We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

we arrived early which was not a problem as the very friendly bar lady/receptionist sorted us a room straight away, for the price we found the hotel to be fine.The location was excellent a lovely twenty five minute walk through the park and along the river taff breakfast was very busy as one friendly waiter was running around on his own trying to please everyone,yes it does need a new carpet and a bit of bleach to rid some mould on the grouting but the bed was crisp white linen and lovely fluffy towels and for the cost and location worth it and we will go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
39
67
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Easy to find, good location or city centre with good car park facilities.from reception through bar to chef and waiters the staff were excellent, efficient and courteous .
The heat was exhausting for all, though the open windows throughout eased things. The food for lunch and dinner was great, good variety and well cooked and presented. Breakfast again good.
The room, although small, a single, had usual coffee/tea kettle and pack of biscuits, en suite bathroom with powerful shower and quality soap and shampoo,
Quality towels and bed linen.
Niggles ? Yes the fire alarm went off during the night.
Overall though great value for money.

Room Tip: See what rate you can get. Don't be put off by a room at the front, street noise not significa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. Apologies about the fire alarm waking you up. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed during hot weather spell - ground floor 'apartment'. Windows opened without any security. Décor very dated and in need of serious refurbishment. Fire alarm went off twice during the night - no mention of this and no apology. Breakfast was served by one (very amiable) waiter but he noted that no toast was available due to no toaster. Cannot see why they couldn't have done 'something' - it is not as if they are not in 'town'. Bathroom was dirty - grouting disgusting.
Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canolbarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello, we are very sorry we did not come up to scratch during your stay. We do endeavour to please every guest that stays at Churchills and obviously we failed to do so this time. If you do want to stay with us again please contact us on 02920 401300 and we will make sure you have the perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at Churchills last year and gave it a very positive review but this year I was most disappointed. First the positives. The location is ideal with easy access into and out of Cardiff, and there is also ample parking. The staff are efficient and the person on duty at breakfast is helpful, cheerful and friendly. He is a bright spot in what is otherwise a miserable breakfast experience.
My room was small, dark and tired. The window could not be locked open in such a way as to prevent entry from the outside ( there was a flat area of a roof just underneath it ). So the choice was between security and some air, there was also no view. The bed was made in a very strange way with the bottom sheet only covering part of what I think was a waterproof underlay. The shower was good but the rest of the bathroom very tired. Noise is also a problem from the corridor outside the room late at night.
It is not possible to rent a room only, the breakfast also has to be included. This might not be a problem if the breakfast is good but it is not. Last year there were fresh croissants and a good selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, etc with hot food cooked to order, and good coffee. This year there were plastic sealed Danish Pastries for a synthetic sugar rush, most unhealthy and unpleasant. The coffee was awful and the cooked food was buffet style , i.e. grey food lay round in heated dishes. The tables had what, were originally white cloths on them, but many of these were stained and grubby, It looked as though they had been like that for days. This was not worthy of the meanest B and B.
All of this cost £65 which Is overpriced by about £25.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francis161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, without which we would not be able to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is well located. The main sightseeing of Cardiff, the Castle of Cardiff, is a few minutes walking from the hotel. The front desk staff are very helpfull, kind and attentive. The restaurant of the Hotel is excellent. The Hotel have an excellent relation between cost and benefits. I recommend for all my friends. The rooms could be just a little bit noise, there aren´t acustic isolation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neycamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingskerswell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff were great (the only saving grace) but the place is dated and in need of a serious amount of money spending on it! The room was not up to an acceptable level of cleanliness. I had to remake the bed on arrival as the bottom sheet did not even cover the plastic backed mattress protector. The bath had a scum line around it. The pillows are so flat they served no purpose. If your only priority is somewhere close to the city centre then the Churchills is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello, we are very sorry we did not come up to scratch during your stay. We do endeavour to please every guest that stays at Churchills and obviously we failed to do so this time. If you do want to stay with us again please contact us on 02920 401300 and we will make sure you have the perfect stay! (We've had new pillows throughout because of your review)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

went there whilst visiting family in the area , considerations for the choice were 1= cost, 2=clean , 3=location and 4 food.
Place was clean with reasonable price, breakfast was included with a good choice from continental , full hot breakfast ( good welsh bangers) , shame when we came down there were no clean tables. there were 2 staff in the room , one was friendly and helpfull , the other not.
Our room was clean with great bed and blackout curtains.
The bar closes at 11pm so minimal noise from other guests.
If you want perfect 4star service don't bother ,but for most people will fit the bill.
They sell Brains beer and have a new winelist with some different wines to your pinot.
Shall call again next time we are in cardiff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Largestalanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Galles Caerdydd
Maison Galles Caerdydd
#14 of 40 in Cardiff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Property: Churchills Hotel
Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing