We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Traditional B&B”
Review of Penrhys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penrhys Hotel
Ranked #29 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Good Traditional B&B”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Every year I do a summer jazz course at the Welsh College of Music and Drama. Fed up with the student accommodation we'd had in past years, I decided to book a B&B for a change. Found the Penrhys Hotel online and booked rooms for myself and a couple of friends. Accommodation was clean and comfortable, decor somewhat quaint, excellent and plentiful breakfast included. Great value, and we're all hoping to stay there again the coming summer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top can get a bit hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prospero1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    47
    34
    25
    29
See reviews for
25
49
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Admittedly the hotel is a little dated, but depending on your expectations this can either add to the charm or be a bad thing. Think traditional - 4 poster beds etc. However, in terms of what you get for the price, we were very happy. The room was clean which is the main thing - and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We desperately needed somewhere to stay at very short notice (we were lost and it was getting dark!) and they were extremely accommodating. The hotel is in a good location The room has freeview television which we appreciated.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly_parade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

got to be honest was a bit nervous after reading some reviews but was very happy. The staff were very friendly and helpful breakfast was lovely and rooms were clean what more do you want .Also very close to city centre ideally located.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 445aarons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Booked in haste and enjoyed at our leisure! could only stay one night in a clean and warm victorian grand house. Thanks to Tina we were doon shown to our clean spacious double double room F14. We choose to sleep in the four poster overlooking the Cathedral Road. Car was safely parked. Tina was apparently covering for the usual staff but you could not fault her welcome, helpful directions and she cookes a mean full Welsh breakfast.

Room Tip: This is an old Victoriad Town House. Leaded windows, skylights , moulded ceilings, patterned wallpap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Located within a short walk, bus ride from the city on Cathedral Road, this hotel is family owned and is a great value for money place to stay in Cardiff.

The room are clean and tidy, if a little dated in some aspects, all have good televisions with free view. The beds are comfortable with crisp white linen with duvets. The bathrooms are dated and need upgrading but they are functional and for the price paid acceptable.

The hotel has a free car park, saving more money.

The hotel is on a good bus route into the centre of the city and the bay area. Very near to the cricket ground and many parks.

Some good places to eat and drink nearby.

Room Tip: On a main road so a room at the back of the hotel is welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on 22 and 23rd nov. we were three so booked a triple room and we were provided room no. 17.
This is an old Victorian house and a good 15-20 min walk to the city centre but close to the Bute park. I paid 105 pounds per night and it is definitely not worth so much. Next time I am in Cardiff, I would rather pay more and stay in another place in the city centre.
Issues faced :
1. Although it says wi fi in all rooms ..our room did not had wi fi coverage. We had to come out of the room to the staircase to use wi fi.
2. Bathroom did not had a lock. The shower was the worst I have seen. It would give hot water for few seconds and then cold water and then again hot water for few seconds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrajB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalcardiff, Owner at Penrhys Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Unfortunately the weekend you stayed was a rugby international so prices are much higher than normal.( this is the case of all hotels) We discovered that the water pump for the showers on the top floor had stopped working it was immediately replaced at a cost of £800 the following day. Sorry for the inconvenience this caused but as you didn't complain while you stayed we were unaware of your particular issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights to see Micky Flanagan. Having booked this some time ago i left it late to check reviews and was appalled when i read them,because there were others shows on in Cardiff at the time, very few hotels had places available (unless you paid top whack) so contacted the manager whom assured me that the hotel was fine and that some people had been picky. So my partner and i turned up, i was a bit worried about the hotel as i'd not told my partner what i'd read and knew if the hotel matched the reviews I'd get it in the ear.
Thankfully i have to report our room was spotless (4 poster bed), slight bit of noise from the road but that was more to do with the catch on the window. STAFF were very helpful and attentive, Breakfast FRESH & tasty. will be staying again this is a lovely example of a Victorian House.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 74 in Cardiff
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Town House
The Town House
#14 of 45 in Cardiff
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dexby Town House
Dexby Town House
#6 of 45 in Cardiff
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Austins Guesthouse
Austins Guesthouse
#9 of 45 in Cardiff
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Safehouse Hostel
The Safehouse Hostel
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhys Hotel

Property: Penrhys Hotel
Address: 127 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penrhys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy bed & breakfast ideally situated within 10 minutes walking distance to the millennium stadium. Free wifi and free secure parking. A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Penrhys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhys Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing