We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great little cottages with all you need for an overnight stay. It's not the chicest place in the world but clean and well supplied with everything necessary to be comfortable. The Wi-Fi provision is good and the bar serves well priced food. The breakfast waiter was very helpful as was the man on reception.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

OK so its a bit tatty with tired decorations and furnishings, especially the carpets in the hall and stairs areas. Rooms have all you need for a short stopover, flat screen TV and free wi-fi throughout the hotel - all the basics are catered for and double glazing kept out any traffic noise. For the price (just under £50 for a single B & B), I was relatively happy, especially as the hotel is quite central and has a large, free car park.
The staff here are excellent - friendly, helpful and go about their work quickly and with a smile. I would 100% recommend everyone I had any dealings with.
Food was of a good standard and plenty of it. Nice pint of Brains SA, chilli fish cake starter and pork chop main was good and filling. Breakfast was the same, a good feed to set you up for the day. Only thing I missed at breakfast was perhaps a bit of music / radio to liven things up a little ?
You get what you pay for, another £20 or £30 per night would get you nicer decor and furnishings but for a clean bed for the night in a friendly atmosphere, I was happy enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been to Churchill's several times over the last 5 years. It has always been a bit shabby in the main building, although the annex is fine. The brewery has not upgraded it as expected, and our room this time was tatty. Evening food was good, breakfast ok, beer ok staff were fine especially the breakfast waiter who is exceptionally helpful BUT we decided not to stay there again. Come on Brains, get it sorted!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TigersFan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. I've told our breakfast waiter (Mark) about your review and you've made his day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Yes, has seen better days -a long time ago. I stayed here about five years ago and found it shabby, down at heel, threadbare then - all that but assumed some refurbishment would have taken place. It has not. The staff were largely friendly and helpful and there was a good breakfast but you have to feel sorry for them working there in an environment that has had so little investment and so little care taken of it. It is a great pity because it is in a nice part of the city, very convenient for roads west to the coast and east to England and for central cardiff. There are some lovely parks within walking distance too but none of this compensates for the low quality of the fabric of the accommodation. I'm sure you could find better deals for the price.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Trebor57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at Churchills in February when we went to Cardiff to watch a rugby international. Whilst the staff were helpful and friendly the rooms lacked any welcome and there was damp around the windows in the bedroom and most of the bathroom. Despite the fact that we booked into a double room we were given one bath towel and one hand towel. We felt very let down. I grew up in Llandaf and my memories of this hotel were far better than what we experienced. I thought I must be suffering from a case of nostalgia but the breakfast proved me wrong. Anaemic sausages and bacon - broiled in chaffing dishes in very small supply topped the experience. Never again - if every hotel in Cardiff was full for £150 per night for a damp room I'd rather
Pitch a tent in Llandaff fields. I thought I had reviewed the hotel at the time but obviously didn't. The friends we booked to stay at the same time were offered a free night at any hotel in the chain at a time to suit them after they complained.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello, we are very sorry we did not come up to scratch during your stay. We do endeavour to please every guest that stays at Churchills and obviously we failed to do so this time. If you do want to stay with us again please contact us on 02920 401300 and we will make sure you have the perfect stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely old Mansion House, but unfortunately was very tired and needs re-furbishing badly,
The room was clean and plenty of Hot Water available, All the staff were very friendly and helpful
for the price you can't go wrong, 1 room was upgraded from a single to a double at no extra charge which was really nice of them very close to Cardiff City Centre which we walked to through the parks , Breakfast was medico very basic water cold for tea/coffee staff nice hot food was edible but presentation was to be desired
All in all a nice Hotel - very reasonable priced and friendly staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The carpet in the room could do with a decent blast, and there are aspects of the accommodation that might be due an update. However, all the people who help run this place and keep it going are really friendly; the breakfasts are excellent; when I stayed the hotel was busy but quiet during the night; the key elements of the room (ie the bed and bathroom) were scrupulously clean; finding the place and the free car parking is easy; and the 25 minute walk into town is pleasant, either via the main drag or the park(s). The hotel bar (though I didn't have time to use it) has a charm that properly sits between hotel and pub that isn't easily found these days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. - Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.3 mi away
Wynford Hotel
Wynford Hotel
#40 of 74 in Cardiff
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
949 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing