We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Cardiff Bay -”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A smart city hotel located within easy walking distance to Cardiff Bay where you can find plenty to do for singles, adults and all the family. The staff are friendly and approachable and nothing seems to be too much trouble.

What I like is the room size, very spacious with huge comfortable beds with crisp white linen. I have stayed a few times, Room (1) had large double bed and a sofa bed, Room (2) had two double beds (no sofa) bed. As I was alone I enjoyed the extra space of having the double bed with sofa in the room as it made it feel like a suite. Bathrooms have bath with overhead shower and towel warmers, not huge but spotless.

Love the wide lifts and corridors in this hotel , I am no expert in knowing what problems wheelchair users have when accessing hotels, but I'm sure they would not have a problem here. I was not charged any extra for parking (they take your reg number to stop random parkers) I did not try the attached hotel bar but as I said there is plenty on offer in Cardiff Bay.

The Bay area has undergone a massive change over the years The Millenium Centre is home to the Welsh National Opera but also hosts a variety of other entertainment from Ballet, Classical music, Pop, rock, jazz music and many other shows designed for adults and children.

Nearby there is a huge undercover complex containing a variety of restaurants a cinema and bowling, great if you have the kids with you and the weather is poor. If the sun is out you could not be in a better place - the Bay area is very exciting with many bars,restaurants shows and rides for the kids and music on every corner. Off the pier there are boat trips - some are slow and easy or you could thrill out on a power boat ride, prices vary but there is something for every pocket.

I would say overall that the Hotel and the surrounding area is ideal for meetings, city centre breaks, shopping trips etc with good wheelchair access if you need it - a good all round facility. On the negative side - the hotel is situated on a main road - great for access to Cardiff city centre but could be a little noisy for some ( I did not notice this as the double glazing is fine) lacks a bit on the in-house leisure side, but there is more than enough available locally for this not to matter. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: If your alone ask for a room with Double bed and sofa bed - feels like a suite.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladytravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,726)
There are newer reviews for Future Inn Cardiff Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,221 - 3,227 of 3,726 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

A nice enough city hotel, well located with easy walking distance to plenty of restaurants and the local cinema for example. Fairly ideal for meetings, city centre breaks and so on - a good allround facility. Lacks a bit on the in-house leisure side, but there is plenty available locally

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinnieVX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for a concert weekend with some friends,lovely rooms which were snug & warm / comfy beds (we had fun finding the toilet) thought bar/restaurant bit tired .As Party of 4 cheaper to get taxi to town (around a £5) although bus ride enjoyable.Nice helpful staff.Worth paying the extra for free car parking,will visit again.Nice sunny w/end so easy walk down to the Bay for breakfast.Would recommend,Thank you Future Inn .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is close to the bay which is great, specially when the weather is nice.
When I arrived the hotel was pretty full and I got a room next to the elevators.

It appeared to be noisy from the hallway and also roadnoise from outside.

Staff is doing their best to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. The location is great for both central Cardiff and Cardiff Bay (bus stops close by) and the staff were lovely. We paid approx £50 a night (we got a buy 2 nights get the third free offer) on a room only basis. The room (on the 4th floor) was very large, clean and quiet. The bed was comfy and there was a sofa for relaxing on too. We had a few drinks, which were reasonably priced, but I can't comment on the food as we did not eat in the hotel. Overall a very pleasant stay and we will definitley use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florrie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We like this hotel for the large rooms. We had a large room with two double beds so the children had their own bed instead of a sofa bed. Rooms and common areas are clean, and the staff are friendly. Reception staff were very helpful too. Breakfast is ok, seem to be lots of staff around but not doing much!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Easy to find hotel,just off A4232,located in Cardiff Bay.The Red Dragon Centre is on the same site it has a cinema,bowling alley,casino plus bar and several restaurants(Miller and Carter Steakhouse recommended),also very handy for the Millennium Centre.It's a 25 minute walk to the Motorpoint Arena,Millennium Stadium and St.Davis Shopping Centre,I would recommend the train from Cardiff Bay Station to Queens Street Station(£2.10 return,£1.50 single)
The hotel has a bar/restaurant reasonable priced.The bedrooms were spacious for this type of hotel, good sized TV,coffee making facilites, hairdryer and iron.The bathroom had a seperate toilet,shower was good.We found the room clean and tidy.
Good quality and plentiful breakfast.All staff we dealt with were polite and helpful from the reception to the restaurant.
The free parking was an extra bonus compared to some of the prices quoted by other hotels in Cardiff.We would happily stay her again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £58 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing