We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff fine, rest of the hotel very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Staff fine, rest of the hotel very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff we dealt with were pleasant and more than helpful, but sadly the hotel is let down by its overall standard.
Our room was on the top floor and looked out over the kitchen extractor fan area, this led to us having all the cooking smells coming directly into the room, we had no option but to shut the window.
The stair carpets are patched in various places by gaffer and duct tape on the front of the risers.
The walls have screw holes in them were obviously there used be pictures that have been removed.
Our toilet cistern was not secured to the wall, there was a gap of about an inch or so from the wall, the screws were hanging out the back of the cistern but not actually fixed to anything.
Marks on the walls in the room and tired and old furniture.
Breakfast was poor, obviously using cheap sausages.
Only two waiting staff on duty trying to deal with all the tables, led to no tables available for people as the tables had not been cleared, bless them they worked hard but it has all the signs of a loosing battle.
The dinging room is an extension area and is not that old, but the carpet is again patched with tape, the chandeliers have light bulbs out and again marks on the walls.
I am sure that the cottages at the back are better, but the main building is old and tired and in desperate need of an update.
£85 a night is seriously expensive for what this hotel offers.
The fire alarms went off three times during the night, (around 01:30, 06:30 and 06:40) we were not evacuated, or told no to leave or informed as to why they went off, 45 seconds or less of a piercing alarm and that was it, there could have been a real fire and no one would have left. Shocking health and safety practice.
The hotel is centrally placed and one assumes that this is why no updating is being done, it must be pretty busy with weddings and so forth but really it is not worth staying.
We will be returning to Cardiff again but never to this place.
I would suggest that you avoid it.
One small plus the wifi works, the instruction sheets list the wrong access points but it works.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetskichimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you your recent review, although it was not a great stay we do appreciate all feedback. We do need to look at the issues that you have raised. I can only apologize for you being kept up by the fire alarm, it is something we do not get issues with normally and we had not issues with it since you have stayed, to touch on the point about not being phoned after it was set off, we would come to each room and evacuate in the event of a fire but it is policy not call around the entire hotel in the event of a false alarm to prevent keeping everybody awake longer than we have to, I hope you understand and we hope to see you again,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
39
67
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Churchill’s is in a good location. Easily accessible, with ample parking and yet a very pleasant 20 minute walk through Sofia Gardens to the castle and the centre
Bar had closed at 11 and there were no residents bar facilities.

Really friendly and helpful staff,

Stayed in the mews cottages, really suited us, would have benefitted with a fridge and bath mat, also hardly any off the lights worked and found the bed very uncomfortably.

The rooms, furniture, bathrooms, etc. are still as they were long time ago and would urgently need some refurbishment.free wfi was brill

It’s a shame if some money was spent on the place and brought it into 2014 with a modern twist it would be grand place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, I have passed them onto the relevant people. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very disappointed in our two night stay at the Hotel. we were on a reunion weekend and when we returned to hotel on our first night at 11.15 we were told bar had closed at 11 and there were no residents bar facilities. In bed by 11.30! I am amazed that a hotel near Cardiff City Centre doesn't have a late bar. The hotel is in desperate need of a facelift. Our room (number 21) needed a repaint and in some areas there was bare plasterwork. The shower/bath was built into a sloping ceiling and kept banging my head and needed to crouch. Coffee/tea facilities in room but giving the hot weather I would have expected some bottled water (there was nowhere to purchase any after 11 pm). Very creaky beds and hotel needs a lot of spend. Won't be coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review, your comments will be passed to our head office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Churchills is in a good location. Easily accessible, with ample parking and yet a very pleasant 20 minute walk through Sofia Gardens to the castle and the centre. Pontcanna with its small local shops and many cafes and restaurants is only five minutes away.
So whenever I am in Cardiff I stay in Churchills. Last year I criticised, quite strongly, the breakfasts. This year they were much better. Fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juices, croissants and pastries were all available on a buffet with toast and hot food made to order. The tablecloths were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Coffee is still not wonderful but it is drinkable. All in all a vast improvement.
We had a suite in the annex (old stables?) which was large with windows at each end of the room which gave a through draft , very welcome on a hot day. There are just two criticisms. The room and bathroom are in need of refurbishment and the undersheet on the bed is uncomfortable. Having stayed in a number of rooms over the years I think that this is a common problem. Perhaps there is a waterproof element to the sheet which crackles and is hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you did not suffer the same issues as the last time you were here, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

excellent old fashioned hotel, just outside city centre{£6 taxi fare) really friendly and helpful staff, reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers where Jason seemed to be doing everything,tending bar and reception, taking orders and delivering food, clearing up ect.
Stayed in the mews cottages, really suited us, would have benefitted with a fridge and bath mat, though
really good hotel but getting close to a bit of a refurb with TLC. would certainly book again

Room Tip: if you like your own space, book the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

On receiving a very friendly welcome we had high hopes for our two night stay. However, our room in the annexe did not live up to expectations.

The room was large but it was very dark and dismal. My husband struggled to shave as the bathroom had no shaving light above the mirror and no natural light as it was an integral bathroom. The room and bathroom desperately needs refurbishing as does most of the hotel. Everything looks past its best. On a positive note the towels and sheets were clean and the water pressure for the shower was good.

The breakfast was average and there seemed to be a shortage of staff for the number of guests requiring service. On the second morning they had run out of croissants and Danish pastries, glasses for the juice, tea spoons etc. Tables needed laying as people were turning up with nowhere clean/laid up to sit and this was all well within the 10am deadline for breakfast. To be fair this didn't happen on the first morning although they still appeared to be short staffed.

On both nights the hotel was a venue for a wedding reception which meant that people were obviously enjoying themselves til the early hours but this meant that we had two disruptive nights sleep. I would therefore recommend that you don't stay when there's a function taking place unless you are attending it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review, your comments will be passed to our head office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for three days whilst attending a 50th Wedding Anniversary which was at the same venue. Our suite was spacious and comfortable and could have slept three as there was a single bed as well as the double. There was ample free parking. The bar area was cosy and friendly and the food was excellent. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful especially the waiter at breakfast. Nothing was too much to ask for. In the function room our food was served on time and there was plenty of vegetables for the various dishes, we were given time in between courses and didn't feel rushed. It was a very relaxed atmosphere and after the meal, the cake was cut and brought round with the coffee. The hotel is owned by Brains Brewery and I would definitely stay here on future visits to the Cardiff area. It is certainly in need of a makeover to spruce up the décor. In places the carpet was taped down to avoid potential accidents and everything did look a little tired. We had two settees in our suite which had seen better days but were very comfortable. I think the need for refurbishment was reflected in the excellent price that we paid so, overall, we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Unless you are staying in the hotel itself, you will have a short walk from your suite/cottage so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, it was a pleasure host you all for the 50th Wedding Anniversary party, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Galles Caerdydd
Maison Galles Caerdydd
#11 of 42 in Cardiff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Property: Churchills Hotel
Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing