We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like privacy and comfort, so...”
Review of Penrhys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penrhys Hotel
Ranked #36 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here for just one night and was pleased to be given a quiet room, which I'd requested.
It was a warm day so naturally the room was very warm, eventually cooling down much later at night - no fan or A/C but I had already guessed that for the price, it would be basic.
It was a lovely room, a bit shabby around the edges but definite they have good intentions with the decor - just needed a bit of an update and more attention to detail. The bathroom has a rug that I avoided stepping on, it looked old, worn and not totally clean - kind of shag pile!
The owner or manager was very friendly though with a big personality and was the one who made the breakfasts in the morning in their eccentric and interesting dining room.... His comment of "A woman's work is never done" referring to himself, was funny, if you think that cooking is a woman's work, however, his intentions were good.
I slept well and had a fairly okay breakfast, nothing to complain too heavily about: you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Ask for exactly what you want and you might get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totallyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked late evening, very welcoming. Lovely, if a bit old fashioned. Good beds. Full English breakfast in price. Well done all round. Great to have help with suit case. If ever go back to Cardiff and need an overnight I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

booked last minute as in Cardiff for family reasons - it was ok... bit concerned about leaving the car on the road outside but it was fine and no restrictions/payment! The place is a bit tired and decor in the floral 80's/90's so could do with a refresh but room was clean and bed was comfortable which is what we wanted... as previous reviews have said - you get what you pay for! Location is good for Cardiff city centre and popping down to Cardiff Bay. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment but had coffee etc at the Bay - which on a lovely sunny morning is fab.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottmTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here in May after a friends wedding. We normally book with the chain hotels - but everywhere was booked as we left it last minute to book. We knew we would be in late - and out early - so was looking just for a place to crash. Not looking for luxury.
We didn't read any of the reviews - if we had we probably wouldn't stay here.

It's an old building - does need decorating - but it's not unpleasent.
People are correct about the 4% surcharge - but many other businesses charge this? So why complain about it here.

Yea you do have to drive down a lane to park - if you think it's narrow what do you drive a plane? I parked here - as it's a busy road - and can see my car getting damaged on the road,

The room:

We had the upstairs attic room - it was average - the linen was fresh and clean - and the room was tidy. The mattress was hard - but I personally like that.
But again you get for what you pay - £65 for the night - I would stay here again - if we where ding the same thing - just to get our heads down - if I was staying to sight see or a short break I would definitely go elsewhere. We opted not to have the breakfast - as they're was a cafe a 5 min walk at the end of the road.

All in all - I'd say have low expectations - you get for what you pay for. Cheap and I'd say potentially cheerful

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaundempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Penrhys on an international rugby weekend, so the price was £135.00 per night. It is perhaps unfair to judge the hotel at this price, so I will be lenient where appropriate.
The location is excellent, no more than a mile from the stadium, and with an enjoyable walk in past the welcoming pubs and hotels of Cathedral Road. The hotel has a car park, but be careful on the narrow unmade approach lane to it.
The rooms were OK...tired and with Granny-style floral wallpaper, and with one or two protruding screws, but clean. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but the room was very hot, even with the radiator turned off and the window open (in March!). Toilet paper was of the budget variety; there was no sugar or sweeteners, and the hot water tap stopped working in the evening. The promised wi-fi was not available in our room on the top floor.
Breakfast was £5.00 a head extra, and was of the type which you only have once. The sausage was awful, the tomato full of oil and the whole smothered in economy baked beans. Not nice.
PAYMENT IS THE REAL PROBLEM. The hotel only takes a limited choice of cards, and if you have booked direct, you will be charged a 4% surcharge for credit OR DEBIT cards. We had booked through an agency so we were exempted, but when we came to pay, the reception was unmanned, but there was a hand-written sign saying the card machine was broken, so could all guests please pay cash. This involved a 1km round trip on foot to an ATM to withdraw £280.00.
We had seen the manager/owner at least 5 times during our stay and he never said a word about the card machine. In 2014 this kind of attitude is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WelshFromNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalcardiff, Owner at Penrhys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

If you actually read the hotel policy it states to request wi fi in your room, then it's guaranteed!! The heating had been left on by the new manager by mistake!!! Yes we all make them!! Why make a huge issue of how your accommodation was paid you were extremely lucky to have been able to get a hotel so cheap at such late notice! The credit card machine terminal was stopped at 1pm due to us changing over suppliers! If you had paid on arrival like asked (you arrived early and was allowed to check into your room!!!!) you would have been able to have paid by credit card. You have Nothing better to do than complain about a trivial thing like that? As far as breakfast is concerned you can't please everybody, but we have repeat business week to week and year after year that are totally satisfied with the choice of breakfast from juice, fruit, cereal toast with jams & marmalades tea & coffee and a full cooked breakfast with locally sourced bacon sausage and Heinz beans! Very disappointed with your comments regarding breakfasts! Unfortunately we can't please everybody but we do our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was not a bad hotel for the price. I liked the decor of the main part of the hotel. Dated but very quaint. The room was small and the TV was not much bigger than a computer screen. That said, the hotel was clean, warm and comfortable. The night staff were a bit grumpy. I had left my keys in the room and rung the bell. He was not impressed. oops. The lady at the desk was very helpful, friendly. The hotel is about a 1 mile from the centre, and is walkable, but not in the rain!!!. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, but there was not much of it for two growing boys.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Hotel was reasonably priced at £40 a night, and more for Breakfast. Breakfast is optional. The couple who ran the hotel seemed friendly enough and the rooms were reasonably clean and tidy. It was fairly quiet so you could get a decent nights sleep. The breakfasts were decent but a little more choice such as more spreads for the toasts and more cereal and juice options would have been preferable.

My only real issues with the hotel was the smell and the internet connection. I found the internet connection was very poor and inconsistent, often blocking out and making internet very slow and crashing.

There was a strong smell of smoke throughout the building and I was fairly sure some of the staff would smoke in the back sitting room whilst some of the customers were dining next door. The smell got round most of the building and opening your windows for fresh air often resulted in the room being filled with the smell too. These areas need some improvement and the decor is quite dated too.

Room Tip: Nearest to the top of the building as possible due to a creaky staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Avala Guest House
The Avala Guest House
#25 of 47 in Cardiff
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhys Hotel

Address: 127 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penrhys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy bed & breakfast ideally situated within 10 minutes walking distance to the millennium stadium. Free wifi and free secure parking. A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Penrhys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhys Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing