We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was a lot better than I expected! I had a nice surprise when I arrived and was shown to my two storey suite! For only £70, this was a bargain and included a lovely breakfast in the morning. I definitely got more than my money's worth. It was clean, easy to get to from the airport via a taxi and only a short bus ride from town. I'd definitely stay there again if I need to go to Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sylvijacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
39
67
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed as 6 mates, for the Heineken Cup weekend in a very quaint Mews Cottage - minor problem, was just one double bed and a settee bed downstairs -I lost the toss and I am 100kg!! However, the staff more than made up for this, as Front of House Manager, girl i/c bar and Head Server in the restaurant were outstanding. They did miss a trick, as no Sky Sports in bar, so although the Hotel was full for the Friday, we were all pointed to a pub down the road that was showing it!! On return after the Saturday Heineken Final, we were hoping for a beer at 23.05, but were again directed to the same pub as it was open until midnight, where again, most of the Churchill residents seemed to be. This is a great Hotel for visiting Cardiff, huge car park and great food......just needs a bit of TLC; a coat of paint and a wash and brush up to get a definite return - over to you Brains' Brewery!!

Room Tip: The Mews Cottages are very quiet (out the back), but best for couples with young families, as the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReigateBigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review, your comments will be passed to our head office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

not the most attractive building inside or out needs a face lift decor poor our room was not great hair in shower plug hole not ours stained towels no veiw we looked straight out onto a roof that blocked out what the weather was like. Staff were very friendly and service was good.
good location easy to find but wouldnt stay there again.

Room Tip: dont have room 11 if u want a veiw not looking at a roof had too lean out of window to se what the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JDennis835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review. The contents of which are disappointing and will be discussed with the rest of our team in due course, I'm glad the staff looked after you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I held my sons Christening at Churchill's and from the initial communication with the manager to the actual function which was afternoon tea in the function room for 80 guests, I could not find fault with the service, the staff, the hotel or the function venue. Excellent communication, good food, polite staff and lovely facilities. Great value for money and brilliant function facilities if hosting a large party with children. Churchill's already had 10 out of 10 from me and then I found out I could take my dog along for free when I stayed in one of their mews cottages. I only have a miniature dachshund and I am fed up of paying extortionate rates for my tiny dog so when i discovered she could stay for free, I was overjoyed. This, for me, sums up "going the extra mile".

Room Tip: Select a mews cottage if you wish to take your four legged friend along
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, It was a pleasure hosting you all on the Sunday and I hope to see you all very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

A comfortable and relaxing place to stay, not far from Cardiff City Centre. Standard pub fare. Efficient and friendly service. Plenty of parking spaces. Ideal place if you don't eant to be right in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for the review, whenever you are back in Cardiff we would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent night in hotel following friends wedding at same venue. Wedding went well and organised thanks to the staff. Hotel check in was quick and easy had room on second floor reasonable size facing road so some traffic noise, Toilet was a bit noisy as it used a macerater to empty room was clean and tidy. Had breakfast in restaurant which was fine staff ere very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jebro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for the review, whenever you are back in Cardiff we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Good value for the night and a friendly atmosphere. Nice bar area that serves food. Hotel about a 20-30 minute walk from city centre. Rooms a little tired but ideal for a couple of nights' stay. The only downside was the mattress. It was thin and hard.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadidav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope you except my apologies if your expectations were not met, I have noted your comments. We hope you decide to come back to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Galles Caerdydd
Maison Galles Caerdydd
#11 of 42 in Cardiff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Property: Churchills Hotel
Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing