We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good stuff”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Room was a good size and the beds very comfy.
Good price for a Friday night at £45
Staff helpful, and got a free toothbrush kit when the wife realised she'd forgotten hers. Only minus was the iron which was rubbish and the base covered in some black substance which got all over my shirt.
Very good location for the millennium centre and all the other things to do in the bay. Hotel bar open till 1am which is good.
Only other slight minus would be the road noise from the side facing the tunnels. Could clearly hear the cars through the glazing.
All in all a well located, clean and well priced hotel.
Good size TV etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side furthest from the main rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    1,480
    441
    144
    77
See reviews for
1,051
1,334
105
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Been meaning to write a review of this hotel since my stay at the end of November 2012, because I was so impressed with it as a value for money stay and with the exceptionally helpful, pleasant and friendly staff - which, given that I was staying with a very eclectic bunch of American musicians, was extremely useful!

It's in a good location with nearby restaurants, cinema, casino etc. Cardiff Bay and the restaurants there are a short walk away, and the town centre is also reasonably close by.

The rooms are large and pleasant for a 'budget' priced hotel (I booked through Expedia - can't remember the exact price now but it was around £50) and put other budget chains to shame.

The staff were what really made this hotel though - so friendly, always flexible and helpful, and when we returned from our local gig at about 1am and the bar was closed, the night manager was more than happy to accommodate our group sitting in the bar area until past 3am drinking our own beer - he even put the TV & lights on for us!

We must have driven the reception staff mad with changes in arrangements, requests to borrow phone chargers (provided without charge), extra pillows, moving kit from one room to another, but nothing was too much trouble!

I would certainly stay here again if visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights this week whilst on a business trip:

Rate:

£47.10 per night

Location:

Personally I found this hotel a little outside of the city centre. This has one advantage free parking. Cab ride to the city centre was £5. I also found the hotel a little difficult to find it wasn't on my sat nav !

Parking:

As stated above free, but arriving late back on tuesday night I struggled to get a spot.

Rooms:

A level above premier travel inn that's for sure and at a better price. Room was pretty big had a sofa bed in it. TV was flat screen with the usual digital offering. The difference with this TV and other hotels was that the HD Channels were all working, a plus for the football : )

Another feature I liked here were the amount of plug sockets available. Most hotel rooms give you 1 spare socket that means you have to unplug bedside lights, tv's to charge phones, laptops and ipads etc. This room had loads of sockets !

Shower was above average. Loads of hot water but the shower pressure I would rate as average (being on the 6th floor probably didn't help)

Internet:

Free and for a free service was pretty damn good. Managed to watch some shows on Iplayer. It was fine to watch without skipping, but any rewinding or forwarding of the show would cause major buffering issues. For normal internet browsing it's perfect and free.

Overall:

Would stay again for sure. Free Parking, Free Internet, Friendly Service and large comfortable rooms equals a happy customer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Have stayed before so decided to stay with them again, had a problem with my booking about a discount from another site but sent them an email just asking about it and within ten minutes had a phone call from them asking if they could help, they managed to give me a different discount even though they didn't have to and were extremely polite the whole time. The rooms are a good size with wonderful comfy beds and a good size sofa. The breakfast was a little better then average but that is expected at a hotel that is nearly full, but the staff were polite and attentive to everyone, and i could not recommend this hotel enough just for that fact alone as i do feel it can ruin a holiday if the staff where your staying are rude, luckiily it is not the case here.

Room Tip: Suites are useful if staying for a few days as you have a fridage and the sofa pull out is great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teardrop1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Room nice defiantly worth a stay about premier inn standards not knocking premier inn at all but so you can judge the prices charged to stay here not much more in terms of room type to a premier inn but would stay again for the great price we got, clean though out, food terriorible, room service not good, staff fantastic very helpful and friendly, location not bad but will need to catch a train to the centre for shops etc

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewartandAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The Canadian owned Cardiff Future Inn is a six story block set in a huge car park with various pizza & steak joints nearby - very North American. The rooms are similar in decor & fittings to a Premier Inn but larger. No fridge unfortunately. Excellent value at £51 night, less so at full rack rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed here in February 2013 for one night whilst with friends, we visited Cardiff for a day and night out, and this hotel was the perfect choice. You had the best of both worlds, you're close to Cardiff Bay restaurants and bars (about 5 min walk), and the city centre is probably about 10 minutes.

The room was large and housed two large queen beds, with a decent sized bathroom. The room was very clean too. We checked in without any hassle and the service we received was good, efficient and friendly.

I would stay here again if I was in Cardiff, because it's a decent hotel at very good prices. The Miller & Carter opposite is also a good choice for food and a drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing