We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good menu”
Review of Zanzibar Lounge - CLOSED

Zanzibar Lounge
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Zanzibar Lounge a fantastic bar & restaurant at the heart of Cardiff. Whether you're bringing your family, friends or colleagues along, Zanzibar Lounge is the perfect venue for the occasion. With our fully licensed bar you can stop in for a drink or settle down and enjoy a fantastic meal at a really great price. We also show live sports, have live music, serve delicious cocktails and have a variety of Menus to offer throughout the week! Zanzibar Lounge is also a great venue to host a party or a celebration, contact us for more information!
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good menu”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I went here this week, menu is short (which I like) and tasty. I ordered off the specials board I had barramundi which was delicious. The wine list is good and very good value. The staff are very friendly and helpful. If I had one criticism it would be that its not a noisy place, and therefore the atmosphere wasn't buzzing.
I would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JWEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardifftravelleruk, Guest Relations Manager at Zanzibar Lounge, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear your enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming your back soon.
Kind Regards
Zanzibar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    21
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant just out of city centre.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We only found this restaurant using SatNav following recommendation from staff member at our hotel, would never have found it otherwise. It was still daylight in early evening and very quiet with only two other customers, best amosphere had not set in yet but it was very pleasant. Good range on menu, we had delicious Lamb shanks. We arrived just too late for early evening specials which would have cut prices dramatically. Recommend this as a place for good food in quiet location within the city.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardifftravelleruk, Guest Relations Manager at Zanzibar Lounge, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear your enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming your back soon.
Kind Regards
Zanzibar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Great, great food, friendly and professional staff, and value for money. Fantastic restaurant well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardifftravelleruk, Guest Relations Manager at Zanzibar Lounge, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear your enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming your back soon.
Kind Regards
Zanzibar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saturday date night ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a fantastic 3 course meal on Saturday night. Great menu with lots of choice really friendly service and relaxing atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Bryley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardifftravelleruk, Guest Relations Manager at Zanzibar Lounge, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear your enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming your back soon.
Kind Regards
Zanzibar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A very good local choice”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staying locally in leafy Pontcanna, we came upon the Zanzibar lounge and booked a table for 8PM and spent a couple of hours exploring the area. The night we chose was a bit of a noisy one with a table of 16 (we had already been told that there was a large group in when we booked- appreciated this). Got our order in before the big group and found the food arrived quickly- 2 different starters and 2 different mains and all were interesting and tasty. Staff very friendly and efficient. Large portions and sensible prices, so what's not to like here. Plenty of fish on the menu. Desserts looked good but too full to try any. Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardifftravelleruk, Guest Relations Manager at Zanzibar Lounge, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear your enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming your back soon.
Kind Regards
Zanzibar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zanzibar Lounge also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
 
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing