We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Sunbury Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunbury Hotel
Ranked #49 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I've stayed at this bnb many tines it's great value for money, breakfast is great, great location and Lady of the house Sheila is lovely! Even one night when my friend went back early and me and my other friend stayed out the lady of the house let us in no problems, it's a great place to stay in Cardiff

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2010

Discusting hotel should be shut down theres people smoking weed in the rooms bringing there friends to stay in the hotel i expeience racism with the maneger terribler never came here should be shut down emmiedeatly

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhgxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Booked hotel because it seemed like a decent price for a place with good reviews. Turns out I disagree with most of the reviews posted. Hotel was small, out-dated and out of the way. Hotel foyer and rooms are out-of-date with stained carpets and peeling paint. I wouldn't walk anywhere without socks or shoes on. At first glance hotel appears dirty but for the most part the sheets, towels, and bathroom were clean. There was disgusting black mold surrounding the top and ceiling of the shower and bed comforter and carpets were stained.

As far as location, it was a bit out of the way. A 15 minute walk from the edge of town is a nice estimate and the area the hotel is in is desolate after 7:00pm.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAmTSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This is a good little budget hotel located about 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Cardiff.

My room was a good size, as was the bathroom. The facilities in the room were basic but exactly what you would expect of a budget hotel. My room was located at the back of the building which meant that it was extremely quiet and I had a very good night's sleep.

Breakfast was very nice - I had eggs, beans, tomatoes and toast, but sausages and bacon were also on offer, along with cereal and juice.

The proprietor was very friendly and welcoming.

If you need a budget hotel near the centre of Cardiff then I have no hesitation recommending the Sunbury.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lachynkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

An excellent B&B near to Cardiff city centre. The hotel was very clean and the communal bathroom was newly painted. My room was fabalous with antique pine and for £45 per night, I enjoyed every minute. The fire alarm syatem in the hotel was brand new and from the look of it very expensive. I had an excellent nights sleep!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Unfortunately I believed the previous reviews for this hotel (if you can call it that) which were well off the mark, and booked to stay two nights with friends.

The hotel is run down and in real need of refurbishment. Our room had a hole punched in the wall, which made for a lovely first impression as you can imagine. Walls were paper thin and added to the curtains which didn't properly cover the window we only managed to get a few hours sleep. Being on a main road there is also quite a bit of traffic noise. The carpet was dirty and stained and I wouldn't walk anywhere without shoes or socks on. The communal shower room had a clean shower, toilet and sink but the ceiling was black with mould. There was a piece of net curtain slung over a curtain rail in an attempt at a curtain.

Breakfast was basic: fruit juice, cereal, toast and eggs.

Location-wise it's about 15 mins walk from the main shopping area, and not in one of the nicest parts of town. As girls you can get away with walking there and back in the day, but certainly not at night, even thought you are walking along a main road.

Only positive comments are that the sheets were clean and the landlady was friendly.

Most worrying thing was a door marked as a fire exit but which seemed to have another bedroom behind it . Perhaps the management would like to explain that?

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia667788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

A great place to stay.Even though a little bit out of town its only a short walk to teh centre though may not be ideal if with family.

I used it to stay for a night out and found the place to be comfortable and clean. Even though it not a five star hotel had everthign you need, Would definatly stay there again and recommend it
to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valleygirl169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#36 of 74 in Cardiff
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbury Hotel

Address: 124 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 1DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sunbury Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing