We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel for feb 2013, and received a booking confirmation and payment taken. Hotel then tried to cancel booking as they had made a pricing error, and claimed I had booked for feb 2012, and refunded me my money. Felt management poor, as clearly wanted to sell room for higher price. Not a nice experience, hotel failed to manage situation appropriately. Wouldn't recommend risking making a booking here.

Stayed: February 2012
2  Thank Alanheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P.Lago, Group Operations Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

This is a completely untrue statement,the guest has never booked with Future Inns or received a booking confirmation or refund from Future Inns.The guest booked with a third party web site who have stated to Future Inns and the guest that this is an original error on their part and Future Inns have never received the booking for a stay in February 2013.The third party did make a booking for 2012 and that was how the error was discovered.
Future Inns have tried since February 2012 to explain this to the guest as have the third party web site but the guest point blank refuses to accept the situation-this was confirmed again by the third party web site agent on 30th January 2013.
We take all guest complaints very seriously but we cannot be held responsible for a booking that was never made and the guest has never stayed at the hotel.
The full series of events is not reflected in the review submitted by the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,337 - 3,343 of 3,888 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed here for one night to see a show in Cardiff Bay.Perfect location just a walk over the car park and through the Red Dragon Centre.The hotel was full bit of a pain with children running riots in the corridors and riding the lifts but this was the parents fault not the hotels.Booked breakfast but had to get a refund due to the restaurant being so full.Lounge area could be nicer not a nice place to enjoy a drink.Definetly worth the money though for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughes1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was very impressed. Room was very good standard and clean with all the normal hotel amenities. The check in staff were very friendly and answered our questions about the area etc.
the breakfast which was self serve was reasonably priced for a hotel and the food was fresh. Drinks in the bar was expensive but inline with most hotels. It is fairly close to the bay so made an ideal location.
Would recommend a visit but look online for deals, I have stopped in many hotels and for the price of this one it faired very well.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveH235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Good accommodation and great value. Free car parking. Close to all the amentities in the Bay, but also with straightforward access to the city centre by car. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. Visiting family nearby we did not make use of the restaurant, but it looked very good. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicer0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night to visit The Wales Millenium Centre for a birthday treat show. The hotel was ideally placed with only a short walk of approximately 5 minutes to get to the show. The staff were extremely helpful throughout and the food both at breakfast and in the restaurant was very good. The room was very comfortable and clean and the bed a little larger than most. Would certainly return for future visits to Cardiff Bay with our grandchildren and also to go to the theatre in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel has 24/7 room service and rooms include iron & ironing board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here earlier this year and was not impressed. This time, I had a much better stay. The room was fine. Breakfast was surprisingly good. It's too much like a Travelodge for me to stay too often and I much prefer a hotel with a pool, but it's fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuesdayChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here for one night in January. It's easy to find with ample parking and lots to do close by including eateries etc.
Check in was quick and efficient with a complimentary upgrade to a suite. (Thank you). The room was perfect. Well equipped, large comfy bed, somewhere to sit and work. I had the advantage of a lounge area also which was a bonus, but a standard room is still a good size and equipped well.
I ate at the hotel in the evening. They have a daily carvery but |I oted to choose from the menu. Service could be a bit sharper at times but overall it was good and the food was of a good standard and well priced.
After a good nights sleep I went for breakfast. This is buffet style and again was enjoyable. My only critisism is.....can we have bigger plates please? These are just too small!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £55 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing