We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Review”
Review of Penrhys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penrhys Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Review”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I have recently stayed here and we were not impressed. Firstly we were asked to pay on approval (with a 4% surcharge on both credit and debit cards).

We had to ask for towels and tea spoons. The TV was stuck on BB2 and couldn't be changed on the set and there was no remote control. There was no rubber slip mat for the bath, I say bath - yes it was a bath but without taps. The electric shower was at the sloping end of the bath with the shower head in the far corner. You couldn't stand under it even if you wanted to as the shower head didn't fit into the holder and the water only came out of 5 of the jets. The shower curtain was much too long, lying in the bath and adding to the already frustrating and dangerous experience.

We had to request replacement tea and milk after the room had been serviced and the 'new' loo roll looked as though it had been dropped down the loo and then dried out, it was disgusting. I wouldn't go there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    47
    33
    25
    27
See reviews for
25
49
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed here for one night and that was enough for me. This hotel may be classed as a budget hotel and be "good value for money" as some have said, however no matter how much you pay you should have good service. I had great trouble with the wi-fi and was offered no help. When I arrived at reception the lady walked off and left me there. All in all not happy with the service I recieved, however the room was fine and so was breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My family and I stayed here for one night. We were very disappointed to find on entering the property it was very old fashioned and in desperate need of refurbishment. Our tv did not have a remote neither did it work. The tea cups in the rooms were dirty and if you had wanted to drink out of them (which we certainly did not) there was no milk provided. The bath had hairs left in it and there was only one towel provided in a double room. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the road is extremely noisy. Breakfast was a total shambles with four of us on one table being presented with our food at different intervals other guests orders were being mixed up. We could not get out of here quick enough and certainly won't be returning. Beware the internet states £50 per room but we were charged £80. Far exceeding what this B & B is worth. My recommendation is to avoid at all cost.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dillydaydreamDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Penrhys was very convenient to Cardiff centre and was cheap. The room was clean, but a little pokey. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IolantheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is in one of the quietest and wonderful roads in the centre of Cardiff, just 10 minutes walk from the Castle. You can also reach the city centre by bus (the stop is close to the hotel entrance).
The hotel is quite big, with a parking on the rear lane which solves you the problem of parking (and it is free).
Breakfast room is in liberty-style: the breakfast is good with a good choice of food included in the room price (60 GBP for a double en suite)..
The room is a little shabby and should need some rearrangement (walls and furniture); despite this, it is good for a night stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lix78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Such good value - friendly and clean, right in the heart of the City, great for bed and breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have now stayed at Penrhys a number of times while in Cardiff and I can only think of positives from my visit.

The staff are all extremely friendly and can never do enough for you! The owners Maxine and Joe are always on hand - all in all a very friendly place to stay!

Rooms are very spacious and clean - cleaning staff are lovely and do a superb job. Breakfast - great - everyone catered for!

Location - superb!!! beautiful part of Cardiff - a stones throw from the river and Bute Park and a 5 - 10 minute walk from the Stadium and the City centre.

Thanks everyone for another lovely stay - will be back soon!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huwzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 44 in Cardiff
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Town House
The Town House
#14 of 44 in Cardiff
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dexby Town House
Dexby Town House
#5 of 44 in Cardiff
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Flat 5 Cardiff
Flat 5 Cardiff
#25 of 46 in Cardiff
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhys Hotel

Property: Penrhys Hotel
Address: 127 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penrhys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy bed & breakfast ideally situated within 10 minutes walking distance to the millennium stadium. Free wifi and free secure parking. A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Penrhys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhys Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing