We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really enjoyable stay!”
Review of Penrhys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penrhys Hotel
Ranked #27 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for one night with my Husband (he was working)over the past weekend, loved the victorian decor and stained glass windows, Found the Hotel to be very clean and the breakfast was lovely. The hotel manager is a real gem, friendly, warm and very welcoming. Location is great too, a 20 minute stroll through the park and by the river into the centre of the city. We stayed in room 16 and did not hear anything on the roof as previously stated by another reviewer, had a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustbesuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    47
    32
    25
    27
See reviews for
25
48
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel has an excellent location and the staff are pleasant and helpful. It's a lovely old building and certainly not as worn as some reviewers have said - perhaps it has had some renovation. However, our room was not particularly clean - the coffee cups had not been changed and were crusted with dried coffee. The carpet could have used a vacuuming as well. The towels were rough and mismatched. There was apparently a fairly large group staying there, and we found what time the Cardiff bars close when they rolled in laughing and talking loudly and slamming doors for what seemed a prolonged time. Since the bed was not particularly comfortable, we were awake listening to them for awhile. Our room was in the front of the house which faces east and since there were no room-darkening blinds on the window, we were up at sunrise - not bad normally but hard after a poor night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

On arrival it i wasnt giving much comunication just heres ur key your rooms on top floor breakfast at 730, The room I stayed in was on the top floor an the loft hatch was above the bed,nothing out of the ordinary,how ever every morning I was woken early from the sound of rats running over it in the loft so didnt get much sleep I told the reception only to get a response of we will try sort it, no sorry or offer of room swap or some money back,an they never got it sorted the 4 days i was there,then they said there was wifi in the rooms which turned out there wasn't an you could only get in in the dinning room,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twin2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalcardiff, Owner at Penrhys Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
You had a family en suite room bay window on the second floor with wi fi as requested for single occupancy @ £35 per night inclusive of 20% vat and a full welsh breakfast.
Under no circumstances could there have been rats running above you, as directly above is a flat leaded roof with no void between the ceiling and roof! The only thing it could be is seagulls. the hatch you mention is only emergency access to the roof! if you would like to see proof of is please visit the hotel and we can show you exactly what we mean? never had a complaint like this before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay the one night. Rang to say we would be arriving around 9pm and no problem. Stayed in room 4. Cosy ground floor room with shower en suite. Breakfast is good wholesome English with help yourself to juice and cereal. Location is good with a 20min walk into the centre of the city.

Car park at rear and safe.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very enjoyable stay, ideally placed for the centre of Cardiff and the Millenium Stadium. We booked to go to The Judgement Day Rugby games and the hotel was perfect for what we needed. The breakfast set us up for the day, we didnt even need to get any lunch!!
Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
212 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Our en suite twin room was comfortable, clean, conveniently located, and quiet (even overlooking the street). The included hot breakfast was enough to keep a coal miner going all day - three meats, egg, tomato, beans,and toast, plus an assortment of continental selections, coffee, tea, and juices. After breakfast, we enjoyed a cup of coffee in our twin room at a small table and chairs with a nice view out the large bay window. Pay cash at check in to avoid a small service charge for credit/debit cards. At 60 pounds sterling for a convenient, safe, friendly, clean place that includes en suite bath, coffee/tea in room, HUGE hot breakfast, and secure off-street parking, this place is a bargain,

Room Tip: First floor is very convenient to dining room for breakfast, and only one flight of stairs from entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

If you want a hotel room,that is clean,good value for money and near to the Center of Cardiff, The Penrhys is just the ticket. This hotel is steeped in history and the decor reflects that; but the friendly staff and hearty breakfast completed our stay, if your looking for a bargain break in Cardiff and good service try The Penrhys. thanks again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Town House
The Town House
#15 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elgano Hotel
Elgano Hotel
#24 of 42 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#13 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#2 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhys Hotel

Property: Penrhys Hotel
Address: 127 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penrhys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy bed & breakfast ideally situated within 10 minutes walking distance to the millennium stadium. Free wifi and free secure parking. A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penrhys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhys Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing