We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Churchills Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

superb everything perfect would reconmend 100% the rooms are perfect with all the home comforts.the bar well stocked and the food good one does not have to travel to eat.
cardiff centre is only 5 minutes away
just stay abnd enjoy

Room Tip: Just stay and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
39
67
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We decided to see the new yr in this yr at cardiff, we booked the churchills cottage, we found that not only was this great value for money but it was clean, warm and nothing was too much trouble, from asking for extra pillows to booking our taxis. The rooms need a lick of paint but overall we were very happy. The breakfast was hot, brought to us quickly by friendly staff. I will definatly be returning next yr and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: For an extra £15.00 a night i would definatly book one of their cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed for one night and the bed was super comfy and the staff were excellent. As far as I was concerned it was good value for money and I would stay there again or recommend that you give it a go and stay there

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

stayed here for my birthday and after booking for £85 a night I was expecting something at least fairly decent but it didn't even come close! Some problems with our room... Huge hole in the ceiling, massive damp marks on wallpaper, ripped wallpaper, mark on shower curtain, mouldy and dirt riddled windows and one of the windows would not even open! Huge let down as it looks far more impressive from the outside of the building.
Although I have to say the staff were very friendly and even though after the poor room giving us low expectations the breakfast was actually pretty good and plenty of choice! The room was also a good size and there's plenty of parking. Again though the dining area was very run down and tatty.
If this hotel had a bit of a revamp and tlc i'm sure it could be great.
Seems there are a lot of reviews about the disrepair and cleanliness of the rooms here, if only brains or churchills management could spend some time and money on it giving it the attention it NEEDS then i'm sure it would then be well worth the money!
All in all a real let down for our frequent cardiff visits but after feeling very ripped off the manager kindly refunded our money.
Such a shame this hotel has gone so unloved, it's location is perfect and could be SO much better!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mazkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, we have taken your comments & the comments about the decor from other guests and we have spent a lot of time bringing the hotels standards up further. We hope you would consider us for a return visit the next time you are in Cardiff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Booked Churchills Hotel for a wedding within a month of proposing to my now wife. The hotel's wedding planner was wonderful, her knowledge and expertise shone through and put our minds at rest given the short notice that they were given, all of the staff were friendly, polite and helpful, faultless. The whole day from start to finish was perfect and many of our guest made similar comments. The food was delicious and the service and rooms were equally as good. They took a lot of the stress away from planning a wedding as the majority was handled by them as part of the ultimate wedding package. The whole team were absolutely fantastic, we would not hesitate in recommending this venue to anyone.

Room Tip: Cottages or suites are large and well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you had a great day. Debbie appreciates your comments and we look forward to to having you back for your anniversary stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Churchill was warm & comfortable, the staff all ways had a smile and very willing too help, the food was good, but the decoration needs attention, especially the carpets in the hall ways and stairs areas, also in our room the windows need looking at. Our room was warm and we had our own control on the radiators this was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calmside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, we would agree that there are some areas (Like the carpets) that need attention. We are please that you enjoyed your stay otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
603 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The review by Mary S, most recent review, says it all...or nearly all. The staff are great. The rooms are in need of TLC although I suspect the new block is not all that old, maximum of ten years? It is walkable, just, from Cardiff Central station and given the horrendous traffic, could be quicker.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your four star review for other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
The Abbey Hotel
#40 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Angel Hotel
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Llandaff
Maltsters
Maltsters
#17 of 45 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Property: Churchills Hotel
Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing