We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An improvement on last year”
Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Churchills is in a good location. Easily accessible, with ample parking and yet a very pleasant 20 minute walk through Sofia Gardens to the castle and the centre. Pontcanna with its small local shops and many cafes and restaurants is only five minutes away.
So whenever I am in Cardiff I stay in Churchills. Last year I criticised, quite strongly, the breakfasts. This year they were much better. Fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juices, croissants and pastries were all available on a buffet with toast and hot food made to order. The tablecloths were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Coffee is still not wonderful but it is drinkable. All in all a vast improvement.
We had a suite in the annex (old stables?) which was large with windows at each end of the room which gave a through draft , very welcome on a hot day. There are just two criticisms. The room and bathroom are in need of refurbishment and the undersheet on the bed is uncomfortable. Having stayed in a number of rooms over the years I think that this is a common problem. Perhaps there is a waterproof element to the sheet which crackles and is hot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you did not suffer the same issues as the last time you were here, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

excellent old fashioned hotel, just outside city centre{£6 taxi fare) really friendly and helpful staff, reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers where Jason seemed to be doing everything,tending bar and reception, taking orders and delivering food, clearing up ect.
Stayed in the mews cottages, really suited us, would have benefitted with a fridge and bath mat, though
really good hotel but getting close to a bit of a refurb with TLC. would certainly book again

Room Tip: if you like your own space, book the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On receiving a very friendly welcome we had high hopes for our two night stay. However, our room in the annexe did not live up to expectations.

The room was large but it was very dark and dismal. My husband struggled to shave as the bathroom had no shaving light above the mirror and no natural light as it was an integral bathroom. The room and bathroom desperately needs refurbishing as does most of the hotel. Everything looks past its best. On a positive note the towels and sheets were clean and the water pressure for the shower was good.

The breakfast was average and there seemed to be a shortage of staff for the number of guests requiring service. On the second morning they had run out of croissants and Danish pastries, glasses for the juice, tea spoons etc. Tables needed laying as people were turning up with nowhere clean/laid up to sit and this was all well within the 10am deadline for breakfast. To be fair this didn't happen on the first morning although they still appeared to be short staffed.

On both nights the hotel was a venue for a wedding reception which meant that people were obviously enjoying themselves til the early hours but this meant that we had two disruptive nights sleep. I would therefore recommend that you don't stay when there's a function taking place unless you are attending it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review, your comments will be passed to our head office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for three days whilst attending a 50th Wedding Anniversary which was at the same venue. Our suite was spacious and comfortable and could have slept three as there was a single bed as well as the double. There was ample free parking. The bar area was cosy and friendly and the food was excellent. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful especially the waiter at breakfast. Nothing was too much to ask for. In the function room our food was served on time and there was plenty of vegetables for the various dishes, we were given time in between courses and didn't feel rushed. It was a very relaxed atmosphere and after the meal, the cake was cut and brought round with the coffee. The hotel is owned by Brains Brewery and I would definitely stay here on future visits to the Cardiff area. It is certainly in need of a makeover to spruce up the décor. In places the carpet was taped down to avoid potential accidents and everything did look a little tired. We had two settees in our suite which had seen better days but were very comfortable. I think the need for refurbishment was reflected in the excellent price that we paid so, overall, we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Unless you are staying in the hotel itself, you will have a short walk from your suite/cottage so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, it was a pleasure host you all for the 50th Wedding Anniversary party, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband had stayed at the Churchill's frequently for business reason around 18 years ago - so we went back and - surprise: nothing seemed to have changed, i.e. the rooms, furniture, bathrooms, etc. are still as they were long time ago and would urgently need some refurbishment. And we did not like the plastic liner beneath the sheets....
The staff was very friendly, especially the 'breakfast guy', and the burgers in the pub were extraordinarily good, but as we had not paid much more for a much better hotel in London the days before, we were slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I have let the breakfast waiter 'Sparky' know that you impressed with him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was a lot better than I expected! I had a nice surprise when I arrived and was shown to my two storey suite! For only £70, this was a bargain and included a lovely breakfast in the morning. I definitely got more than my money's worth. It was clean, easy to get to from the airport via a taxi and only a short bus ride from town. I'd definitely stay there again if I need to go to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sylvijacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed as 6 mates, for the Heineken Cup weekend in a very quaint Mews Cottage - minor problem, was just one double bed and a settee bed downstairs -I lost the toss and I am 100kg!! However, the staff more than made up for this, as Front of House Manager, girl i/c bar and Head Server in the restaurant were outstanding. They did miss a trick, as no Sky Sports in bar, so although the Hotel was full for the Friday, we were all pointed to a pub down the road that was showing it!! On return after the Saturday Heineken Final, we were hoping for a beer at 23.05, but were again directed to the same pub as it was open until midnight, where again, most of the Churchill residents seemed to be. This is a great Hotel for visiting Cardiff, huge car park and great food......just needs a bit of TLC; a coat of paint and a wash and brush up to get a definite return - over to you Brains' Brewery!!

Room Tip: The Mews Cottages are very quiet (out the back), but best for couples with young families, as the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReigateBigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review, your comments will be passed to our head office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
2.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.3 mi away
Wynford Hotel
Wynford Hotel
#41 of 74 in Cardiff
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,356 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing