We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Second stay here since christmas.very good hotel 10 mins walk from the bay and theatre.10 min taxi ride to town centre.nice big clean rooms with comfortable queen size bed and sofa bed.excellent breakfast and well stocked bar.All staff very friendly and helpful.Have stayed in 3 other hotels in Cardiff and would say this is the best and the cheapest so far.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank builthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear BuilthBoy

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. We can’t always meet everyone’s expectations but in your case we have obviously come very close to perfection on this occasion. It is also a bonus that you have enjoyed your stay with us more than with some of our Cardiff competitors. It is a comment we get a lot and it will never get boring to hear.

We hope you will stay with us again and we will be able to match your good experience or even better it.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    1,373
    411
    136
    73
See reviews for
950
1,211
100
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

A lovely welcome from very professional staff. The room was spotless and very plush for a value hotel. The bar was a bit pricey, but overall good value for money.The restaurant advertised a carvery for £8.95 and was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina41powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Christina41Powell

We are very happy to have read your review and we thank you for taking the time to write it. Your comments have been passed on to our staff and they were very happy to have seen another overly positive review. We will take on board your views on our bar prices and we will always look for ways to make our prices more reasonable when an opportunity arises. We are also very glad that you enjoyed the Carvery, our chefs will be told of your delight and I’m sure they will be happy that their work is appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrecsam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I have used this hotel for stop overs and also as a presentation venue. The room is fine, value for money fantastic, the staff always helpful and go out of their way. Complained once about projector and by next visit it had been changed ! Restaurant is fine for breakfast, but not really brilliant for dinner - but there is a great steak house and grill across car park, a battery of restaurants at next unit, and a walk to cardiff bay. This place is functional, all trappings you want and need - free wifi, aircon, big beds, etc etc. You wont be let down - I have been here over a dozen times and it is consistent and comfortable with nice people working here. More character than most hotels, and less classy and a lot less expensive than some of the bigger brand names.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Andrew T

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate people taking the time to provide their opinion. We are all very happy that you found so many positive comments to make about your stay. Our job is to make your stay as positive as possible. In regards to your experiences at dinner, we are making changes at the moment that will help to improve customer experiences of our F&B department. There has been many changes over the past few months as we strive towards becoming better. I hope that your next experience is much better. Thank you again for your comments and your time.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Can't believe paid around
50£ for such a clean modern well run hotel, even the beer in the bar was good! Could have paid double or more and still felt price reasonable! Only downside -walking distance to a casino, trip could have cost even more but happily won £250 this time!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DocHolliday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear DocHolliday2

Normally it can be hard to balance a response on trip advisor, but it seems that in your case you had a wonderful stay. We appreciate that you enjoyed your time with us and we would also like to congratulate you on your win at the casino, which is conveniently placed for some and too tempting for others.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Hotel emailed to say there had been a problem with booking.com and we couldn't have the room type we specified. They gave us £25 discount to say sorry. When we checked in we said we were disappointed as we had booked over a month ago, they gave us a free breakfast to say sorry.
Room was nice, comfy bed and nice big towels. Wear and tear is starting to show on the interior but is was clean.
We ate in the Restaurant before we went out, food was good. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and polite. Car park is shared with two other restaurants so was very busy when we checked in at 6pm. Did find a space but it was quite a walk to the hotel. Really good value for money. There is no fridge in room, but ice machine on 1st floor. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, not much choice and served on really small plates. Coffee was percolated, fresh and delicious. I would use a future inn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want to avoid the traffic noise, a bypass skirts the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Lady Caroline G

Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you have enjoyed many parts of your stay with us. We are also appreciative to you for supplying us with your criticisms as well. It can be a negative at peak hours when you are sharing a car park with two smaller businesses but it is a godsend for overnight parking as the two restaurants are closed and our guests are free to use any part of the parking supplied for free. We are very sad that you were disappointed by breakfast. We have mixed responses on our breakfast and we are trying to improve consistency, though we are glad that you enjoyed our coffee.

We hope that you will stay with us again and on the next occasion we can have already improved in areas that you found us wanting.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Room was a good size and the beds very comfy.
Good price for a Friday night at £45
Staff helpful, and got a free toothbrush kit when the wife realised she'd forgotten hers. Only minus was the iron which was rubbish and the base covered in some black substance which got all over my shirt.
Very good location for the millennium centre and all the other things to do in the bay. Hotel bar open till 1am which is good.
Only other slight minus would be the road noise from the side facing the tunnels. Could clearly hear the cars through the glazing.
All in all a well located, clean and well priced hotel.
Good size TV etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side furthest from the main rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Been meaning to write a review of this hotel since my stay at the end of November 2012, because I was so impressed with it as a value for money stay and with the exceptionally helpful, pleasant and friendly staff - which, given that I was staying with a very eclectic bunch of American musicians, was extremely useful!

It's in a good location with nearby restaurants, cinema, casino etc. Cardiff Bay and the restaurants there are a short walk away, and the town centre is also reasonably close by.

The rooms are large and pleasant for a 'budget' priced hotel (I booked through Expedia - can't remember the exact price now but it was around £50) and put other budget chains to shame.

The staff were what really made this hotel though - so friendly, always flexible and helpful, and when we returned from our local gig at about 1am and the bar was closed, the night manager was more than happy to accommodate our group sitting in the bar area until past 3am drinking our own beer - he even put the TV & lights on for us!

We must have driven the reception staff mad with changes in arrangements, requests to borrow phone chargers (provided without charge), extra pillows, moving kit from one room to another, but nothing was too much trouble!

I would certainly stay here again if visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing