Lodge but nevertheless the staff and accommodation is full of character. The bedrooms are clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities. Ideally, I would have liked a second pillow for the bed and a second coffee sachet but no doubt John on reception would have 'sorted it' if I'd have asked him.

After a late night (Rihanna Concert) we were all looking forward to breakfast in the morning ...... and then we met Martin the Restaurant Manager. What a lovely guy, there is more to Martin than meets the eye! Breakfast is a 'help yourself' buffet style affair so don't expect him to wait on you hand, foot and finger but please do let him know if you need a top up on bacon, eggs, coffee or toast. Good luck Martin on your canoeing fundraising expedition from Cardiff to Gloucestershire in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Churchills is on one of the main roads out of Cardiff,handy for a drink or meal on the way home.A brisk 15 minute walk into the centre of Cardiff,or a 5 minute taxi ride makes for good access to the City centre.The service is usually good,and the staff efficient and helpful.The food is served quickly,and is good,if not gourmet standard.Being one for good straightforward food,I loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClouddancerNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for one night ahead of a wedding. Our preference is always Premier Inn but because of the proximity of the Church we had to book Churchills.

On the positive side the location is good for central Cardiff, and the booking process was good and the staff are very helpful. Also the breakfast is reasonable.

However the building, the rooms, the bathrooms are small, creaky, old fashioned, not the cleanest, and the cost of rooms at £65 is not great compared to a Premier Inn, although breakfast is included. We didn't try the downstairs bar.

As a last resort only I'm afraid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartdavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

On a positive, the hotel is easily accessed and the staff very pleasant. I do have a pet hate where staff hold dirty glasses with their fingers in the glass and thats how the bar staff hold glasses. They never wash their hands after. Very unhygienic.
Room was large with a good old fashioned big tub in the bathroom. We did manage to hear every word of the room aboves domestic woes, so that wasnt great in the small house.Beds pretty basic and seen better days. Breakfast was included and was ok. Tinned mushrooms are never a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llanric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 74 in Cardiff
122 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
4.2 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Property: Churchills Hotel
Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing